Approximately how effective is dosbox

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Approximately how effective is dosbox

Postby Erian » 2003-9-06 @ 10:47

in terms of emulation speed?

Just curious, since I have speed problems with Master of Magic with my Athlon 1000.

(I've increaed cycles as recommended in the readme/FAQ and used frameskip in different strengths)

Not complaining about lack of efficiency or anything (I don't have a clue how one would emulate a DOS environment, and what demands it makes :)), I'm just wondering what kind of computer one needs to run most games on Dosbox.

(I've been using 0.58 on Linux with X-Windows)
Erian
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2003-9-06 @ 10:22

Postby Qbix » 2003-9-06 @ 12:48

i guess a factor 35

you should know that we don't only emulate a dos enviroment. We emulate a full pc (like bochs but then with shortcuts;)

So that's why it "slow"
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10914
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Postby iampiti » 2003-9-06 @ 14:52

My personal experience....
is that DOSBOX on my PIII 800 MHz runs games faster than my old 386 sx 33 MHz.
But I guess it's not much faster than that.

Just my 2 cents.
Iampiti
iampiti
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 10:30


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 2 guests