VOGONS

Common searches

Starting screen position

Topic actions

First post, by acefox

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm very new to Dosbox, so I apologize in advance if this question/issue is very basic- only I did not find any topics on it in the Search.

Whenever I run Dosbox in fullscreen, the screen position is offset slightly down and to the right. The result is that some parts of the screen are not displayed. Obviously, I could adjust the monitor to move the screen into place, but every other program I run displays normally (whether in Windows XP, or even emulator programs like ScummVM). So I know it's specific to DosBox.

I'm using the defaults for the dosbox.conf file which is using fullresolution and windows resolution set to original; but regardless of whatever resolution I choose, I notice there is still an offset. The resolution seems fine, so I don't think that's the issue.

Reply 1 of 20, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Fullscreen switches (can switch) to a different mode, and obviously your
monitor is badly adjusted for this mode. Just use the buttons of your
monitor and move the screen to the right position (the setting should be
remembered by your monitor).

Reply 2 of 20, by acefox

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hmm- Interesting. Thanks! That did the trick, and didn't affect the screen position for any other program (Windows, ScummVM, etc.)

So pardon my "caveman astonishment" but how does it work? I'm guessing that the Display settings are saved for each program by the OS.. I can't imagine the monitor actually saving the settings for each "profile".

Reply 3 of 20, by MiniMax

User metadata
Rank Moderator
Rank

It is in the monitor. How do you suppose the monitor was going to tell your PC about the adjustments you made?

DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions

Reply 4 of 20, by Lofty

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank