VOGONS

Common searches

DosBox on Mac -- questions

Topic actions

First post, by Arwen4CJ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello all -- I'm new to both Mac and DosBox. I don't really understand Dos.

I'd like to run King's Quest games in DosBox on the Mac. I have Windows XP in VMware Fusion, and have installed the games there. I have installed an installation thing from the Sierra Help website for the 1997 King's Quest Collection as well as a patch for the 2006 collection.

I copied these files into Finder.

I was told that I needed to edit the Windows paths so that they would run on Mac. Being unfamiliar with DosBox, Dos, I'm not really sure what I need to change.

The programs are in Finder, and they're in my username, then Sierra...and then...

the 1997 ones are in a folder called King's Quest Collection Series.
the individual games are in folders within that folder called
Kings Quest 1
Kings Quest 1 SCI
Kings Quest 2
Kings Quest 3
Kings Quest 4
Kings Quest 5
Kings Quest 6
Kings Quest 7

the 2006 ones are in a folder called King's Quest Collection(TM)
the individual games are in folders within that folder called
KQ1SCI
KQ2
KQ3
KQ4
KQ5
KQ6
KQ7

I'd like each game to play if I double click on it in Finder and go right into the game, without me having to type in any Dos stuff...as they play in Window with these installation (1997) and the patch (2006).

Is anyone able to help me with this? Thank you.

Reply 1 of 36, by Mau1wurf1977

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You might be better off using a DOSBox frontent. They are meant to hide all the "typing stuff" and make it easier...

My website with reviews, demos, drivers, tutorials and more...
My YouTube channel

Reply 3 of 36, by Arwen4CJ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

You might be better off using a DOSBox frontent. They are meant to hide all the "typing stuff" and make it easier...

Thanks, but I don't know what a DOSBox frontent is.