MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

General information and assistance with Munt.

MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-13 @ 15:18

Ok this may be a really dumb question, but I'm using an MT-32 with my SB AWE-32 card. Do I need two sets of speakers or can I use the MT-32 or SB as a passthrough? Meaning can I do something like this? MT32 (output) -> SB (input) -> SB (output) -> Speakers? Or do I need some sort of mixer device in the loop? I think I have one somewhere...
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Scali » 2017-12-13 @ 15:26

Yes, you can loop the output of the MT-32 into the line-in of your SB AWE32.
You can then use the mixer on the AWE32 to mix the line-in audio with the SB's own audio to the line-out (the line-in is probably muted by default, so just plugging in the MT-32 probably won't make you hear anything yet. Use the software included with the AWE32 to un-mute the line-in and adjust its level so that it matches the SB's internal synth level).
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-13 @ 15:34

Ok so I do need the mixer then? How does that loop into the chain? My mixer has two stereo inputs and an output (plus a bunch of mic inputs, but I don't need those).
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Scali » 2017-12-13 @ 15:45

Tempest wrote:Ok so I do need the mixer then? How does that loop into the chain? My mixer has two stereo inputs and an output (plus a bunch of mic inputs, but I don't need those).


No, there's an onboard mixer on the SB. That's what you need to use.
See this LGR video where he basically does the same thing, but with a Sound Blaster Pro: https://youtu.be/eiMP-PlL6VM?t=14m5s
Your AWE32 software will be slightly different, but it should also include software to control the mixer.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby jheronimus » 2017-12-13 @ 15:50

Tempest wrote:Ok so I do need the mixer then? How does that loop into the chain? My mixer has two stereo inputs and an output (plus a bunch of mic inputs, but I don't need those).


You just use the MT-32 volume knob and the line-in volume setting in your AWE32 mixer
Socket 7: Pentium 166; 64MB RAM; Matrox Millenium+Voodoo 1; AWE32 PnP w/28MB + GUS PnP Pro w/8MB
Slot 1: Pentium III 500; 384MB RAM; Voodoo 5 5500 AGP; AWE64 Value w/8MB + Diamond Monster Sound MX300 + SoundBlaster Live!
User avatar
jheronimus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 806
Joined: 2015-12-10 @ 00:09
Location: Moscow

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-13 @ 16:09

One more question. I was watching this video that seems pretty informative: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPBSO02BUhc

Do I need SoftMPU to make this setup work? I thought the AWE32 would handle everything and I didn't need the Intelligent Mode stuff?
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Scali » 2017-12-13 @ 16:54

Tempest wrote:Do I need SoftMPU to make this setup work? I thought the AWE32 would handle everything and I didn't need the Intelligent Mode stuff?


You only need intelligent mode for certain games. The AWE32 does not support intelligent mode, so you would need SoftMPU to get those games working with the MT-32.
Newer games generally don't need intelligent mode, and will work with the dumb/uart MPU401 mode that the AWE32 supports.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-13 @ 16:58

Is there a list of Intelligent Mode games out there? I assume there is.
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Scali » 2017-12-13 @ 17:32

Tempest wrote:Is there a list of Intelligent Mode games out there? I assume there is.


The SoftMPU site has a list of intelligent mode games that work with SoftMPU at least: https://github.com/bjt42/softmpu/wiki/C ... Mode-Games
Here is another list: https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... 05#p262011
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-14 @ 00:35

Anyone know where I can get that Soundblaster Mixer this guy uses in his video (skip to 8:10): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPBSO02BUhc
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-14 @ 15:12

Also, should I always load softmpu by putting it in my autoexec.bat or should I only load as needed? I have enough free conventional memory that it shouldn't matter.
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby keropi » 2017-12-14 @ 15:21

that mixer works on Yamaha cards like the AUDICIAN 32, it needs the yamaha chipset to work so a SB won't do. SB have their own mixer, have you ran MIXERSET.EXE ?
Also no need to have softmpu always loaded, just load it before a game that needs it - maybe make a BAT file to do that and launch the game automatically.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6274
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-14 @ 16:08

Yes I did run Mixerset as did he in the video. I just thought I had to run another one as well.

Sounds like I can have softmpu running at all times and it won't hurt anything. It will determine if it needs UART or MPU mode.
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-17 @ 00:22

My sound card (an AWE32) has LINE IN, MIC IN, SPKR OUT, and LINE OUT. I assume I plug the MT-32 into the LINE IN and my speakers to the LINE OUT.
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Obiwan » 2017-12-22 @ 11:22

Tempest wrote:My sound card (an AWE32) has LINE IN, MIC IN, SPKR OUT, and LINE OUT. I assume I plug the MT-32 into the LINE IN and my speakers to the LINE OUT.


LINE IN for the MT-32 cables.

If you have amplified speakers (i.e with their own power source) you can use the LINE OUT. If not, you should use the SPKR OUT. This output is amplified and produce a more powerful signal. Hence It is noisier than the LINE OUT and sound quality is a bit altered.

Lastly the AWE 32's mixer is not very good. You should use your own mixer: stereo input or two mic input (wich are mono input) per card
Besides you will be able to add some sound cards and to record :lol:
User avatar
Obiwan
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-11-26 @ 15:23

Re: MT-32 and Soundcard Speakers?

Postby Tempest » 2017-12-23 @ 19:34

I think I have a mixer, I'll have to check. But for now this should work.
--- AtariProtos.com ---
For when excellence and burnished fineries need to gently visit the warmth of your tablery
User avatar
Tempest
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2007-12-03 @ 17:37


Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest