Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby DigitalX5115 » 2010-10-26 @ 16:28

Okay so I installed dosbox and it worked fine, then i noticed that dosbox logo was taking over most of the icons on the desktop and now when i try to run anything it opens dosbox. So i tried uninstalling it bit it was trying to uninstall in dosbox and said it couldn't open the file. So i tried deleting the dosbox files to kill the program, that worked but now the programs that were trying to open in dosbox are just blank and don't know what to open with... How do i get rid of dosbox all together?

i also tried system restore and it didnt know what to open with, so thats out.

someone plz help!
DigitalX5115
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-10-26 @ 16:19

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby ADDiCT » 2010-10-26 @ 16:57

I'm either having a deja vu, or a post with the exact same wording and/or topic was already made some time ago. Couldn't find it now though, I don't know how to use the search function properly (Ahem...).

Anyway, DOSBox definitely didn't mess up anything. That's utter nonsense. Tens or even hundreds of thousands of people have installed DOSBox, and it certainly didn't mess up their computers.

The possibilites are:
a) you messed up your computer yourself
b) some other program messed up your computer
c) you computer and/or OS was messed up to begin with

Experience suggests that a) is most likely the case. You've failed to supply any useful information (like for example which OS you're using, which DOSBox version, etc.), but my amazing powers of deduction tell me that you're probably on some incarnation of Windows. It looks like you've told Windows to open all either .exe (unlikely) or .lnk (more likely) files with DOSBox. That was a mistake, obviously. Can't remember how to fix that now, though. If you fiddle with the forum search you'll probably be able to find the solution.
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-26 @ 16:57

Maybe try running CCleaner's registry cleaner.

ADDiCT: Sounded familiar to me too, like something that had come up a couple years ago maybe.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby Qbix » 2010-10-26 @ 17:19

I think you right clicked on an exe and selected run with dosbox.
This comes up on our email every month or so.
This is NOT how you should use dosbox, nor do we say so in our documentation.

Search for (in google) exe association fix
or something similar. Good luck
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-26 @ 17:26

User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby DigitalX5115 » 2010-10-26 @ 18:24

nothing is working here, i can get into the registry in safe mode but so far everything ive tried hasnt done anything. The "open with" box pops up when i click on anything
DigitalX5115
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-10-26 @ 16:19

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby wd » 2010-10-26 @ 18:28

As QBix said this is NOT caused by installing DOSBox but by the user force-associating
executables with some program (in this case DOSBox).
So search the web for "what do i do if i've told windows to open executables
with a different program" if the posted links above don't help.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby Miki Maus » 2010-10-26 @ 18:42

Just google "open with dosbox" and you will see the cause of this issue.
User avatar
Miki Maus
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2004-10-18 @ 22:19
Location: Cave

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby ADDiCT » 2010-10-27 @ 06:18

Thanks HunterZ, those were the threads I was looking for! One day I will understand how to use the search function properly.

Hmmm... Would it make sense to add a "Don't do this!"-line about associating DOSBox with .exe files in the DOSBox manual? The issue obviously doesn't crop up very often compared to others, but we could maybe save other users from making the same mistake (and wrongly accusing DOSBox of being the source of the problem).
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby Qbix » 2010-10-27 @ 06:25

if they read the manual, they would never have done that in the first place...
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-27 @ 14:19

Qbix wrote:if they read the manual, they would never have done that in the first place...

Not without an explicit warning... Saying that you can/should do something one way is not necessarily the same thing as saying that you can't/shouldn't to do it another.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby wd » 2010-10-27 @ 15:08

Does photoshop have this warning in the help file?
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-27 @ 15:12

That question is irrelevant on so many levels.
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby wd » 2010-10-27 @ 15:17

That means no, and guess this was the result of the adobe guys talking about
whether they should care about people who set PS as default application for executables.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-27 @ 15:33

- Noone would ever be inclined to do that because PS doesn't process executables. I'll bet that people *do* bug them all the time about how to undo association of image files with PS, though!

- Should people start doing that en-masse for some reason, Adobe *would* likely address it on a wide level because they have to care about making money from the reputation of their product.

Case in point: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/315/315812.html
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby wd » 2010-10-27 @ 15:39

Should people start doing that en-masse for some reason

I don't see a lot people doing that with dosbox.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-27 @ 15:41

So then you won't mind politely fielding the question when it comes up every few months here on the forums.
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby wd » 2010-10-27 @ 17:07

Yeah. Everything's already been said in the referenced threads.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby HunterZ » 2010-10-27 @ 18:56

I guess your original response in this thread was pretty congenial compared to the average wd post ;)
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6081
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Dosbox messed up my computer HELP

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-9-04 @ 15:39

RobertCaseyDavis wrote:None of you even tried to answer the question, you only mocked the person who asked. I registered an account on this forum just to tell you all you're worthless and can go to Hell.


Nice thread necro for a thread whose last post was 9 years ago.

And the answers did tell the poster what they needed to do to get the information to fix it.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot] and 2 guests