VOGONS

Common searches


DOSBOX stuck my windows please help

Topic actions

First post, by dj_anubis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

hello everyone

I have a REALLY BIG problem with dosbox 0.73 and I really hope you can help me.

when I play a game under dos box (i tried EXTREME PINBALL, PINBALL FANTASIES, SANGO FIGHTER, FIRE & ICE and many more games...) and after a while I want to quit, so I press CTRL+F9

and then the problem start

when I press CTRL+F9 the game freezes, BUT I cant see the desktop, the game is stuck when i press CTRL+ALT+DEL I get the WINDOWS TASK MANAGER but not in windows resolution, I get it in the game resolution

when i press thw "WINDOWS KEY"+D i cant see the desktop because thew game is in front

so at the end I MUST RESTART!!!

This is really annoying problem, it happens 90% of the time i have no idea why sometime it work and sometime it crash

I tried to change the outoput in the dosbox.conf to SURFACE then I tried DDRAW, and then I tried OPENGL, BUT THEY ALL STUCK MY WINDOWS

I put you here my dosbox.conf please help me solve this nightmare:

all my games have the same dosbox.conf

# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.73.
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
# fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output: What video system to use for output.
# Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
# autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized. (pause is only valid for the second entry)
# Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
# mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
# usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=opengl
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
# machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
# Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
# memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
# This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
# though few games might require a higher value.
# There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=vgaonly
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
# aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes. If 'forced' is appended,the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
# Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=true
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
# core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
# Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
# cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
Show last 169 lines
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
# cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond. Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags. Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
# 'auto' tries to guess what a game needs.
# It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
# 'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
# (Example: fixed 4000)
# 'max' will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle
#
# Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
# cycleup: Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
# Possible values: 2048, 4096, 8192, 1024, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
# mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
# Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use. See README for details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
# sbtype: Type of sblaster to emulate.
# Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, none.
# sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
# Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
# oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat or old might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
# Possible values: default, compat, fast, old.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
# Possible values: 22050, 49716, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=22050

[gus]
# gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
# Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
# 2axis (supports two joysticks),
# 4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
# 4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
# fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
# none disables joystick emulation.
# auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
# Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
# timed: enable timed intervals for axis. (false is old style behaviour).
# autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
# swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
# buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
# Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
# parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq.
# for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
# (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
# for modem: listenport (optional).
# for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
# transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
# Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms: Enable XMS support.
# ems: Enable EMS support.
# umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

Thank you
waiting for reply...

Reply 1 of 35, by eL_PuSHeR

User metadata
Rank Moderator
Rank
Moderator

It must be a problem with your videocard drivers. Do you have it up to date?

What video hardware do you have?

Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)

Reply 2 of 35, by dj_anubis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

well in my opinion it was because i had a joystice connected, when I change to joystick = none it didn`t happened anymore, (touch wood 😀 )if this problem occur again i will ask again for help

thank you

Reply 5 of 35, by boyofdestiny

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I don't have Windows, but why not try the Escape button or whatever exit mechanism the game used back in its original dos days. In the dos prompt after exiting the game, type exit and hit enter. DOSBox should close cleanly.

Just using ctrl+f9 would be like hitting the power button on your dos computer 20 years ago. Maybe the video mode (or whatever) is what is "getting stuck" and you can avoid this with DOSBox exiting cleanly?

You are 199k RAM short of having enough memory.
You need to buy more memory or remove any memory resident programs, Dude.
-- California Games v 1.01 2/23/88

Reply 8 of 35, by dj_anubis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So today I played DIGGER at full screnn and press CTRL+F9 and the windows stuck again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I need your help, I can`t stand it anymore, it happends randomly so I cant find the reason whats wrong

My computer is quad core with 4 gb of memory so I cant see why this problem happening

I think that if I will press ALT+ENTER (go to window mode) and then press CTRL+F9 the windows wont get stuck BUT I HATE THIS WAY!!!

I want to quit the game in 0.1 seconds

Please help me...🙁

Reply 9 of 35, by rcblanke

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

dj_anubis, is it really necessary to use machine=vgaonly for the games you play? Does the problem also manifest itself when using the default setting, machine=svga_s3 ?

Reply 10 of 35, by dj_anubis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

when I played it under the defaukt it crashed a lot so i tried to change it, I will try to change it again, DOSBOX really making me mad lately

And I dont see why it is matter if its svga or vga I mean the dosbox support it so whats the problem

Reply 11 of 35, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Boot your windows in safe mode and try to replicate your issue.

If it works then you have a driver/video card hardware problem.

DOSBox Compilation Guides
DosBox Feature Request Thread
PC Game Compatibility List
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Running DRM games offline

Reply 13 of 35, by dj_anubis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

well my friends, it has been long time since i poster this thread

BUT NO GOOD

even though I am using DOSBOX 0.74, created the conf file with config -writeconf dosbox.conf

even though I updated yesterday my nvidia drivers

the problem happends again

let me explain whats happen

the game itself runs perfect until the moment I try to exit IT DOESNT MATTER IF I PRESS CTRL F9 OR QUITING THE THE GAME MENU if i play more then 3 -4 minutes the game will freeze

Then when I press ctrl alt del I can see only the taskbar in the game resolution

and I have to PHYSICALLY press on the RESET button

any ideas how to solve it?

Reply 14 of 35, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

and I have to PHYSICALLY press on the RESET button

Check your system (overheating etc.), if a usermode application can bring
your OS down it's pretty broken already. Not related to dosbox.

Reply 17 of 35, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Your system is ok? How did you test that? In-depth memtest, stress graphics benchmarks?

Guess you already tried the suggestions posted in this thread, like what DOSFreak asked you to do.