My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-07 @ 11:55

After having mentioned it a couple of times here already, I thought I present my Intel Plato/Premiere II build.

* Intel Plato/Premiere II mainboard with 430NX chipset
* Intel Pentium 75 (gold cap) with passive cooling
* 2x 8 MB PS/2 FPM RAM
* ATi Mach64CT PCI, 2 MB
* miroSound PCM10 with OPL4 and 2 MB Wavetable ROM
* 3Com EtherLink III ISA network card

It's currently running Win95b from a CF card.

The turbo switch overclocks the CPU to 90 MHz with the display set up accordingly.

IMG_20190907_134453445.jpg
IMG_20190907_134516287.jpg


I'll post some more pictures soon.
Last edited by derSammler on 2019-9-09 @ 16:32, edited 1 time in total.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby oeuvre » 2019-9-07 @ 13:19

huh that's a cool case!
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3169
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-07 @ 15:17

Was a Cyrix 6x86 166 MHz originally when I got it. :D

More pictures.

Mainboard:
Image

Dallas RTC socket:
Image
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby blurks » 2019-9-08 @ 10:39

That looks like a very clean and stock system. I dig it, especially all those period correct components. The case looks fresh too, was it new old stock or just kept in good condition over the years?
User avatar
blurks
Oldbie
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 2017-1-14 @ 21:49

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-08 @ 12:17

Nothing NOS, I just gave all parts a good clean. The case was a bit dirty when I got it but was in great condition. :)
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby CuPid » 2019-9-08 @ 15:03

Nice build, and nice case.
derSammler wrote:The turbo switch overclocks the CPU to 90 MHz with the display set up accordingly.

How did you achieve that ? is that a feature of the Plato mainboard ?
I need a vacation.

Image
Image
User avatar
CuPid
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2018-2-08 @ 20:42

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-08 @ 15:44

There's only a single jumper to change the FSB (ignoring 100 MHz, which this revision does not support). That's where I connected the turbo switch. Works even while the system is running.

Real turbo mode exists as well, but that is triggered by a hot-key.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-9-08 @ 17:09

What's performance like when you de-turbo (using the hotkey)?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6748
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby wirerogue » 2019-9-08 @ 17:38

Very nice. You have any more interior pics?
Image
User avatar
wirerogue
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2019-2-24 @ 01:24
Location: Southern California

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-08 @ 17:46

gdjacobs wrote:What's performance like when you de-turbo (using the hotkey)?

Did not use that feature yet, also no benchmark tools installed on it so far. Will test that later.

wirerogue wrote:You have any more interior pics?

I have to make some more. I somehow missed making pictures when the hardware was done and the case still open. :lol:

But I have to take out the CF card for backing it up anyway, so pictures of the interior will be made.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby JudgeMonroe » 2019-9-08 @ 18:06

gdjacobs wrote:What's performance like when you de-turbo (using the hotkey)?


On a P5-90 the deturbo mode scores around 68 on Topbench, which is in the neighborhood of a higher-end 386. In practice this is good for older 386-era games but still too fast for anything that really wants that XT/AT timing.
JudgeMonroe
Newbie
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2019-8-02 @ 04:53

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby CuPid » 2019-9-09 @ 08:15

derSammler wrote:There's only a single jumper to change the FSB (ignoring 100 MHz, which this revision does not support). That's where I connected the turbo switch. Works even while the system is running.


That's clever. I would not have thought that FSB could be changed on the fly (at least w/o fine tuning), but thinking twice the turbo on my 386 does simply do FSB/2 and can be changed dynamically.
I need a vacation.

Image
Image
User avatar
CuPid
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2018-2-08 @ 20:42

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-09 @ 14:24

Finished software installation today and pulled the CF card for a backup. And made pictures during that, of course. ;)
Attachments
IMG_20190909_155319402.jpg
IMG_20190909_155305222.jpg
IMG_20190909_155249410.jpg
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2019-9-09 @ 16:19

I approve of this build, and extra points for going with a gold cap Pentium. I think not too many people build with a P75. The only thing I would change to make it more period correct is going with a Mach64 GX or a S3 964. The Mach64 GT is more of a 1996 thing.
I'm trying to put together something similar, only I want a Neptune board with dual P100 gold caps. I have everything except the board.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby derSammler » 2019-9-09 @ 16:32

It's a Mach64 CT actually, did not notice that typo. Corrected. :)
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-9-09 @ 18:18

JudgeMonroe wrote:
gdjacobs wrote:What's performance like when you de-turbo (using the hotkey)?


On a P5-90 the deturbo mode scores around 68 on Topbench, which is in the neighborhood of a higher-end 386. In practice this is good for older 386-era games but still too fast for anything that really wants that XT/AT timing.

Hmm... I wonder how that stacks with cache tricks.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6748
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby JudgeMonroe » 2019-9-09 @ 18:26

gdjacobs wrote:
JudgeMonroe wrote:
gdjacobs wrote:What's performance like when you de-turbo (using the hotkey)?


On a P5-90 the deturbo mode scores around 68 on Topbench, which is in the neighborhood of a higher-end 386. In practice this is good for older 386-era games but still too fast for anything that really wants that XT/AT timing.

Hmm... I wonder how that stacks with cache tricks.


It doesn't. The deturbo mode on this board *is* (L2) cache tricks.
JudgeMonroe
Newbie
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2019-8-02 @ 04:53

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-9-09 @ 18:41

Ah, damn. Disappointing.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6748
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby JudgeMonroe » 2019-9-09 @ 18:50

gdjacobs wrote:Ah, damn. Disappointing.


The BIOS has separate settings for "Boot Speed" (Turbo or De-Turbo) and "System Cache" (Enabled or Disabled) but in my testing, either and both of these settings result in identical benchmarks, as does the deturbo hotkey. The documentation describes Deturbo specifically in terms of disabling the cache and "adding increased refresh cycles" but I didn't see any evidence of those extra cycles in the benchmark.
JudgeMonroe
Newbie
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2019-8-02 @ 04:53

Re: My Intel Plato/Premiere II build

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-9-09 @ 19:29

Sounds like they added some memory latency.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6748
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest