MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

General information and assistance with Munt.

MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby atomix » 2018-10-29 @ 12:46

Hi folks,

I'm new to this forum and need your help: I've got a MT32 and a Roland IPC-T. The thing is, that I still need an ISA-card. My little research resulted in that I need a MPU 401 IPC-card or one of those cards from Keropi in this forum, right? So there is absolutely no other way, because I thought about all the MPU401-compatible ports from the soundcards out there?!
User avatar
atomix
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 12:37

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby weldum » 2018-10-29 @ 13:11

you can use a sound card that has intelligent mpu support, or a standard soundcard and softmpu, but for the latter don't know the compatibility
Ohh, the humanity :depressed:
386SX 25-C3 800-P3 900-Atom 1.6-C-D 2.13-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-P-DC 1.6-AFX 2.6-FX 3.3
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby keropi » 2018-10-29 @ 14:03

I assume you only have the IPC-T breakout box - it's useless without the ISA card... I don't know of any easily available soundcard that has a full MPU onboard (unless you count the SCC-1 and LAPC-I ?)
Basically you have 2 choices:
- gameport->midi cable and use your main soundcard with softmpu like weldum mentions
- getting a dedicated ISA MPU card

Depending on your system specs softmpu might not be a choice at all as you need a 386+ system to use it. You can always experiment with it and then decide what to do.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6612
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby atomix » 2018-10-29 @ 15:29

Thank you for your answers. Since I'd like to have the sound as original/authentic as possible, I will definitely need to get an ISA MPU-card. Will the breakout-box (IPC-T) become obsolete then or do I still need it for proper functionality?
@Keropi: in case you still manufacture/build those cards, I then have to reply to the "Music Quest MPU clone cards, anyone interested in them?"-thread, right?
User avatar
atomix
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 12:37

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby keropi » 2018-10-29 @ 17:15

Yeah the IPC-T box won't be used at all, it needs the IPC-T ISA card to work
About the cards, yep they are in stock: https://www.serdashop.com/ISA-MPU-Card , see at the bottom of the page for contact info :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6612
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-11-02 @ 23:04

Your breakout box might be useful if you can track down a clone board, or if Lo-tech makes new boards available.
https://www.lo-tech.co.uk/wiki/Lo-tech_MIF-IPC-B
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5619
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby dosgamer » 2018-11-03 @ 00:19

Ensoniq Soundscape has a full MPU-401 (including intelligent mode).
Coppermine Celeron 800 @ 1.12GHz (8x140) - Asus P2B Rev. 1.12 - 256MB PC133 CL2 - Voodoo5 5500 AGP - SB AWE64 CT4520 - Roland SCC-1 - Intel Pro/1000GT - 1.44MB Floppy - ATAPI ZIP 100 - 120GB IDE - DVD-ROM - DVD-R/RW/RAM - Win98SE
User avatar
dosgamer
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2017-2-07 @ 04:59

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby keropi » 2018-11-03 @ 00:23

gdjacobs wrote:Your breakout box might be useful if you can track down a clone board, or if Lo-tech makes new boards available.
https://www.lo-tech.co.uk/wiki/Lo-tech_MIF-IPC-B


The IPC-T breakout box does not contain the chipset like the bigger/older MPU-401 box so a card like the lo-tech one will just not work.
For the IPC-T the chipset was moved from the external box to the ISA card , that is the reason.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6612
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-11-03 @ 04:36

Ah, those sneaky Roland engineers. So it's a third type of breakout box along with the original and MCB.

dosgamer, Soundscape fakes some aspects of intelligent mode, but it's by no means a full and complete implementation.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5619
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: MT32 + Roland IPC-T + which hardware?

Postby dosgamer » 2018-11-03 @ 05:52

gdjacobs, You're right, it's not a full MPU-401 clone, but it works with games like Wing Commander. I believe there are a handful of games where it fails. Still, it's all hardware and doesn't require any drivers or TSRs and as a bonus, it has pretty good General Midi. A Soundscape S-2000 or Elite and an MT-32 would be a great combo.
Coppermine Celeron 800 @ 1.12GHz (8x140) - Asus P2B Rev. 1.12 - 256MB PC133 CL2 - Voodoo5 5500 AGP - SB AWE64 CT4520 - Roland SCC-1 - Intel Pro/1000GT - 1.44MB Floppy - ATAPI ZIP 100 - 120GB IDE - DVD-ROM - DVD-R/RW/RAM - Win98SE
User avatar
dosgamer
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2017-2-07 @ 04:59


Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests