VOGONS

First post, by RetroMaster137

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I don't think this is the correct section, but I couldn't find any more appropiate... I'm a noob, take it easy with me 🙁

Motherboard: A55BM-K
CPU: A8-6600K
RAM: 16GB DDR3
iGPU: AMD Radeon HD 8570D
dGPU: AMD RX 580 2048SP

Hello. I got a 10 year old PC, and soon enough, it will be time for its retirement. I'd like to preserve this machine though; by doing its maintenance just right, could it last for like, 20/30 more years with occasional use? Just like an old 486 that still works today. I'm not a hardware expert, but I do know I have to replace the thermal pastes after some time, and make sure the machine is not covered in dust. It's in my plans to buy more 8GB DDR3 sticks (the maximum I can find on DDR3) before they get discontinued, a better CPU than this (FM2+ socket, I'm getting an A10-7890K unless I can actually find a PRO A10-8850B), more thermal paste IF it ever gets discontinued (?), and I got some working HDDs stored somewhere. I don't know if should I get another motherboard of the same model before it's too late, just in case.

But what else should I take care of? What kind of parts can die? "Capacitors"? (what are those?) which chips?