output=opengl ONLY

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

output=opengl ONLY

Postby careyclanton » 2018-12-05 @ 05:42

Hello. I am having trouble getting some older Windows games to function. Some of them even previously worked on this same system, until I sent the system in to the manufacturer for repairs (or some time around then).

When I attempt to launch them, the resolution switches, the screen then goes black, about 3 to 5 seconds pass, and then it crashes to the desktop without an error message. However, SimCity 4 does create an exception report of which I'll post the first section:

Exception time: 12/01/2018, at 23:36:36.
Exception code: 0xC0000005 (-1073741819) ACCESS_VIOLATION.
Current thread ID: 3336 (0x00000d08).
Version information:
Application/module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition\Apps\SimCity 4.exe
Application/module version name: SimCity 4
Application/module version: 1.1.610.0
System version: Windows NT 6.2
System memory: 2048 Megabytes total, 2048 Megabytes free.

Exception module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igdumdim32.dll.
Exception address: 0x09a6872c. Section:Offset: 0x01:0x000a772c.

I am asking here because previously DOSBox exhibited the same behavior for me until I switched the output to opengl (or openglnb). These are the only output options that don't cause the crash and they both work great.

So my question to the experts here: does this immediately suggest any particular problem to you? I appreciate your consideration and response.
careyclanton
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-05 @ 05:22

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby ovvldc » 2018-12-05 @ 09:29

Why are you asking in a DOSBox forum about a game that you are running on Windows XP or later? On a 64bit system no less?
ovvldc
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2008-8-17 @ 12:48
Location: NL

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby Dominus » 2018-12-05 @ 10:15

ovvldc wrote:Why are you asking in a DOSBox forum about a game that you are running on Windows XP or later? On a 64bit system no less?

I think he gave a good explanation
I am asking here because previously DOSBox exhibited the same behavior for me until I switched the output to opengl (or openglnb). These are the only output options that don't cause the crash and they both work great.


@carey: sounds like graphics drivers
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7691
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby Qbix » 2018-12-05 @ 10:54

maybe missing directx9 or some corruption in your graphics drivers. (igdumdim32 seems to indicate you have some sort of intel card)
I suggest updating your graphics card drivers. (by going to the intel website)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10693
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby Almoststew1990 » 2018-12-06 @ 23:15

Does the PC use intel graphics on Windows 7 8 or 10? The the drivers have had issues with dx7 and 8 games for a few years, for me only 2/3 of the screen will show
This includes DOSBox which defaults to "surface" rendering which I assume is some kind of DX rendering.

The Intel problem doesn't seem to affect dx6 and 9, glide wrappers and opengl. I assume dx10 also... I haven't hadn't any issues with DOSBox with it in opengl mode
Intel 4770K 4.4GHz | 8GB DDR3 2133MHz | AMD 390X | 750GB EVO SSD
Intel E8500 3.1GHz | 3GB DDR2 | Nvidia GeForce 645 1024MB | 750GB HDD
Slot A Athlon 800MHz | 256MB PC100 | Voodoo 3 2000 | SB Live! 5.1
User avatar
Almoststew1990
Member
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2017-3-14 @ 19:48
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby realnc » 2018-12-06 @ 23:23

Download dxwebsetup from Microsoft:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... aspx?id=35

Run it and then try again. Hopefully this was the problem.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 239
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby careyclanton » 2018-12-07 @ 06:51

ovvldc wrote:Why are you asking in a DOSBox forum about a game that you are running on Windows XP or later? On a 64bit system no less?



I was hoping some expert here might be able to tell me why I have a bunch of games that crash just like DOSBox does for me, except when output=opengl or openglnb. It could be useful for DOSBox developers also, maybe?

Dominus wrote:@carey: sounds like graphics drivers


I do have the latest drivers. I have downloaded a legacy driver from Nvidia, where they have all of the drivers from this year. (The games worked earlier this year, at least some did for sure anyway). I haven't had the chance to try it out, though I'm not optimistic, considering they crash with the intel processor also. Mostly I haven't tried because I'm away travelling most of the time and I don't want to muck up the rig while on a long stretch. I'll run major updates at a better opportunity for me, in case something goes wrong.

Almoststew1990 wrote:Does the PC use intel graphics on Windows 7 8 or 10? The the drivers have had issues with dx7 and 8 games for a few years, for me only 2/3 of the screen will show
This includes DOSBox which defaults to "surface" rendering which I assume is some kind of DX rendering.

The Intel problem doesn't seem to affect dx6 and 9, glide wrappers and opengl. I assume dx10 also... I haven't hadn't any issues with DOSBox with it in opengl mode



Its Windows 10. The Nvidia control panel is set to let Nvidia pick the preferred processor for each program. I've tried manually setting it to each processor with the same result. Its mostly 2d games from XP and before, although SimCity 3000 starts but doesnt display correctly. I think these games used DirectDraw and maybe it has been broken or removed?

Qbix wrote:maybe missing directx9 or some corruption in your graphics drivers. (igdumdim32 seems to indicate you have some sort of intel card)
I suggest updating your graphics card drivers. (by going to the intel website)
realnc wrote:Download dxwebsetup from Microsoft:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... aspx?id=35

Run it and then try again. Hopefully this was the problem.


All up to date and nothing works for these games. So maybe wait for a Windows emulator for Windows? Is something like that ever likely? Hopefully the OpenGL support doesn't also break on DOSBox or I'll be stuck hunting down old hardware. Its cool when the game rights holders themselves update their stuff to stay running, sometimes even adding cool features (though I think maybe they should allow people to shut any new features off, but I realize money, time, and interest put restraints on what they are willing to do). Id love to have a Windows emulator for Windows for this fantastic art.

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll definitely report back if I figure anything out.
careyclanton
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-05 @ 05:22

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby DosFreak » 2018-12-07 @ 09:55

I really think something is broken with your system. I haven't been able to replicate this issue. If you have a spare HD I'd stick it in your system and install a clean Windows 10 1803 (with no updates) and no other driver except the latest Intel and Nvidia video drivers from their respective sites (not from the laptop website) and try your games. If everything works then you know your other install is broken.

If you can't or will not do the above then for the Windows games try dgvoodoo2 which can emulate <=D3D8. For games that don't work with dgvoodoo2 post in the dgvoodoo forum.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9972
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby careyclanton » 2018-12-09 @ 00:40

DosFreak wrote:I really think something is broken with your system. I haven't been able to replicate this issue. If you have a spare HD I'd stick it in your system and install a clean Windows 10 1803 (with no updates) and no other driver except the latest Intel and Nvidia video drivers from their respective sites (not from the laptop website) and try your games. If everything works then you know your other install is broken.

If you can't or will not do the above then for the Windows games try dgvoodoo2 which can emulate <=D3D8. For games that don't work with dgvoodoo2 post in the dgvoodoo forum.


I think you are probably right. I know that several of these games worked fine on this system earlier this year, but I can't pinpoint what change was made to cause it. I'm definitely going to try out the dgvoodoo2 first chance I get. I think that looks awesome. Thank you very much. As for a clean Windows install, that will be a last resort, but I am actually willing. I'll have to figure out exactly how first and I won't be doing that for months at any rate, but when I get this figured out I'll check back in and let you all know. Thanks very much in the meantime and if anyone thinks of anything else, I'd much appreciate to hear about it.
careyclanton
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-05 @ 05:22

Re: output=opengl ONLY

Postby careyclanton » 2018-12-11 @ 03:04

DosFreak wrote:I really think something is broken with your system. I haven't been able to replicate this issue. If you have a spare HD I'd stick it in your system and install a clean Windows 10 1803 (with no updates) and no other driver except the latest Intel and Nvidia video drivers from their respective sites (not from the laptop website) and try your games. If everything works then you know your other install is broken.

If you can't or will not do the above then for the Windows games try dgvoodoo2 which can emulate <=D3D8. For games that don't work with dgvoodoo2 post in the dgvoodoo forum.



OK, i just got to try out dgvoodoo2 and the first game started up and ran perfectly. The second has started up but itsn't displaying correctly yet, but I'm optimistic now. Thank you very much!
careyclanton
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-05 @ 05:22


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmarsh and 6 guests