VOGONS


Munt issue with Windows 10

Topic actions

Reply 60 of 66, by sergm

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Also note, in a 32-bit shell, it may seem that the 32-bit .dll resides in \Windows\System32 due to wow magic. To ensure this mess really happened, one should check it in a 64-bit shell or in \Windows\Sysnative.

Reply 61 of 66, by citrixscu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
sergm wrote on 2020-06-21, 07:46:
citrixscu wrote on 2020-06-20, 19:51:

Not sure here, but it looks like infinstall_x64.exe may be installing the 32-bit driver to \Windows\System32 rather than the 64-bit one?

That'd be odd, but the installers (all sorts of them) do install a .dll in \Windows\System32. The thing is, the installer copies the 64-bit .dll in there, while the 32-bit .dll is copied to \Windows\SysWOW64. These two are easily distinguishable by size 😀

Odd, indeed. So, I don't know what was happening, but I rebooted the machine and the installer works as expected. For whatever reason it looked to be putting the 32 bit one in System32 due to the smaller file size.

Reply 62 of 66, by ShirBlackspots

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Those new drivers, the MIDI sound played through Munt appears to be better (I think?). It certainly sounds different. I played canyon.mid and necrofantasia.mid through it. A word of note: since Munt only has 8 channels, plus a rhythm channel, it seems that some notes are not being played through Munt when playing necrofantasia.mid

Reply 63 of 66, by Kaminari

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The MT-32 has 9 channels. If your MIDI files are MT-32 compatible, they should sound the same on Munt as they do on MT-32.

MT-32/Munt are not compatible with GM/GS/XG.

Ryzen 2600X 4.0 GHz | Vega 56 8 GB | DDR4 16 GB | Win7-64 Ultimate | Win10-64 Pro

Reply 64 of 66, by slx

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dagar wrote on 2020-06-20, 20:02:
Extracted mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.1-win32-amd64.zip from: https://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/files/m … /2.3.0-Updates/ to a temp […]
Show full quote

Extracted mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.1-win32-amd64.zip
from: https://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/files/m … /2.3.0-Updates/
to a temp directory and then ran the following from a command prompt where I extracted the archive:

infinstall_x64 install -sign

Drivers updated to ..
Driver Date: 6/20/2020
Driver Version: 1.5.1.0

Rebooted and tested and everything seems to be working fine !

Thank you for your help! The MUNT works!

Reply 65 of 66, by teiresias

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dagar wrote on 2020-06-20, 20:02:
Extracted mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.1-win32-amd64.zip from: https://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/files/m … /2.3.0-Updates/ to a temp […]
Show full quote

Extracted mt32emu_win32drv-1.5.1-win32-amd64.zip
from: https://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/files/m … /2.3.0-Updates/
to a temp directory and then ran the following from a command prompt where I extracted the archive:

infinstall_x64 install -sign

Drivers updated to ..
Driver Date: 6/20/2020
Driver Version: 1.5.1.0

Rebooted and tested and everything seems to be working fine !

So I'm a newbie to the forum (been a lurker a long time though) and to all these backroom driver installs on modern Windows, so if I do the above after using the regular 2.3.0 installer, does this driver tie in with the existing GUI install properly? My biggest use-case for MUNT is Exult, but I've always switched between MUNT and MIDI soundfonts (via VirtualMIDISynth) using the Coolsoft MIDIMapper.

Reply 66 of 66, by sergm

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

"backroom"? 🤣
I think this method was sole back in 2004, and it's been an official way ever since...

Anyway, nothing to worry about: there can be only one working mt32emu MIDI driver instance in the system, and it must communicate properly with the GUI app (exactly in this direction). The latter is an independent component, it may work with or without the driver.