Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

Postby ped7g » 2018-2-14 @ 23:07

Here I am, 9 years later from this thread: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=8378 , working on some 256 demo scene intro, and I would love to use 1024x768x32 ... and will not happen.
(actually took me quite few minutes to realize there's no way and I really have only 2MB available in dosbox 0.74)

It would be nice touch to have this configurable in .conf file, to put 4MB or 8MB of RAM into that S3 Trio, but I didn't check the source code how much work it requires to support 4MB and additional VESA modes, maybe it's not that easy.

Anyway if you ever decide to work on this, I will appreciate it. :)
--
it's not you, it's me.
ped7g
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-4-07 @ 21:49
Location: Earth

Re: Increase memory of a video card in Dos Box

Postby Cyberdyne » 2018-2-15 @ 07:28

AMOK comes to mind, a dos game with 16bit colors. Ok it is selectable, that you can use a 256color mode.
I am aroused about any X86 stuff that has full functional ISA stuff. I think i have problem.
User avatar
Cyberdyne
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-9-18 @ 18:45
Location: Estonia, Tallinn

Re: Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

Postby Jo22 » 2018-2-23 @ 22:39

I'm not sure where the 2MB limit originally comes from, but at least a real Trio64v+ supports 4MB (not sure about Trio32/64).
MS Virtual PC 2007, does, too. Its VM additions also ships with VGA drivers to support up to 16MB.
There's even a section in the *´.vmc virtual machine files which defines the memory of the virtual Trio32/64:
I checked myself, but there's also a source: https://superuser.com/questions/144367/ ... -card-size

<video_adapter>
<vram_size type="integer">16</vram_size>
</video_adapter>


Having at least 4MB is good to have for the higher quality DOS games.
They usally come with FMVs, double-buffering and more than 256colours.

One of the first games of that type I've seen was ST:TNG - A Final Unity.
It allowed SVGA resolutions up to 1600x1200 I recall and came with loads of older VBE drivers.

It's funny that the original thread mentioned ToonsTruck, though.
That was one of the most demanding DOS games I've ever seen.

About 15 years ago or so, I played with the idea of building a Pentium II
DOS rig just for that very game, because it was so performance hungry.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

Postby leileilol » 2018-2-24 @ 00:04

You don't really need any more than 2mb (for the double-buffered 640x480x16 for a couple 97 games).

Final Unity used 640x480 only.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9139
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

Postby Jo22 » 2018-2-26 @ 21:18

Still wonder where the 2MB limit came from, though. Limits of the VESA specs, etc., maybe ?
But according to the VBE 2 specs, the highest modes each are 11Bh, 1280x1024, 16.8Mcols and mode 107h, 1280x1024, 256cols.
PCem says an -emulated- Trio32 supports 2MB, while Trio64 and S3 Vision864 support 4MB.
So what about DOSBox, does it just mimic the specs of a real Trio32 in the first place ? :?:

leileilol wrote:Final Unity used 640x480 only.

Oops, my bad. :sweatdrop:
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Increase memory of a video card in DosBox?

Postby leileilol » 2018-2-26 @ 23:47

DOSbox emulates a Trio64 with a fake VBE. I'm just saying there's no real need to go past 2MB in the context of dos gaming. The few games that do support 1280x1024 only do so in 256 colors.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9139
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests