VOGONS

First post, by ReeseRiverson

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I have a Roland MT-32 (older model with out the headphone output), and when I first go it, all I had was a USB Midi interface. I got it going in DOSBox no problem and thought it sounded pretty good.... Until I got my Gameport to Midi cable and plugged it into my retro machine, and of course the use of SoftMPU for games that need it.

I found that the MT-32 sounds better using the real retro system, and even actually proper sound effects at that. Day of the Tentacle is a good example. DOSBox the birds never chirp at the beginning, but on my Pentium system they do. Kings Quest VII is another example when you are in chapter 2, and see the trolls using their tools, their sound effects there sound more real.

So I'm wondering, if there is a setting I may have missed on DOSBox, or if this is just a limitation? I'm still new to the Roland world of Midi, but despite things not going 100% on DOSBox level, I still love the MT-32 on there and the actual Retro system. 😀

Reply 1 of 12, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Softmpu uses the code of dosbox, so that should in theory provide the same level of emulation.
There can be of course various reasons why certain sound effects do not play, not limited to your usb-midi cable.

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 2 of 12, by ReeseRiverson

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Settings I am currently using for DOSBox:

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=1

Here are two recordings I made, no voices. Just pure Midi comparison using Day of The Tentacle between the two.

DOSBox with MT-32: http://reeseriverson.com/rriverson/stuff/DoTT … X-RealMT-32.mp3

Retro PC with MT-32, SoftMPU running: http://reeseriverson.com/rriverson/stuff/DoTT … C-RealMT-32.mp3

Also I just checked the ROM Version, which is Version 1.07.

Reply 3 of 12, by Mau1wurf1977

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++