VOGONS

Common searches

132 characters on a line

Topic actions

First post, by rustybutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm a newbie to dosbox. I've run it on both Ubuntu 6.06 and Win XP. Pretty cool. The application I want to run is the old Ashton-Tate product called Framework, which was a character-based windowing based integrated office package - spreadsheet, word processing, etc. It was nothing short of amazing in 1984!

It seems to run OK under dosbox, but now I'd like to run it with a screen that is 132 characters wide, not the standard 80. More characters means more "real estate" in Framework. I used to do that with SVGA mode on a 14" SVGA monitor way back when.

Is there some way to do that with dosbox? Is this a matter of fonts? Is there a commercial add-on that I could buy which would do the trick?

Do you Ubunutu?

Reply 1 of 25, by Srecko

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

How did you set that character mode back then? it might be possible in dosbox as well. This, as far as I know, should be done using INT10 interfaces, and I'm not sure if that would actually would work in "vanilla" Dosbox. But in that case you might get better compatibility with Univbe.

Reply 2 of 25, by Kippesoep

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

In real DOS, you could type "MODE CON COLS=132 LINES=50" and it would enter 132 column by 50 lines mode, if supported by the graphics card. This still works in NTVDM, (but usually only for windowed mode).

My site: Ramblings on mostly tech stuff.

Reply 3 of 25, by rustybutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

OK guys, you caught me feeling like a newbie here. I'm not hip to univbe or ntvdm. Please tell me about both/either. If I could get this thing to work with 132x50 (or better even!) that would really make my day!

Do you Ubunutu?

Reply 4 of 25, by Kippesoep

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

NTVDM is the NT Virtual DOS Machine (in the simplest terms, think of it as the Command Prompt inside Windows XP).