Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

General information and assistance with Munt.

Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Saotome Ranma » 2017-5-28 @ 00:57

Found one CM500 and wish to grab it. If what I asked is true, I think this little box is the ultimate solution for all dos games with midi BGMs, but it's quite expensive as everyone knows.

So I wanna make sure on this point, in order to help me make my final decision on this second hand plain little box. :confused:
The NOOB of noobs!!

Retro Games & Hardware サイコウ!
User avatar
Saotome Ranma
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 05:29

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby keropi » 2017-5-28 @ 05:36

it's CM-64 + CM-300 (CM-64 is CM-32L + CM-32P)
you can read more here: http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.de/2013 ... vices.html

it's a good all-in-one module IMHO, has some qwirks like the CM-64 but nothing that can't be solved with some SysEx messages
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5709
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby jesolo » 2017-5-28 @ 07:56

I seem to recall that the vibrato of the CM-64 part (and by extension the CM-32L) of the CM-500 is slightly different to that of a real CM-64.

I think that Phil did a review of this module and the other modules on his website a while ago (it's called the "Ultimate Roland Tutorial").

But aside from that one difference, it does offer a very nice "two in one" solution.
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-28 @ 08:41

The vibrato is off (too fast), you can tell in the Monkey Island 2 tune.

It's a dual PCB module, so it's somewhat noisier.

But I think that's it in terms of differences.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Saotome Ranma » 2017-5-28 @ 14:27

Update: Got that CM-500, costing me 140 dollars.... God damn expensive. I can get an SC-88 pro and a MU-100 here with that price!!!

But still a little bit cheaper than buying CM64/CM32L/MT32 + CM300/SC-55 separately...

I'm not quite familiar with those 386-era dos games. So I think this little box will be my ultra solution if I build up my pentium gaming rig for dos.
The NOOB of noobs!!

Retro Games & Hardware サイコウ!
User avatar
Saotome Ranma
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 05:29

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby F2bnp » 2017-5-28 @ 16:22

I think this is actually a decent price for the unit, considering that I've seen it go for over 200$. Would love to get one at some point, looks like a lovely unit, but people wanting separate devices is just as acceptable, I can totally understand that (plus it does have some quirks as pointed out).
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3229
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Shponglefan » 2017-5-29 @ 02:27

You definitely got a good price. CM-500's are somewhat rare and typically go for a lot more in my experience. I paid about double for mine.

As others have mentioned, it does have somewhat faster vibrato which can make things sound a bit different than an MT-32/CM-32L/CM-64. Although it's one of those things that if you're not specifically listening for it, you may not even notice.
MIDI module collection: Edirol SC-D70, SD-90 | Kawai GMega | Korg AG-10, NS5R, Triton Rack | Roland MT-32, CM-32L, CM-64, CM-500, SC-55, SC-88, SC-88 Pro, JV-1010, XV-5080 | Yamaha MU-80, MU-2000EX
User avatar
Shponglefan
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2016-9-21 @ 13:13

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Shponglefan » 2017-5-29 @ 02:28

keropi wrote:it's CM-64 + CM-300 (CM-64 is CM-32L + CM-32P)


My understanding is the CM-32P portion is emulated on the CM-500. Although it's a bit irrelevant for gaming, I suppose, as CM-32P is not used for games.
MIDI module collection: Edirol SC-D70, SD-90 | Kawai GMega | Korg AG-10, NS5R, Triton Rack | Roland MT-32, CM-32L, CM-64, CM-500, SC-55, SC-88, SC-88 Pro, JV-1010, XV-5080 | Yamaha MU-80, MU-2000EX
User avatar
Shponglefan
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2016-9-21 @ 13:13

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-5-29 @ 03:48

I would agree that it's not very relevant for PC games, but wasn't the CM-32P supported by some titles in the Japanese market either on the NEC or Sharp platforms?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4427
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Spikey » 2017-5-30 @ 13:18

I can't remember for sure, but I think someone told me the CM-32P (and U110) uses a lot of similar waveforms to the SC-55, so it's sort of a "pre-SC-55" sound. Both are PCM based.
User avatar
Spikey
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2003-2-04 @ 10:36
Location: South Australia

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby gorphusis » 2017-5-30 @ 15:46

He must be in Japan where they are more plentiful. I definitely paid more than that for mine.
gorphusis
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-5-30 @ 13:36

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Kodai » 2017-6-08 @ 13:13

The CM-32P ( or CM-64), is a very important option on the Sharp X-68000 series of computers. About 1/3 of the games make use of it and being able to change instruments on the fly really makes a game feel just right. I mean going from generic synth guitar on the CM-32 to a sampled electric guitar via the CM-32P makes the atmosphere so vibrant.

I use it on the X-68000 and have several U110 cards to get the sounds that are right for my gaming experience. I only wish the PC could have made use of this type of PCM based audio gear.

The OP will still want an original MT-32 for older DOS games from about 1987-1990. The CM-32 has a different instrument map and some sounds and instruments will not play on those older games. Of course if the OP doesn't really play late '80s games then the MT-32 is kinda pointless.
User avatar
Kodai
Member
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 2013-7-31 @ 22:46
Location: Atlanta

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Saotome Ranma » 2017-6-08 @ 15:03

Kodai wrote:The CM-32P ( or CM-64), is a very important option on the Sharp X-68000 series of computers. About 1/3 of the games make use of it and being able to change instruments on the fly really makes a game feel just right. I mean going from generic synth guitar on the CM-32 to a sampled electric guitar via the CM-32P makes the atmosphere so vibrant.

I use it on the X-68000 and have several U110 cards to get the sounds that are right for my gaming experience. I only wish the PC could have made use of this type of PCM based audio gear.

The OP will still want an original MT-32 for older DOS games from about 1987-1990. The CM-32 has a different instrument map and some sounds and instruments will not play on those older games. Of course if the OP doesn't really play late '80s games then the MT-32 is kinda pointless.


Thx very much, I'm still thinking of buying an MT-32 or not. It's still quite expensive, even in Japan...
The NOOB of noobs!!

Retro Games & Hardware サイコウ!
User avatar
Saotome Ranma
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 05:29

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Great Hierophant » 2017-6-08 @ 20:08

The CM-32P uses samples for instruments, and sounds pretty impressive in its own right. It can also be upgraded with removable U-110 Expansion Cards and at least one X68000 game supports two of those cards as well. The CM-500 can't emulate the expansion cards.

CM-64 = CM-32L + CM-32P.
CM-500 = CM-32L + Emulated CM-32P + CM-300
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby NewRisingSun » 2017-6-08 @ 20:15

The identical samples will sound better on an actual CM-32P/CM-64 than on the SC-55/CM-500. I think it is because the CM-32P uses uncompressed samples, while the SC-55 uses compressed samples.

The CM-500 has the SC-55 sound engine, but clips far more easily than the original SC-55. Don't know whether the CM-300 has that problem as well.
NewRisingSun
Oldbie
 
Posts: 777
Joined: 2005-9-02 @ 02:26

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Kaminari » 2017-6-08 @ 20:43

The CM-500 actually has several more samples than the base CM-32P/CM-64.

On top of the 64 instruments provided by the SC-55 to "emulate" the CM-32P, the CM-500 fills the remaining 64 slots (which are not configurable) with a kind of "best-of" selection from the U-110 ROM cards -- probably borrowed from the SC-55 samples as well.

However, I don't think any Japanese game uses that particular CM-500 tone map. And while I know of two dozens X68000 games which support the CM-32P, "one third" of X68000 games seems to me a very optimistic figure. Kodai, do you have a list to back up that info? I'm certainly interested in learning more about it.
Core2 Quad Q6600 3.0 GHz | Radeon R9 280X 3 GB | DDR2 8.0 GB | Win7-64 SP1
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Kodai » 2017-6-09 @ 00:20

I may be wrong on the total amount, but I'm going by what I've learned from commercially available games. I have 87 games (ahem, mostly "backups"), and about 1/3rd of them support my 32P. Considering how many games there are for the X68000, I'm more than willing to say it could be far fewer than 1/3rd. It still makes quite a few of the games sound fantastic!
User avatar
Kodai
Member
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 2013-7-31 @ 22:46
Location: Atlanta

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Saotome Ranma » 2017-6-09 @ 08:53

Great Hierophant wrote:The CM-32P uses samples for instruments, and sounds pretty impressive in its own right. It can also be upgraded with removable U-110 Expansion Cards and at least one X68000 game supports two of those cards as well. The CM-500 can't emulate the expansion cards.

CM-64 = CM-32L + CM-32P.
CM-500 = CM-32L + Emulated CM-32P + CM-300

God damn it, u r the creater of that famous Nerdly Pleasures Blog.....!!!

I've read so many usefull information on that blog, helping me choose my owned collections a lot for my upcoming retro rigs.... Thanks so much do appreciate the hard work u've done!!
The NOOB of noobs!!

Retro Games & Hardware サイコウ!
User avatar
Saotome Ranma
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 05:29

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby SuperDeadite » 2017-6-09 @ 11:02

Hi, I suppose it's time I finally register here.
I am the same SuperDeadite from youtube.
Living in Japan I tend to focus on Japanese games that many westerners are not familiar with.
I have done a LOT of X68000 MIDI videos on my channel.

I know this place is mostly DOS focused, but if you love MIDI modules and you don't at
least emulate the X68K you are seriously missing out.

Anyway, there are actually 2 games that use the U110 Expansion cards:
Gemini Wing: https://youtu.be/_FBR4ktmhMo
Choujin: https://youtu.be/Z4jq3ql8etY

If you want another obscure one, the FM-Towns version of Xak III supports
CM-64.

Regarding the CM-500, it was my first module ever. Found it in Hardoff for 2,000yen.
If you can get one cheap enough, it's a great starter module, but for today's prices, it's limitations
make it a hard recommendation imo.
Modules: CM-64, CM-500, SC-55MkII, SC-88 Pro, SY22, TG100, MU2000EX, PLG150-DR, SG01k, NS5R, GZ-50M, SN-U110-07, SN-U110-10, Dreamblaster X2
SuperDeadite
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2017-6-09 @ 10:46

Re: Roland CM-500 = MT-32 + SC55?

Postby Saotome Ranma » 2017-6-09 @ 11:24

SuperDeadite wrote:Regarding the CM-500, it was my first module ever. Found it in Hardoff for 2,000yen.
If you can get one cheap enough, it's a great starter module, but for today's prices, it's limitations
make it a hard recommendation imo.


WTF??? Which HARDOFF???? I'll be there right now if I've known it!!!

BTW, the cheapest thing I got is a CM-300, costing me 2160 yen (around 20 USD) with tax.... the thing is completely tested in a very nice condition!
The NOOB of noobs!!

Retro Games & Hardware サイコウ!
User avatar
Saotome Ranma
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 05:29

Next

Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest