VOGONS

Common searches

Best OS for DOSBOX

Topic actions

First post, by rapidrickc

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I have the option of dedicating a physical drive to gaming and need to know which version of Windows is the least troublesome for use with DOSBOX and late DOS flight simulator games such as F-15 2&3, F-117 Stealth, Falcon 3 & 4, Strike Commander, A-10 Tank Killer 2 and Viper Racing.
My hardware is an Asus M2N-SLI mobo with 4gb RAM, AMD Athalon 64x2 Dual core 5600+ CPU (2.8 Ghz), an EVGA 8600 GT video card, a Sound Blaster X-FI Extreme audio card and a HP w2408 Widescreen Flat Panel monitor.

In addition, is there any possibility of getting my hardware or DOSBOX to recognize my Thrustmaster dedicated gameport card? I have a full Thrustmaster flight control setup including rudders, but no USB flight controls.

Reply 1 of 38, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator

I'd go for XP.

In addition, is there any possibility of getting my hardware or DOSBOX to recognize my Thrustmaster dedicated gameport card? I have a full Thrustmaster flight control setup including rudders, but no USB flight controls.

if the host system (XP) recognizes the game controller, then Dosbox *should* be able to use it as well.

Windows 3.1x guide for DOSBox
60 seconds guide to DOSBox
DOSBox SVN snapshot for macOS (10.4-11.x ppc/intel 32/64bit) notarized for gatekeeper

Reply 3 of 38, by Aideka

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

If you are using gameport, then stay away from all 64bit windows OS!! Gameports simply don´t work with them. Getting gameport functioning with 32bit Vista and Windows 7 is also a bit of a hassle, but in some cases it is possible. I would go with 32 bit Windows XP Pro, since it supports gameports, is thoroughly tested over the years, and has possibly the most impressive amount of drivers made for it.

8zszli-6.png

Reply 4 of 38, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++