MT-32 emulator available again!

General information and assistance with Munt.

MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2003-12-14 @ 03:09

Due to recent developments in my discussion with Roland, I've reposted my site. As always, its at http://www.artworxinn.com/alex/ . I've completely revised it and added additional content.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Kaminari » 2003-12-14 @ 05:10

Omg :exclamation:

Glad to see you back on track CC, and thanks to the EFF for their great support so far!
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 772
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby collector » 2003-12-14 @ 09:25

What version of DOSBox is the MT-32 DOSBox compiled from, .60?
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4100
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2003-12-14 @ 09:51

Yes... its compiled from 0.60 and some additional experimental IPX networking code that I've been working on.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby robertmo » 2003-12-14 @ 13:12

I have just tried both versions of mt32emu (dosbox and win drv) with Dune2. It sounds completely different with dosbox and with vdmsound (identity.map). Dosbox souds better. Does it mean dosbox mt-32 emulator is better than windows driver for mt32 emulation?
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4231
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2003-12-14 @ 17:32

Yes.. I'm sorry. I should have noted this on my page. The driver version is a few revisions behind in the DosBox development. For a while now, since I optimized things and tuned the sound, the Windows driver has been very unstable. The driver version online is the last stable version.
Last edited by canadacow on 2003-12-15 @ 00:54, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Qbix » 2003-12-14 @ 19:50

canadacow. please remove the sid part from your link to the forum at your homepage.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10522
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby teamster1975 » 2003-12-15 @ 19:54

Fantastic news Canadacow! Thankyou for your perseverance :happyhappy:
User avatar
teamster1975
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2003-7-18 @ 21:14
Location: Woking, UK

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Alkarion » 2003-12-16 @ 06:57

I can't start Roland Dosbox because it says it needs SDL_NET.dll and if I supply the file it won't start.
User avatar
Alkarion
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 2003-9-21 @ 18:07
Location: Bonn/Germany

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby robertmo » 2003-12-16 @ 09:46

In here it needs: sdl_net.dll, then sdl.dll, then msvcp70.dll and finally msvcr70.dll and then it works ;)
I must also say that sdl.dll i use is about twice smaller in size than the one provided with other versions of dosbox (those without mt32 emulation). If i try to use that larger sdl.dll it doesn't work. So i guess you are just using wrong sdl.dll.
btw- what is the difference between those two sdls?
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4231
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Alkarion » 2003-12-16 @ 11:24

Many thanks for the quick help. The point was taking the last stable SDL version (1.2.6) from the official SDL page. No libraries other than sdl_net.dll were needed, though.

Btw, this is absolutely fantastic. The new Roland emulation sounds so much better. I've listened to Prince of Persia 1 and 2 (great custom instruments in 2), Wing Commander 1 and 2, Ultima Underworld 1 and 2 and overall it sounds near-perfect. There are some problems with Wing Commander still. I think I will post them later.

Only one thing: I notice some noise in some of the samples. Does that mean they simply weren't recorded better or is it an issue of the emulator?
User avatar
Alkarion
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 2003-9-21 @ 18:07
Location: Bonn/Germany

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Srecko » 2003-12-16 @ 14:21

I have crashes with "The Lost Vikings" and "Raiden" when mt32 emu is enabled and set up for the game (dosbox).
Otherwise sounds great. Much better than previous version.
Srecko
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 15:03

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Shernand » 2003-12-17 @ 04:02

Great news ;)
Pity i realised too late that this emu actually existed, so i don't have the rom to test it... *snif*
User avatar
Shernand
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2003-11-18 @ 07:38
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Snover » 2003-12-18 @ 01:56

Oh, I was supposed to mention, canadacow, now that you're allowed to distribute the emulator again, you should probably work on it some more ;)
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5207
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2003-12-19 @ 02:17

I am working on it... as my posts said before Roland issued C&D letters, the technical shortcomings of my emulator are now incredibly hard to pin down and correct. I had identified three things that are hurting the quality of the emulator:

1) Decay times are still not completely accurate (e.g. Monkey Island 1)
2) Instrument volume mixing is off (e.g. Trumpet in SQ3 theme)
3) Completely analogue instruments sound flat. This suggests more work needs to be done on the time variant filter (e.g. background instruments in SQ3 theme)

Of course, Snover, there's nothing stoping you from mastering DSP and finishing this project for me. :evil:
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Dominus » 2003-12-19 @ 13:14

will you also emulate the information games were able to send to the display of the MT-32? This is only hearsay but I got it from a good source. With emulate, I mean providing a way to pass it on to whatever app is using the emulator. For example to make it possible to show in the console or even the "window-header" (lack of correct name, sorry) of dosbox.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7539
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2003-12-19 @ 15:35

Yes. Such a LCD display feature is planned for the driver release of the emulator. In Windows (not sure how this will be accomplished in Linux) the driver will most likely be able to reside in the system tray and flash the text as the MT-32 receives it.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Dominus » 2003-12-19 @ 16:11

nice!!!
any idea on how to make that work for dosbox? That would make it easy for linux (perhaps).

btw, good to have you back! (well, we never really lost you, just the emulator :-))
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7539
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby salzrat » 2003-12-28 @ 17:34

Hi,

Just found this site and am extremely excited.

However, even after sifting through dozens of posts and searching the forum, I am still confused as to where the people who tested the emulator got the ROM from. Was it included in the binary releases of the emulator or does everybody who has tested the emulator own an MT-32 and ripped the ROM himself?

Thanks

Michael
salzrat
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2003-12-28 @ 04:54

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Kaminari » 2003-12-28 @ 18:30

The latter obviously :money:
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 772
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Next

Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest