Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby sev7en » 2011-9-02 @ 12:48

Hi,
thanks for this guide but I don't understand the step where you speak about to "check the GS DOSBox support": how do I do to enable it?

If I follow the guide the install can't recognize a GS adapter!


Thanks
sev7en
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2011-9-02 @ 12:42

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby porjay » 2012-9-05 @ 05:12

Hello,

Using dosbox 0.74 (latest d-fend reloaded) I downloaded "FULLY UPDATED ULTRASND FOLDER" from the OP which I have placed on my C:\

I am using the updated Pro Patches Lite 1.61 & have renamed the folder to ULTRASND.

I have enabled GUS in the options but when I go to launch ultramid.exe I receive the error:
"configuration file not in $(ULTRADIR)/midi directory"
User avatar
porjay
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-12-02 @ 06:07

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Neville » 2012-9-05 @ 13:30

It could be a mounting mistake. Most frontends mount game folders as C:\ , and then you should place the ULTRAMID folder inside the game folder.

Also make sure to extract the AUTOEXEC.BAT and CONFIG.SYS from the package (folder DOS, I think) into whatever folder you mount as C:\
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 983
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby porjay » 2012-9-06 @ 05:09

Yep as Neville states. I have put my ultrasnd folder in the same directory as my dos games. Keep the directory C:\ULTRASND as the default just ensure you launch the ultramid.exe from where you real ultrasnd is sitting.

Thanks for the pro tip Neville
User avatar
porjay
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-12-02 @ 06:07

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Dr. Rabbit » 2012-10-17 @ 10:28

Hello,

I seem to have some sort of issue as I'm unable to get the installer to actually install anything. I've done everything as instructed on the first page; I've created the folder to C:/DOS, which I assume means an actual DOS named folder on my actual C:/ drive, with all the files from the archive extracted there, mounted it as C:/ inside DOSBox (mount C C:/DOS), ran INSTALL.EXE from the GUS410 folder, then chose the "Restore File(s)" option with the "*.*" parameter to restore everything, done that and then when I tried to run the "Install UltraSound Software" from the installer it just says "Unable to Determine Card Type, Install cannot determine the UltraSound card type installed" no matter what I try. In the same error message it suggests trying to run CONSCAN.EXE to check for conflicts with IO ports, and that program says that ports 220, 230 and 240 are not safe for a synth base (DOSBox GUS is mapped to port 240 and SB to port 220, but I've disabled SB and I don't know what uses port 230, so...) and the rest of the ports are fine for base GUS or MAX. I don't understand really any of this, so what gives?

EDIT: I just tried to create a DOS folder inside my main mounted C:/ drive and run it from there, didn't help.
I just realized I chose the wrong username.
User avatar
Dr. Rabbit
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-4-10 @ 21:36
Location: In a basement in Austria

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Dominus » 2012-10-17 @ 11:48

did you enable GUS in the dosbox config?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7566
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Dr. Rabbit » 2012-10-18 @ 22:24

Of course, enabled and pointed to a valid ULTRASND folder with all the files from HuggyBaby's Ready-to-Use configuration. As said I've also disabled all other sound cards, namely Sound Blaster and mpu-401, which is why the port conflicts are strange to me.
I just realized I chose the wrong username.
User avatar
Dr. Rabbit
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-4-10 @ 21:36
Location: In a basement in Austria

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Gamecollector » 2012-10-18 @ 23:46

Yeah, this is the known problem with DOSBox - GUS software 4.x is conflicting with the GUS i/o in the dosbox.conf.
The solution is - install GUS software 3.59, then upgrade it to 4.11, install ultrinit 2.31.
Still, the Ultramix isn't working.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-10-30 @ 19:41

I've tried to make this work with GSPlay (a DOS-based midi player that supports various GS and GM devices and modules, including the Ultrasound)
I've set it correctly to the GUS mode, and also I made sure that I initialised with ultramid, but it seems to not make any sound, just plays the files and outputs the notes on the screen. Any fix for this?
I use the pre-made pack that was provided here. Also the base, IRQ and DMA are set to DosBox's default (240, 5, 3)
and the "ultradir" parameter in the .conf file is pointing correctly to the ULTRASND folder.
I also tried ultrainit just in case but that one reports not being able to locate an Gravis UltraSound at the ports specified in the enviroment and directs me to run setup, which also says that the 240 base is unavailable for the GUS, and no matter what I change in the DosBox settings, the port that's taken is always reported as unavailable.
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2013-10-30 @ 21:49

If you're changing the MIDI_INTERFACE in GSPLAY.CFG to "GUS", you're telling GSPLAY to use the MIDI OUT on the GUS's gameport, and that's obviously not going to work in DOSBox. Because you're loading UltraMID, I'm guessing you want GSPLAY to use the GUS digital music synthesis, and for that you'll need the MegaEm "driver".

I haven't tried to use MegaEm in DOSBox, so not sure if (or how well) it will work. IIRC, you'll have to load the EMM386 memory manager from MSDOS, because MegaEm uses EMM386's port-trapping API and DOSBox doesn't implement that in its internal EMM support.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4188
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-10-30 @ 22:37

I wasn't aware of that, I thought the GUS option under MIDI_INTERFACE was supposed to play through GUS' own synth.

Isn't there any other way around the EMM386 solution?
To put it simply, I just wanted to play midi files like playmidi.exe in the GUS folder in gsplay or any other midi player. I have a feeling the former sends midi events incorrectly, as drums sound horrendously wrong, at least when emulated, never heard how the real hardware performs.
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2013-10-30 @ 23:01

I'm not aware of any other solution for what you're trying to do. You need MegaEm, and MegaEm needs EMM386. It is possible to load EMM386 within DOSBox's internal DOS by using a command-line device driver loading utility, but booting real DOS gives the best compatibility.

If you do try to get MegaEm working in DOSBox to use with GSPLAY and other MIDI players, please report how it turns out.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4188
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-10-30 @ 23:32

Any tips on what utility to use to load EMM386, also can I use JEMM instead? Or do I have to rip a EMM386 copy from a specific dos version?
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2013-10-30 @ 23:44

Dunno if JEMM will work, but I guess it can't hurt to try. :) For EMM386 you should try the one from DOS 5.0 and/or 6.22.

I have a program named DEVICE.COM that loads device drivers from the command line. It works with EMM386 in DOSBox, but I've forgotten where I found it.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4188
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-10-30 @ 23:58

Well perhaps you could send over your copy? =P
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Huggybaby » 2013-10-31 @ 00:10

It's been a long time but I'm pretty sure MegaEm worked for me in DosBox.
Huggybaby
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-9-22 @ 01:41

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-10-31 @ 18:20

Huggybaby wrote:It's been a long time but I'm pretty sure MegaEm worked for me in DosBox.


That's great, but could you tell me the steps you took to make it work? =)
Oh, and by the way, thanks for the guide! =D
Is there any way to bring back the screenshots though?
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Huggybaby » 2013-11-01 @ 01:51

Well, I'm not positive I got it working, it's been a long time, so I can't tell you anything about it.

The screenshots are lost, I should have saved them but didn't realize how ridiculously short lived picture hosters are. Or file hosters of any type for that matter.

I'm so rusty with DOSBox now that I'm not sure I could even recreate those pics. I'm just glad the files still live, they were almost dead to the internet before I managed to resurrect them.
Huggybaby
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-9-22 @ 01:41

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby ThesaurusRex » 2014-6-05 @ 15:08

Okay, I don't understand this. How do you 'point' DOSbox to the fully updated ULTRASND folders? I'm completely inexperienced with this sort of thing and have no idea what that means. I wish the OP could have given a simple instruction on how to do that for a newbie like me :depressed:
ThesaurusRex
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-3-26 @ 09:46

Re: Install Gravis Ultrasound Properly, All files, No Errors (With Pictures!)

Postby Teppic » 2014-6-18 @ 08:25

ThesaurusRex wrote:Okay, I don't understand this. How do you 'point' DOSbox to the fully updated ULTRASND folders? I'm completely inexperienced with this sort of thing and have no idea what that means. I wish the OP could have given a simple instruction on how to do that for a newbie like me :depressed:

In the rar file you download there's a folder called "Gravis ULTRASND Files". In that folder there's two folders, one called "ULTRASND411" and the other "ULTRASNDPPL161". 411 is without the pro patches and PPL161 with them.

For easier use with DOSBox I would advice you to rename the folders to only have 8 characters. I named my "ULTRASND411" to just ULTRASND and the "ULTRASNDPPL161" folder to ULTRAPRO.

Put the two folders in the same place as the rest of your dos games. For example c:\dosgames

Go to your DOSBox configuration file and look for the section that says [gus]. Under it you'll find a line that says ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

If you want to use the standard GUS the folder should be named ULTRASND as above, or change it to ULTRAPRO if you want to use the pro patches. You can't have both at the same time, so you'll have to change it in the config if you want to switch beteen them. Pro patches breaks compatibility for some games, so it's good to have both.

If done correctly you should find the folder in DOSBox by typing c: and then cd c:\ultrasnd
Teppic
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2009-6-01 @ 22:31

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron