Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

General information and assistance with Munt.

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby sergm » 2017-1-29 @ 18:13

Yes, I'd suggest either to move to the dev forum or to submit a bug as soon as you're sure that DOSBox freezes when it transfers the focus to exactly mt32emu-qt and not any other app (also would be great to check other DOSBox builds).
sergm
Oldbie
 
Posts: 722
Joined: 2011-2-23 @ 16:37

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-1-29 @ 18:21

sergm wrote:Yes, I'd suggest either to move to the dev forum or to submit a bug as soon as you're sure that DOSBox freezes when it transfers the focus to exactly mt32emu-qt and not any other app (also would be great to check other DOSBox builds).

Roger that. Preliminary tests seem to indicate that it only happens when mt32emu-qt receives focus, but I will test further and post in appropriate channels. Thanks for all of your help thus far.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby sergm » 2017-2-25 @ 16:57

Played with this thing again. It appears, that the noise is almost inaudible when mt32.analog is set to 0 or 1. Setting mt32.analog to 3 does reduce the noise but not in full.

Also, I added the implementation of the internal resampler from mt32emu-qt (just out of curiosity) and found that even in the FASTEST mode (which also relies on the linear interpolation) the whistle sounds quite good.
sergm
Oldbie
 
Posts: 722
Joined: 2011-2-23 @ 16:37

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-5-17 @ 23:45

Hi sergm and Yesterplay80 -

I've downloaded and tested the most recent version of DOSBox ECE build r4019 and I've noticed that the aliasing distortion still exists when mixer sample rate is set to 44100. Is there any chance that this will be corrected in future versions of ECE or the integrated MUNT patch?
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby sergm » 2017-5-19 @ 05:50

I hope this is no longer an issue with the current version of mt32emu-DOSBox patch (since this commit). When using default settings, the option "mt32.rate" is set to 44100 that matches the DOSBox's internal mixer rate, so it does not degrade the output quality. However, in case "mt32.rate" differs from the mixer's rate, the output quality might suffer, just as before. See if the samplerates differ in your DOSBox configuration and which "mt32.src.quality" is set.
sergm
Oldbie
 
Posts: 722
Joined: 2011-2-23 @ 16:37

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-5-19 @ 13:01

sergm wrote:I hope this is no longer an issue with the current version of mt32emu-DOSBox patch (since this commit).

Oooooops... Since I couldn't find the paramteres you mentioned in my dosbox configuration I had a quick look at the patch file I used to compile it. Even though I already downloaded the new one for r4000, I somehow forgot to atually use it for my build and still applied the older patch. My bad, sorry!

I recompiled the binaries again (Linux ones compiling as I type) and this time made sure the correct patch is used. Please download it again and try again!
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-5-19 @ 13:24

Yesterplay, for those of us with Sound Canvas VA (or another VST midi synth), is there any possibility of incorporating some kind of support directly into DOSBox ECE?
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-5-19 @ 13:46

lukeman3000 wrote:Yesterplay, for those of us with Sound Canvas VA (or another VST midi synth), is there any possibility of incorporating some kind of support directly into DOSBox ECE?

If there are prebuilt working patches, then yes, otherwise not. I'm no developer myself.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby Dominus » 2017-5-19 @ 15:58

lukeman3000 wrote:Yesterplay, for those of us with Sound Canvas VA (or another VST midi synth), is there any possibility of incorporating some kind of support directly into DOSBox ECE?

What kind of support would you even want?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7273
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-5-19 @ 17:44

Dominus wrote:
lukeman3000 wrote:Yesterplay, for those of us with Sound Canvas VA (or another VST midi synth), is there any possibility of incorporating some kind of support directly into DOSBox ECE?

What kind of support would you even want?

Bearing in mind that I probably don't understand 80% of what I'm talking about,

I would really like fully integrated VST support similar to how Munt is currently implemented. Such that it requires no additional programs to be installed (only the .rom files).

It would be cool if you could point DOSBox ECE's config file to the Sound Canvas VA folder (with requisite DLL file(s)) and then the synthesisizer would launch concurrently with the chosen game, either minimized to system tray or in the background. When the game is closed, the synthesizer closes as well.

Maybe it seems pointless; I just like the idea of it being integrated into DOSBox ECE like Munt is. Munt integration means that my D-Fend Reloded folder and DOS game collection is very portable. It's a little less so for the games that require installation of loopmidi and a VST host like SAVIHost or FSMP for usage of Sound Canvas VA.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby Dominus » 2017-5-19 @ 17:52

But the Sound Canvas VA is not an open source program or am I missing something? So no chance for this.
I already wrote you that for starting another program with Dosbox and end it with Dosbox you have to use another program that does all that.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7273
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-5-19 @ 18:00

Dominus wrote:But the Sound Canvas VA is not an open source program or am I missing something? So no chance for this.
I already wrote you that for starting another program with Dosbox and end it with Dosbox you have to use another program that does all that.

Yes, I saw that. And I've already written a batch file that does most of what I want so far. I didn't know it was an issue of Sound Canvas VA being open source or not. I just thought it was an issue of ECE currently lacking that support.

Again, I don't understand most of what I'm talking about so please assume ignorance on my part. But, how do you explain things like Falcosoft Midi Player and SAVIHost which can load the Sound Canvas VA dll? Is that illegal? I thought that if the SCVA files were obtained legally then it's all good; I was looking for something similar but integrated directly into DOSBox ECE for less intervention on the user's part.

I think the main issue is that I don't know how to properly express what it is I want. Essentially, I want the function of FSMP or SAVIHost but integrated directly into DOSBox ECE so that a game can be launched, and SC-55 midi will automatically work without any additional steps. When the game is closed, the synthesizer automatically stops as well. Identical to the current Munt integration and behavior in ECE.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby Dominus » 2017-5-19 @ 18:32

Munt is an open source mt32 emulator that can be standalone or integrated into other software, so allthatemulation is still munt. All those that are somehow using the sound canvas stuff are nit integrateable.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7273
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Question about DOSBox ECE build r4006 (distortion with MT-32)

Postby lukeman3000 » 2017-5-24 @ 20:59

Yesterplay80 wrote:
lukeman3000 wrote:Yesterplay, for those of us with Sound Canvas VA (or another VST midi synth), is there any possibility of incorporating some kind of support directly into DOSBox ECE?

If there are prebuilt working patches, then yes, otherwise not. I'm no developer myself.

I noticed that the two new parameters

mt32.rate
mt32.src.quality

don't seem to be present in the dosbox.conf file that is generated by the most current ECE build. Though they do seem to exist, as they both return their default values in dosbox:
Image
Image

Maybe these parameters aren't supposed to be editable? I have no clue. Just thought I'd point it out in case it was overlooked.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Previous

Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest