DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Baldy-Aussie » 2017-2-26 @ 12:13

This whole "Problem" seems a tad ridiculous to my way of thinking. Sort of "When I project an old 8 mm film onto a 32 foot HiMax screen, it is too faint! Wah! Wah!" COME ON NOW! Most of those old DOS games were designed for, & played on 12 or 14 inch monitors, while sitting 10 or 12 inches away from them. Trying to fill a 4k screen with a 640 x 480 VGA set of information just isn't going to be pretty. (307.2 kb of information spread over 8,294.4 kb of screen? Pixels are going to be 27 times the original area.) My own solution is to use a nice big Hi-Def screen for Movies, and an old 21 inch Phillips for DOS Gaming. Doesn't make any sense to me to take the 30 tonne truck to pick up a bottle of soft-drink!
Baldy-Aussie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-2-26 @ 09:02

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Azarien » 2017-2-26 @ 16:09

Baldy-Aussie wrote:This whole "Problem" seems a tad ridiculous to my way of thinking.


With modern resolutions so high, it is not unreasonable to have normal4x, 5x, 6x etc. scalers in addition to current 2x and 3x.

My own solution is to use a nice big Hi-Def screen for Movies, and an old 21 inch Phillips for DOS Gaming.

The whole point of DOSBox is to make old games work on modern systems. If you can play on original hardware the way those games were intended to be played - good, but keep in mind that old hardware is getting harder and harder to find.
Azarien
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-2-26 @ 19:26

Baldy-Aussie wrote:This whole "Problem" seems a tad ridiculous to my way of thinking. Sort of "When I project an old 8 mm film onto a 32 foot HiMax screen, it is too faint! Wah! Wah!" COME ON NOW! Most of those old DOS games were designed for, & played on 12 or 14 inch monitors, while sitting 10 or 12 inches away from them. Trying to fill a 4k screen with a 640 x 480 VGA set of information just isn't going to be pretty. (307.2 kb of information spread over 8,294.4 kb of screen? Pixels are going to be 27 times the original area.)
I disagree. First, you should compare linear sizes rather than areas (megapixels make no sense perception-wise). Second—the entire 4K resolution cannot be used because of the wider aspect ratio of monitor. The limiting factor therefore is the vertical resolution:
Code: Select all
2160 / 480 = 4.5 .
Third—T\the dpi of your 4K monitor is likely higher than of the historical models from the MS-DOS era. Fourth—modern monitors are viewed comfortably from a longer distance, which further decreases the difference.

The simplest and most important requirement for the faithful reproduction of an old game is to display it at the same or similar angular size, indifferently of the actual resolution of one's monitor. The second requirement is to avoid any pixel-level distortions by general-purpose algorithms, such as interpolation, and preserve a crystal-crisp image through the application of integer scale factors, as my pixel-perfect patch does for any output resolution. The third, and hardest, requirement is to emulate the artefacts of a CRT display. This latter should be optional, to satisfy pixel purists, and highly customizable, for the solutions are rather non-trivial.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby dugan » 2017-3-02 @ 18:00

I am shocked that no-one's asked to see SpectrVR's conf settings, or asked him which platform platform he's using (it sounds like Windows, but don't assume that unless you hear it).

His issue sounds to me like his DosBox is using outout=surface, either explicitly or as a fallback.
dugan
Newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015-4-04 @ 03:17

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-3-02 @ 20:47

dugan, yes the hay smelleth of that weed, but I must say that the other output modes of the standard DOXBox are equally "unusable" at high resolutions because they introduce distortion by interpolation and are unable to keep the image a) crisp, b) with regular pixels (unlike nearest-neighbor), and c) with more or less correct aspect ratio, e.g. upscaling 320x200 game to a scale of 5 horizontally and 6 vertically so as to come up with a sharp 1600 x 1000 image.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby SGAN » 2017-9-11 @ 23:17

I have problems using full screen with the DosBox ECE, and no problems with the normal DOSBox

I get a black screen and I can't do anything, i have to hardreset my PC
SGAN
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-9-11 @ 22:48

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-9-12 @ 08:37

It may be a bug in the pixel-perfect patch. Does it work in windowed mode? Does fullscreen work with surface output? Have specified fullscreen resolution as desktop?
Last edited by Ant_222 on 2017-9-16 @ 10:28, edited 1 time in total.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby SGAN » 2017-9-12 @ 13:02

- It works in windowed mode.
- Full screen doesn't work with surface output
- I had specified fullscreen resolution as "original"

Gonna try as "desktop"

EDIT:

It crashes with this config:

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=true
fullresolution=desktop
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
titlebar=DOSBox ECE Test
usescancodes=true
SGAN
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-9-11 @ 22:48

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-9-12 @ 15:38

Then it seems unconnected with pixel-perfect. AFAIK., ECE comes in two versions: plain vanilla and enhanced. Can you try the plain vanilla version? Edit: also, please, try the same without fulldouble.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby SGAN » 2017-9-12 @ 22:02

I did when i was testing the ECE "version", and it works fine, like other dosbox releases

Image

The one with the red rectangle works fine in fullscreen mode.

The one with the green one, crashes
SGAN
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-9-11 @ 22:48

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-9-13 @ 09:14

Ok, I will have to add some logging and send you a test version to see where the error is. Edit: please, attach your full config file, with which you have the error.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Re: DOSBox is completely unusable with a 4k monitor

Postby Ant_222 » 2017-9-16 @ 10:20

SGAN, please, reproduce the crash with the attached build of DOSBox and send me the file debug.txt that it will create in the working directory. Make sure to test with
Code: Select all
output=surface
By default, this version uses the following config file:
Code: Select all
%userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data\DOSBox\dosbox-SVN.conf
Also, please, attach the your full config file.
Attachments
DB_Debug.zip
(1.23 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

Previous

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot], Wengier and 2 guests