VOGONS


First post, by ghuber

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

I have installed MUNT 2.3.0-amd64 with driver and Windows plays midi files perfectly. However when I start DOSBox (0.74.3)

mixer /listmidi

only shows the default Windows GS driver.

I tried to reinstall MUNT and it seemed to work briefly, but after a restart, again, no MT32 in DOSBox. Still, the MUNT GUI plays midi-files like a charm. Does anyone have an idea, what could be wrong?

Thanks for your help

Georg

PS (Win10 x64, build 19041).

Reply 1 of 9, by sergm

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hi Georg,

It's an interesting problem. This may be an issue with the windows MIDI driver installer. Do you mind taking registry dumps when it's working and when isn't?
The following commands:

reg.exe export "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32" midi32.reg /reg:32
reg.exe export "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32" midi64.reg /reg:64

will create two files midi32.reg and midi64.reg showing how the MIDI driver was installed and whether it conflicts with some other driver.

In the past, it was quite common that some 64-bit drivers replaced the munt one, though I can't recall anything like not-working-in-the-DOSBox-only problem. Note, the munt installer actually sets up two MIDI drivers, for 32-bit applications and for 64-bit ones. In case they get de-synced for some reason, it's possible that 64-bit applications can use the munt driver but 32-bit applications can't find it. As we know, the official DOSBox binaries are 32-bit; could it be that you use a 64-bit MIDI player?

Reply 2 of 9, by ghuber

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

thanks for your answer. attached is when it DOESN'T work. I'll try to reinstall and make new reg files.

BTW: I saw that MUNT ist 2.4.0 now on GitHub, but the installer on SourceForge is "still" 2.3.0. Will that be updated?

Georg

Attachments

  • Filename
    RegMidi.7z
    File size
    647 Bytes
    Downloads
    3 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 3 of 9, by ghuber

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

And here it is "working".

I have also installed DOSBox ECE (separate directory) with the MT32 patch. When I use "mididevice=mt32" in the config file, MUNT works.

Attachments

  • Filename
    MuntWorkingReg.7z
    File size
    668 Bytes
    Downloads
    2 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 4 of 9, by sergm

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ghuber wrote on 2020-05-23, 16:44:

thanks for your answer. attached is when it DOESN'T work. I'll try to reinstall and make new reg files.

Apparently, when munt MIDI driver isn't working on your system, the reference to mt32emu.dll is simply absent in the registry. I'm a little surprised by a claim that it works with a MIDI player, though it could be the glorious Falcosoft Soundfont Midi Player which uses the MT-32 emulation library built-in. Am I right? 😀

I'm not sure how to fix this anyway. Possibly, the driver is uninstalled by some antiviral software, or something alike. As a workaround, you might start the drvsetup.exe program (from mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.0-win32-amd64.zip) in the "repair" mode, which is intended exactly for such situations.

[/quote]
BTW: I saw that MUNT ist 2.4.0 now on GitHub, but the installer on SourceForge is "still" 2.3.0. Will that be updated?
[/quote]

Sure thing, 2.4.0 is upcoming. I'm working on improvements in the UI application atm, and when it's done, the release will be rolled out.

Reply 5 of 9, by collector

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have some memory of when I wrote my Munt installer (when Win7 was new) that duplicate wdmaud.drv entries took up all of the "midi#" spots, leaving no place for mt32emu to be added.

The Sierra Help Pages -- New Sierra Game Installers -- Sierra Game Patches -- New Non-Sierra Game Installers

Reply 6 of 9, by ghuber

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
sergm wrote on 2020-05-23, 17:24:
ghuber wrote on 2020-05-23, 16:44:

thanks for your answer. attached is when it DOESN'T work. I'll try to reinstall and make new reg files.

Apparently, when munt MIDI driver isn't working on your system, the reference to mt32emu.dll is simply absent in the registry. I'm a little surprised by a claim that it works with a MIDI player, though it could be the glorious Falcosoft Soundfont Midi Player which uses the MT-32 emulation library built-in. Am I right? 😀

I'm not sure how to fix this anyway. Possibly, the driver is uninstalled by some antiviral software, or something alike. As a workaround, you might start the drvsetup.exe program (from mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.0-win32-amd64.zip) in the "repair" mode, which is intended exactly for such situations.

Hmmm.... I have no "real" antivir software, only the basic ms/security.... And this MS Security doesn't give a warning of any kind of violation...

As I do not recall having problemns under Win 10 1009, could the problem be caused by Win 10 2004?

Georg

Reply 7 of 9, by Kaminari

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It looks like a similar problem with VirtualMIDISynth, which has been happening in Win10 since December. The MIDI driver is automatically disabled by Windows on every reboot.

Ryzen 2600X 4.0 GHz | Vega 56 8 GB | DDR4 16 GB | Win7-64 SP1

Reply 8 of 9, by sergm

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Kaminari wrote on 2020-05-23, 19:15:

It looks like a similar problem with VirtualMIDISynth, which has been happening in Win10 since December. The MIDI driver is automatically disabled by Windows on every reboot.

Peachy. I didn't expect windows to become any less unusable with the new release... That's why I given it up and use another OS these days 😀

Reply 9 of 9, by ghuber

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
sergm wrote on 2020-05-23, 20:27:
Kaminari wrote on 2020-05-23, 19:15:

It looks like a similar problem with VirtualMIDISynth, which has been happening in Win10 since December. The MIDI driver is automatically disabled by Windows on every reboot.

Peachy. I didn't expect windows to become any less unusable with the new release... That's why I given it up and use another OS these days 😀

That would have to be FreeBSD then 😀

But as long as DOSBox ECE manages to work with MUNT included, I guess I can live with it.

Thanks for your quick answer, anyway!

Georg