MT-32 emulator available again!

General information and assistance with Munt.

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-3-28 @ 00:28

Thanks for your comments! I increased the reverb marginally. Most of what changed was the filter. Its an almost near copy of the MT-32's reverb.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby robertmo » 2004-3-28 @ 00:37

I guess that is not important but I have noticed already with the 15march version that:
mounting with -t cdrom crushes dosbox
subst crushes dosbox
(i suppose they are just turned off to gain some more performance)

also intelligent mode doesn't work
(i suppose that is cause it is not the latest dosboxcvs)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4160
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-3-28 @ 03:53

Actually its good that you pointed these out to me. No, these haven't been broken on purpose. The reason they are broken is because the MT-32 build is my eccentric personal build. This means that there are a great deal of experimental features also built into it including the MT-32 emulation. In this case, its disk image support that's breaking the subst and cdrom mounts. I'm going to repost a DosBox MT-32 version with this fixed and with the finalized disk image support here in a little bit. The reposted version should also have fixed intelligent mode emulation straight from the CVS as well. Thansk for letting me know!
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby robertmo » 2004-3-28 @ 07:46

I think it would be nice if possible to add whole latest dosboxcvs code cause right now svga is in a mess. The new one has way better hercules, cga, svga, opl and sound blaster support.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4160
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Kaminari » 2004-3-28 @ 09:33

Wow, astounding job CC! I can listen to SQ3 and PQ3 intros on my P3@667 almost without any sound drop! :shocked:

(Admittedly, I'm using frameskip=2 and cycle=2000 but, wow! Can't wait for the driver :happyhappy: )
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby trylle » 2004-3-29 @ 01:27

Assuming that the ROM file contains mostly sample- and instrumentdata, then if someone were to write a fast file format specification on it, couldn't we simply make our own ROM files using free or own samples? The instruments would, of course, not sound the same as on the real mt-32, but one could even improve on the ROM file of the mt-32 with this.

Just a thought.
trylle
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-3-29 @ 01:17

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-3-29 @ 01:47

Already done.. the spec is contained inside patchlog.cfg
The first number is the hexadecimal offset in the rom of the sample. The last number is the base frequency (note C4) of the sample.

Code: Select all
0 -1
4000 1 AcouTomTom 3 0 26251
8000 2 RideCynAtt 8 0 26251
9000 3 AcouBD 0 0 28682
a000 4 AcouSnare 1 0 26251
c000 5 OpenHiTail 5 1 25700 ?
e000 6 CraCynTa 7 1 25700 ?
f000 7 ClosedHigh 4 0 26251
10000 8 CraCynAtt 6 0 26251
12000 9 Timbale 18 0 26251
14000 10 Conga 12 0 26251 24307
15000 11 SnareElect 2 0 26251
15800 12 MuteConga 11 0 26251
16000 13 Bongo 13 0 26251
16800 14 Rimshot 9 0 20417 ?
17000 15 HandClap 10 0 26251
17800 16 Cowbell 14 0 26251
18000 17 Tambourine 15 0 26251
19000 18 AgogoBell 16 0 26251
19800 19 Claves 17 0 26251
1a000 20 Cabbasa 19 0 26251
1c000 21 OrchHit 47 0 46791
20000 22 Timpani 46 0 11667
21000 23 Piano 20 0 81185
22000 24 HamOrganAttack 21 0 24307
23000 25 Trombone 22 0 97500
24000 26 Trumpet 23 0 82643
25000 27 Noise 24 1 25700 ?
26000 28 Clarinet 25 0 68800
27000 29 Flute 26 0 63684
28000 30 Steamer 27 0 49500
29000 31 Xylophone 33 0 137820
2a000 32 Windbell 34 0 729210
2b000 33 SlapBassAtt 36 0 16285
2b800 34 SlapBassTail 37 1 17754
2c000 35 Harpsichord 43 1 6200
2d000 36 Pizzicato 41 0 106221
2e000 37 AcouBass 38 0 13611
30000 38 GutGuitar 39 0 53718
32000 39 Harp 42 0 136100
34000 40 SteelGuit 40 0 31113
36000 41 FretBass 35 0 15556
36800 42 IndianFlute 48 0 100659
37000 43 HamOrganLoop 49 1 12000
37800 44 Bell 50 1 182333
38000 45 Telephone 51 1 60000
39000 46 ContraBase 44 0 10500
3a000 47 Violin 45 0 54933
3b000 48 AltoSax 29 0 48650
3c000 49 BariSax 30 0 11910
3d000 50 ShakuHachi 28 0 34029
3e000 51 Mariamba 31 0 16285
3f000 52 Vibraphone 32 0 35002
3f800 53 Ethnic 52 1 239080
40000 54 Stainless 53 1 142339
0
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby trylle » 2004-3-29 @ 02:09

Oh, sorry. Thanks. :)

My last question then is, what sound format does the rom file use?

Edit:
Never mind. :q
trylle
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-3-29 @ 01:17

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Spikey » 2004-4-13 @ 05:25

Hey Canadacow/et al., Alistair of Sierra Music Central here. It's been a while since I visited these parts (my loss!) and am wondering if a Sierra track, whether SQ3 or otherwise, could be uploaded- that is played back with the MT-32 emu.

Also, what's the status? I'm often asked by people about this project and usually am stumped because your site has no status updates. How close are you guys to emulating the module, in terms of reverb, patch maps (SysEx! The biggie..), etc etc.

Regards,
- Spike
User avatar
Spikey
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2003-2-04 @ 10:36
Location: South Australia

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby dnewhous » 2004-6-22 @ 18:04

Could someone provide a procedure for extracting the samples from an MT-32?
dnewhous
Member
 
Posts: 224
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 02:53
Location: Gainesville, FL

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-6-22 @ 22:25

How close are you guys to emulating the module, in terms of reverb, patch maps (SysEx! The biggie..), etc etc.


I would say the emulator is about 98% complete. Sounds about dead on... everything's emulated... only a few specific games have problems here and there.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Spikey » 2004-6-25 @ 04:51

Reply was slow! Still, I'll take what I can get..

So, CC, regardless of what MT-32 game I play, the emulator can handle all the custom instruments?

- Alistair
User avatar
Spikey
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2003-2-04 @ 10:36
Location: South Australia

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-6-25 @ 11:20

Yeah, pretty much. I designed the emulator around the correct MT-32 sysex interpretation.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Spikey » 2004-6-25 @ 14:51

What's the 'correct MT-32 SysEx interpretation'? How can it recieve all patches and assign them all correctly? This is the big conundrum that leaves scepticism in the major players in the Sierra music community, if you could give me a bit more to go on than 'she'll be right' I would be relieved. :)

- Alistair
User avatar
Spikey
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2003-2-04 @ 10:36
Location: South Australia

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby canadacow » 2004-6-25 @ 16:36

The emulator is not just wavetable translation. It emulates the LA synthesis the MT-32 did. It emulates the patch ram in the same configuration.
User avatar
canadacow
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-5-11 @ 23:00
Location: United States

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Spikey » 2004-6-26 @ 02:24

Wicked stuff. I'll be sure to pass the good word around now, CC. Thanks for your helpful responses.
- Alistair
User avatar
Spikey
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2003-2-04 @ 10:36
Location: South Australia

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Borg Number One » 2005-5-02 @ 15:00

Hi.

1.)
Your MT-32 Emulator MIDI driver rulez!!! :) :) :)

2.)
Because of your emulator seems to emulate the MT32 device in a really low level way,
could you build a driver which includes a MT-32 Emulator that uses techniques like:
- HLE (high level emulation) or
- dynamic recompilation ?

3.)
In the attachment there are MIDI files from Loom and Monkey Island 1.
( http://s-island.mixnmojo.com/loom.html
http://highland.mixnmojo.com
http://imuse.mixnmojo.com/MIDI.shtml
http://www.tentakelvilla.de/download/MIDI.html )

Espacially the Loom MT-32 MIDIs sounds good, but anything is misssing.
"Where" is the main instrument in the MT-32 MIDIs?
I cannot hear it.
Why?
For example the channel 6 (there are 0-15 channels) in "01 Loom - The Overture.MID" sounds really quietly while using your MT-32 Synth Emulator.


In some Monkey Island 1 MIDIs there is also the same problem with the low, quiet, muted main instrument.


Well, after converting the MT-32 MIDIs to GM/GS MIDIs(*) and changing the Win32-MIDI-Device to

- SB Live! Sw-Synth [D400](**)
or to
- SB Live! Synth A [D400]/SB Live! Synth B [D400](***)

I can hear the the main instument in the converted GM/GS MIDIs.



(*)="mttogm.exe" is a good, small tool to convert MT-32 MIDIs to GM MIDIs using the tables: PATCHCNV.TXT/PATCHCNV(vdmsound).txt
PATCHCNV(vdmsound).txt = I used MT32-to-GM-conversion-table from VDMsound to build an equal "MTTOGM-conversion table" in MTTOGM format.

(**)=
Normally the "SB Live! Sw-Synth [D400]" device uses the default.ecw soundfont file (2MB) in the System(32) directory.
But if you exchange the dafault.ecw with EAPCI8.ECW or eapci8m.ecw from the
Soundblaster 16/Soundblaster Audio PCI drivers then you will hear really good MIDI music and MIDI instruments.

(***)=
Original Creative 8MB .sf2 soundfont file was used. :)



3.b)
You can load the .m3u file directly into your Winamp.

Peter Pawlowski worked for Nullsoft and its "in_midi.dll" and "read_file.dll" are still part of Winamp.
So Winamp can directly play the MIDIs in the RAR archive without extracting them.


4.)
What is about the "MT-32 Synth Emulator Version 0.1.2 - property dialog/config window" ?
When will it be finished?

4.b)
Everytime I run the property dialog and press: "Ok" and
press: "Cancel" at/on the windows which brings/brought me to the
"MT-32 Synth Emulator Version 0.1.2 - property dialog" then I get a warning/message:
"Hardware properties changed...blah blah bla... Your computer has to reboot...."

-->To avoid this problem, Why is there not a Cancel button at/on/in the:
"MT-32 Synth Emulator Version 0.1.2 - property dialog" ?


5.)
Could you compare the .rom files with your files?
I would like to know if my .rom files are changed/patched/cracked/... .


6.)
Is there a "OPLx/Adlib - Synth/EMU"- MIDI-driver-project which is similar to yours?


7.)
Sometimes Winamp crashes if you open "Winamp settings->plug-ins->Midi Plugin properties"
To reproduce the bug: All the time MIDI should be playing & MT-32 Synth Emulator is used.


PS:
@canadacow: The password you received by me is BASE64 encoded 5 times. :)
Decode the password with a BASE64 decoder / BASE64 online PHP-decoder and decode the resulted text again.
Repeat these steps 5 times and you will receive a really great fact. :)
Attachments
mt32-project.rar
Content of "mt32-project.rar":

mt32-midis.rar
mt32-midis.m3u
mttogm
readme.txt
MT32_CONTROL.rar
MT32_PCM.rar
(the last both .rar files are encrypted & protected; only canadacow knows the password)
(646.57 KiB) Downloaded 1160 times
Last edited by Borg Number One on 2005-5-02 @ 15:31, edited 3 times in total.
Borg Number One
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 16:11

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby HunterZ » 2005-5-02 @ 15:10

Hey Borg, just wanted to make sure that you knew that CandaCow and KingGuppy are pooling their efforts to work on Munt: http://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/

Munt hasn't had an official release for a while, but its latest code appears in the SCUMMVM daily snapshot builds.

I actually haven't heard from either of them in a while - I wonder what they're up to?
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6057
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby Borg Number One » 2005-5-03 @ 21:51

Hi.

I already know this and I already use the lates sourceforge - MUNT driver all the time.

So all the mentioned facts in my previous message are related to the MUNT driver.
Borg Number One
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 16:11

Re: MT-32 emulator available again!

Postby fighter » 2007-3-28 @ 09:12

hmm
i tried the one from the site and the one from sourceforge
the one from sourceforge stucks the player and the one from the site is doing strange sounds, can it play general midi? or thats why the one from the site is doing strange sounds
fighter
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-3-24 @ 23:36

PreviousNext

Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest