Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-09 @ 10:01

This build is now finished and I'm very satisfied with it.

Motherboard: Abit KT7A-RAID v1.1

I chose the Abit KT7A for its one ISA slot. It was updated to the latest BIOS (no longer available on abit.ws but still mirrored in a number of places). The VIA 686B is supposed to have a bug with PCI latency but I haven't felt it so far, presumably because I don't use neither an IDE HDD nor a Creative SB Live!. Also I suppose the latest BIOS has a workaround:
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2001/04/1 ... _chipsets/

Previously I used a non-RAID version 1.3 KT7A but after flashing a modded BIOS found in this forum for supporting Thunderbred/Barton CPU I started having an insane amount of segfaults under Linux, to the point where sometimes not even init could start. I don't know if it's the modded BIOS or the undervolting/CPU multiplier experiments I did, but going back to the stock BIOS and normal voltages did not solve the situation, so presumably something got physically damaged making this motherboard unusable :angry: (note that it was flaky at the beginning with one SDRAM slot not working).

Memory: 2*256 MB SDRAM PC133

This is the maximum amount with which the system is completely stable regardless of the OS. 1 GB will not work with Windows 98 SE, and I have encountered memory corruption with 768 MB.

CPU: Athlon XP-M "Barton" 2500+ (AXMH2500FQQ4C)

Has a fairly low TDP (45-53W) and is specified for 1867 MHz however the KT7A BIOS only goes to 12.5x multiplier (1666 MHz). It can be undervolted to 1.4V without issues at 1666 MHz and frequency can be brought down to 500 MHz in the BIOS. Together with disabling L1 cache the speed can be brought down to 486 DX/33 levels.

Unfortunately with this desktop motherboard PowerNow! is not being able to accept a live multiplier change, for example in Linux or with the DOS utilities SETMUL/POWERNOW. That's only a small annoyance because the multiplier can still be changed in the BIOS (the list of multipliers the BIOS offers will depend on the CPU, I suppose the XP-M family has the largest range). By the way, thanks to Falcosoft for this link about multiplier changes:
https://web.archive.org/web/20170822100 ... Tweaks.htm

I'm not sure overclocking this CPU would make a lot of sense, considering the very slow SDRAM is the primary bottleneck.

Case: Cooler Master N400

Unfortunately the KT7A is slightly too short, I suppose the ATX form factor was expanded a bit at the beginning of the 2000's. Because of this there is no mechanical support at the right edge so care is necessary when plugging eg. IDE/floppy cables.

The case front panel headphone and microphones jacks were connected to the audio cards line out and microphone by way of soldering on the back of the ISA card 2.54mm jumper cables that can be plugged in the AC'97 header, in a manner similar to:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=6 ... 42#p760375
(note that I no longer use the Audigy 2 ZS, so the AC'97 microphone input is indeed connected to the ES1868F).

The mother has a USB 1.1 connector that is pin incompatible with USB 2.0 headers. Still, I was able to use this connector. The cleanest solution would have been to use 2.54mm male-female cables to match Vcc, GND, D+, D- from the motherboard to the header. However it is also possible to rotate the header 180 degrees, slide it by one and now Vcc is connected to Vcc, and GND to GND. D+ and D- are now inverted, but surprisingly this works fine and I was able to connect USB pen drives.

An alternative is to connect the front panel USB 2.0 header to the type A USB port on the NEC PCI card using an adapter such as https://www.ebay.com/itm/1Pcs-Single-US ... 2407752005

Finally, I have removed the very noisy fans on both CPU and northbridge, so they only both retain their heatsink. Ventilation happens from front to back, with the back 120mm fan blowing cool air from the outside over the heatsinks. One 140mm fan also blows air over the bottom-middle part of the MB, and two front 120mm fans exhaust hot air to the outside. This arrangment works very well and is much more quiet. Even under high CPU load the heatsink temperature does not go above 48C which is high but not terribly so. The northbridge also does not get very hot.

Display: iiyama 17" Vision Master 1403

It was rather cheap at the time and so has a shadow mask and give a very authentic look and feel. The only drawback I have is that at 640x480 60Hz (eg. in Windows 3.11) there is visible flickering of the screen which is visually tiring. Also I noted Windows XP in 800x600 with the default nVIDIA GeForce 2 MX driver will default to 60Hz despite the monitor supporting much higher refresh rates. The refresh rate can be set to 75Hz fortunately. Overall an excellent and cheap purchase. I strongly recommend getting a CRT screen, it is super nice to have.

Display: Philips 240B7QPJ (1920x1200)

This is a decent screen although it shows the exact same issue as the 4K ASUS VP28U screen I also have: at non-native resolutions, the screen tries to "improve" the image's sharpness and contrast. It is basically impossible, in 800x600 mode to simply have it double the pixels. For example, the edges of black text on a light background will always "smear" to some extent, regarless of the setting. This monitor supports a 4:3 mode that does its job, but I would have preferred it to detect the resolution and switch to 4:3 when receiving a non native resolution (the "Preserve aspect ratio" setting you can find in other screens). In 4:3 mode, even if the video card outputs 1920x1200 the image will be stretched to 4:3 which is ridiculous. In addition, the menus on this display are not well thought out, such as the brightness setting being difficult to reach.

Display upscaler: Portta NPETHVP VGA to HDMI (blue version)

This upscaler was suggested by Steve. I have tried both the "yellow" and the "blue" version. The yellow version is crap and will do a horrible job of forced upscaling to 1280x720, not preserving the ratio. The blue version, otoh, will take a 640x480 VGA signal and output a proper 640x480 HDMI signal, letting the monitor do the upscaling, which I prefer. You will need however a monitor that offers a 4:3 or "preserve aspect ratio" option. Neither the yellow nor blue version can handle 720x400 so they are useless for booting with a video card that outputs 720x400 at boot (which is the overwhelming majority I think).

Sound card: ESS AudioDrive ES1868F

I'm extremely satisfied with this card. It has an extremely low noise floor, does not pick up RF noise from the rest of the system, and has (as far as I can tell) very good soundblaster capability. Installation is extremely easy. I have added a DreamBlaster X2 + Buran 0.9 which sounds really awesome and Serge is a super nice guy. Compatibility with DOS/98/XP/Linux is excellent. The only caveat this I discovered is that by default the output is set to speakers which was way too loud for headphones. I switched the jumpers to Line out without 3D and the result is excellent. I wish in fact I had bought this card first instead of buying the ALS100/ALS100+ (horrible, crappy sound) and YMF719/ESS Solo-1/Audigy 2 ZS (very decent but somewhat difficult to set up and got compatibility issues).

Storage: SI3114 / 250 GB SSD / NEC IDE DVD / Gotek with HxC2001

The SI3114 was reflashed with the 5.5.00 BIOS and works fine. XP installation did require slipstreaming of the SI3114 drivers but that was no issue. I'm using driver version 1.3.10.0 which is compatible both with 98 and XP (3114-vista-x86-logo-1.3.10.0.zip). Now booting from a CD/DVD is not possible through the SI3114 so I have added an IDE DVD. Finally after having a floppy drive and a couple disks fail on me - very retro but also annoying - I switched to a Gotek with HxC2001 firmware and I'm very satisfied with it. It's extremely easy to use: just put the indexed mode HXCSDFE.CFG file at the root and name the disks DSKA****.IMG. The array of options this firmware offers is quite huge and very impressive.

Miscellaneous PCI card: 3Com 3C509B / NEC USB 2.0

The 3C509B has the advantage over the Intel Pro/100 that it's lack of a ROM BIOS makes booting slightly faster. It also has great compatibility. The only drawback I found so far is that the DOS packet driver (3c90xpd.com) requires it to have a interrupt by itself, if the interrupt is shared eg. with the SI3114 then disk access fails. So I have placed this card above the ES1868F and the BIOS will assign it IRQ 9 which does not conflict with other PCI cards.

Connecting to a recent Linux machine through ssh requires the -g option, and on the server end this configuration options:
Code: Select all
HostKey /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key
HostKeyAlgorithms ssh-dss, ...
KexAlgorithms diffie-hellman-group1-sha1, ...
Ciphers aes128-cbc, ...
MACs hmac-sha1, ...


Run ssh-keygen -A to generate the DSA key. Otherwise ssh2dos will fail to connect with a handshake failure error message.

The NEC USB 2.0 card works without issues, although unfortunately like the USB 1.1 found on the motherboard it can only provide a small amount of current. Therefore it is not capable of powering eg. the OPL3LPT. Presumably when USB was still new it was only designed to be used with low power devices such as keyboard and mices, and only later was the 500mA current delivery option added. I'm be wary of plugging a device that draws a lot of current since I have no idea if the card or the motherboard has overcurrent protection. Nonetheless it's fine for connecting USB pen drives.

Operating systems: MS-DOS 6.22 / Windows 98 SE / Windows XP SP3 / Debian 7.11

The Samsung SSD has four primary partitions.

The first one is for MS-DOS 6.22. After installation, the partition type has been changed from 06 to 60 and IO.SYS has been altered to recognized this partition type instead of 06 with the following patch:
Code: Select all
at offset 4E610 from the beginning of the partition
74 06 26 80 3F *06* 75 06  0A F6 74 3A FE CE 83 C3 becomes
74 06 26 80 3F *60* 75 06  0A F6 74 3A FE CE 83 C3

This change may seem strange but it will prevent Windows 98 / XP from creating files on the partition with Long File Names, which I dislike and may not be compatible with certain disk tools (the partition can still be mounted in Linux with msdos filesystem option).
Also you must edit the disk directly to make this modification: editing IO.SYS at the filesystem level may relocate the file rendering the system unbootable.

By the way, EMM386.EXE from DOS 6.0 has a bug that causes the system to hang. The version shipped with 6.22 is OK which is why I switched to this version.

The second and third partition host Windows 98 SE and XP SP3. There is nothing in particular to note about installation although XP required slipstreamed SI3114 drivers. Windows 98 can use the BIOS and the SI3114 driver can be installed afterwards.

Finally the last partition hosts Debian 7.11 which is the most recent version of Debian that has an Xorg version compatible with the NVIDIA driver for legacy cards (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.23-pkg1.run), here the GeForce 2 MX. This is also the last Debian version to use a real SysVinit which has a nice retro feel to it.

At first I thought browsing the web with this machine would be impossible, but in fact it is possible with the trick of using an old version of Firefox that does not require SSE2 (48 or below I believe) plus the noscript and ublock origin add-ons. addons.mozilla.org does not keep versions of addons that are more that a couple years since they made changes to the addon API. Fortunately old add-ons versions can be found on legacycollector.org (I presently use noscript-2.9.0.14.xpi and ublock-origin-1.9.16.xpi). As a matter of fact, I'm posting this on the very PC I'm describing.

In conclusion, this was a triumph. I'm making a note here, huge success! It's hard to overstate my satisfaction :happy:
Last edited by cde- on 2019-6-17 @ 21:31, edited 2 times in total.
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby melbar » 2019-6-10 @ 05:05

Interesting approach to see the KT7A with a mobile CPU, an Athlon XP-M.

Have got also an Abit socket 462 board, but it's only the KT7 with out the "A", that means without additional onboard raid IDE ports.
Because it's KT133 only 100Mhz FSB, it does not make sense to combine it with a Barton. Personally i would go for periond correct thunderbird cpu.
Up to know, i have to replace some CAP's. The CAP's are of quite bad quality, we all know that from ABIT :dead: .
I assume you have the same issue right :blush:

What is with your northbridge fan? The original one. It is noisy or have you replaced it?
User avatar
melbar
Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: 2016-1-31 @ 13:38

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-10 @ 08:25

So I got the idea of using an Athlon XP mobile from another thread on vogons, this allows lower power consumption and a good range of multipliers.

I haven't replaced the caps yet, as the board seems to be working fine. I might do it eventually altough it is a bit of work. Did you replace the caps on your KT7?

About the fan, it was the original noisy one which I removed entirely. Both CPU and NB get their cooling from the 120mm case fan sitting next to them. It works surprisingly well and is very silent.
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby melbar » 2019-6-10 @ 13:16

I have already removed some of the critical caps on my board.

Because i've removed also caps of two other boards, this KT7 is still not finished.
Soldering is something, i do not for fun :-| -> may i have less patience than others...
User avatar
melbar
Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: 2016-1-31 @ 13:38

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby bofh.fromhell » 2019-6-13 @ 02:47

Love the KT7A!
Bought one new, and still have that board around.
Gotta say I'm a bit of a sucker for Abit boards =)
Abit did some truly great boards back then.
User avatar
bofh.fromhell
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2019-2-09 @ 16:11

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby FFXIhealer » 2019-6-13 @ 13:43

I have an Abit KX7 motherboard paired with an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton core. It originally had a 1800+ Palomino core when I originally built the computer.

It currently has 2x 1GB DDR-400 memory sticks in there running Windows XP SP3 perfectly. It originally was built with 256MB DDR-333, then doubled that to 512MB, but after SP2, this simply wasn't enough. But when I first tried to put 2GB of RAM in there, MemTestx86 threw lots of errors. Also, the hard disk drive would constantly power down and stop working mid-task in Windows XP... sometimes even preventing the OS from booting.

I sent the motherboard off to a guy in Minnesota or something like that and he completely recapped the board for me. Yeah, it was expensive, but it worked. Both sticks of 1GB RAM, absolutely solid - no errors at all. That same old hard drive that kept "failing"? Yeah, that stopped acting up too. It was clearly a fault of power delivery on the motherboard due to bad caps. Now I have GOOD caps on there and probably don't have to worry about it ever again....or at least it will work well for another 20 years.
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 602
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby bofh.fromhell » 2019-6-14 @ 05:45

FFXIhealer wrote:I have an Abit KX7 motherboard paired with an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton core. It originally had a 1800+ Palomino core when I originally built the computer.

It currently has 2x 1GB DDR-400 memory sticks in there running Windows XP SP3 perfectly. It originally was built with 256MB DDR-333, then doubled that to 512MB, but after SP2, this simply wasn't enough. But when I first tried to put 2GB of RAM in there, MemTestx86 threw lots of errors. Also, the hard disk drive would constantly power down and stop working mid-task in Windows XP... sometimes even preventing the OS from booting.

I sent the motherboard off to a guy in Minnesota or something like that and he completely recapped the board for me. Yeah, it was expensive, but it worked. Both sticks of 1GB RAM, absolutely solid - no errors at all. That same old hard drive that kept "failing"? Yeah, that stopped acting up too. It was clearly a fault of power delivery on the motherboard due to bad caps. Now I have GOOD caps on there and probably don't have to worry about it ever again....or at least it will work well for another 20 years.


My restoration projects shows similar results.
Hardware that was dodgy even as new suddenly works perfectly when introduced to really good caps.
AMD CPU with VIA chipset and an Matrox graphics card was generally consirered a bad combo.
But now ? not a single issue whatever 4-in-1 or graphics driver I throw at them.
User avatar
bofh.fromhell
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2019-2-09 @ 16:11

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-14 @ 12:46

bofh.fromhell wrote:
FFXIhealer wrote:Hardware that was dodgy even as new suddenly works perfectly when introduced to really good caps.
AMD CPU with VIA chipset and an Matrox graphics card was generally consirered a bad combo.
But now ? not a single issue whatever 4-in-1 or graphics driver I throw at them.


That makes complete sense. The faulty board I have is probably not capable of supplying enough power, and as a result the CPU segfaults a lot. In any case I didn't throw the board away and may considering trying recapping it.
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby FFXIhealer » 2019-6-14 @ 23:28

Just a point of correction so that you don't make any incorrect assumptions in the future.

It's not that it's not supplying enough power.... it's that it's supplying INCONSISTENT power. What that means is, when a cap dies, electricity flows through it, but doesn't get stored.... so it doesn't get filtered. That means every single dip in power..... also passes through. Every single spike in power - also passes through.

When a capacitor is working properly, it holds electrical charge and and releases it at a specific rate, so capacitors are usually used for one of two reasons - to filter out power fluctuations (like in electronic components such as your computer and cell phone)... or to provide burst power (like starting a fan or the big motors running your air conditioner outside. Those caps are the size of old 6-volt batteries).

Inconsistent power can result in your RAM losing bits and getting thrown off, causing data errors.
Inconsistent power can result in circuit faults in the IDE controller, causing the HDD to shut down due to lack of command and control signals from the controller chip (the HDD thinks it's unplugged).

If it were me, choosing to trash a board or spend money to fix it depends on the perceived value of the product to you. Since this is entirely subjective, no one here can give you a recommendation. But I can tell you that I was ok with paying to recap my motherboard because it was the 2nd computer I ever bought and I gamed pretty hard on it back in the day, so there are memories there.
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 602
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby KT7AGuy » 2019-6-15 @ 21:44

I don't have a v1.1 revision KT7A, but I do have v1.0, v1.2, and v1.3 models. Some things I've noticed over the years:

My v1.0 board doesn't like to run with more than 512MB RAM. Trying to run with more than that causes all sorts of problems and nothing I've tried has helped. It's perfectly fine with 512MB RAM though.

My v1.2 and v1.3 boards work fine with 768MB RAM (3 x 256), but I noticed that they get slower results in 3DMark2001SE than when tests are run with only 512MB (2 x 256). I'm not sure why that is, but I know that Win98SE is generally happier with 512MB (or less) anyway, so I just use two sticks and everything works great.

Just like in the link that cde- posted, I've avoided the 686B bug by using only ISA sound cards and a single hard drive with the board's onboard controller. I'm not quite sure why anybody would run a PCI sound card in a KT7A. The ISA slot is what makes the KT7A so cool.

Another fun little quirk with KT7A boards: Voodoo 2 v3.02.02 drivers will cause lockups and other problems. Don't use them. Use either the older v3.03.00 drivers (yes, the version numbers are weird) or an unofficial package like FastVoodoo2 that has the fix built in already. I recommend the FastVoodoo2 drivers for a trouble-free experience with the KT7A.

I've had all of my KT7A boards recapped by Chris from badcaps.net. I know I would ruin the boards if I tried to do it myself, so paying Chris was worth it to me. He does really good work. If you need a board recapped and are unsure of your own skills, I can personally recommend his service.
User avatar
KT7AGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2012-11-30 @ 19:21
Location: Chicago

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-17 @ 08:59

Thanks for the precisions, KT7AGuy. I have come to the same conclusion that 512 MB is the only amount where no corruption is guaranteed to happen. On the 1.3 board I also had issues with 768 MB or more, possibly because of bad caps.

By the way, I have tried the USB type A to 9-pin USB header cable bought from ebay, so as to connect the front panel USB to the NEC PCI card (I previously used a hack to connect the front panel header to the motherboard, by rotating it).

It works fine but the NEC card will be limited by the power it can draw from the motherboard. So I tried disconnecting the 5V from the type A and instead getting 5V from the PSU directly. Unfortunately any connected device will fail high-speed negotiation and falls back to full-speed. I assume this is because part of the negotiation involves the power supply itself.
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby KT7AGuy » 2019-6-17 @ 21:16

If I remember correctly, I had to use the schematics in the manual to wire up the USB connections for the front panels correctly. It's not hard to get the wires out of the USB connector blocks so you can rearrange them. You just use a needle or something pointy to lift up the little plastic tabs, then the wires come right out and you can rearrange them so they'll work with the KT7A correctly. You can see an example of this operation here:

https://youtu.be/W_4VCm-0CwM?t=177

It sucks that the KT7A only has USB 1.1 onboard. In situations where I've wanted front USB 2.0 connections with older boards like this, I use a USB 2.0 PCI card and then connect it to one of these:

https://www.newegg.com/syba-sd-u2hub-4- ... 6817801001

There are other versions of 3.5" USB panels like that on sites like NewEgg, Amazon, eBay, etc. I've just always used that particular model because it has a power connection and a female USB-B connection on the back. This makes it easy to use a cable with male USB-A and USB-B ends to connect it to a PCI USB 2.0 card.

If you can't find a USB 2.0 front panel solution anymore, I know I've seen USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 header adapters. I've just never tried them so I don't know how well that would work.
User avatar
KT7AGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2012-11-30 @ 19:21
Location: Chicago

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-17 @ 21:25

Thanks. For the record, here's the adapter I bought: https://www.ebay.com/itm/-/332407752005

If at some point this item becomes unavailable, search for something similar to "1Pcs Single USB Male To USB 9pin Motherboard Adapter Cable Cord Wire 20CM".

In the future I'd like to to a modification of the NEC card to pull 5V for USB from the PSU directly instead of the PCI bus, this would allow more power for USB than what the PCI bus maximum specs allow (25W per card). Could there be any adverse effects of such a modification?

Image
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby KT7AGuy » 2019-6-17 @ 21:43

I like the idea of using a cable like that, but I can see right away that it would cause exactly the sort of problems that you're describing. That cable is essentially taking one USB port and splitting it in two without a hub. I'm not an expert on such things, but I'm pretty sure it can't work this way.

The internal female USB-A connector on a PCI USB 2.0 card is a single port, so you can only connect a single device or a hub to it. That Syba front panel I mentioned earlier is actually a hub, so this type of situation works with it. Attempting to connect two front panel USB ports to a single internal port won't work. This is more than a problem of supplying enough power.
User avatar
KT7AGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 958
Joined: 2012-11-30 @ 19:21
Location: Chicago

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby cde- » 2019-6-18 @ 08:56

Yes, it does work as long as you only plug one device into it. I didn't try plugging two devices but I have no doubt the result would be bad.

Now I'm thinking of a new solution, which is to take this as well as the header on the MB and have one USB 1.1 port and one USB 2.0 port on the front panel.
cde-
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2019-5-14 @ 10:43

Re: Abit KT7A (KT133A/VIA686B), Athlon XP Mobile 2500+, ESS AudioDrive ES1868F, GeForce 2 MX

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-6-19 @ 15:25

cde- wrote:At first I thought browsing the web with this machine would be impossible, but in fact it is possible with the trick of using an old version of Firefox that does not require SSE2 (48 or below I believe) plus the noscript and ublock origin add-ons. addons.mozilla.org does not keep versions of addons that are more that a couple years since they made changes to the addon API. Fortunately old add-ons versions can be found on legacycollector.org (I presently use noscript-2.9.0.14.xpi and ublock-origin-1.9.16.xpi). As a matter of fact, I'm posting this on the very PC I'm describing.

In conclusion, this was a triumph. I'm making a note here, huge success! It's hard to overstate my satisfaction :happy:


Why using an outdated version of Firefox (48) when you can use Roytam1's Firefox 45 ESR SSE which has better support, it has TLS 1.3 and webp implementations and has several more updates backported from newer versions of Firefox? I use an overclocked P3 Tualatin as my main machine and I can tell you that 45 ESR SSE coupled with uBlock Origin 1.10.0, NoScript 2.9.0.1 RC1, Bluhell Firewall, Classic Theme Restorer 1.2.9 and the UOC Patch, make it very fast and usable. With the YT2Player plugin, you can even watch Youtube videos in VLC.

If you haven't heard about it, the UOC Patch is a patch I made myself to optimize Firefox and other Mozilla based browsers in order to run as good as possible on old machines. You can find more info about the patch here:

https://msfn.org/board/topic/178306-exp ... -machines/

While you can find more info about Firefox 45 ESR SSE here:

https://msfn.org/board/topic/177125-my- ... etting-xp/

If I can use a Tualatin as a daily driver, you can too... Although if you want your system to perform as fast as possible with the UOC Patch, you'll need a DirectX 9 capable graphics card, such as the Geforce 6800GT.
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Inno3D 6800GT 256MB OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests