VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by daffers234

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello everyone! I've been using DOSBox for years to enjoy my fave old games, but I've never tried recording before. Now I am running into some problems. I've searched around but could not find any useful information for my system and version. (All my info is clumped at the end of this post.) What happens is that the video records and plays perfectly fine, but there is no sound at all - no music, no sound effects, nothing. I have tried all the online tips to get the sound to work, but no dice.

As you can guess by my post's title, I have not been able to install the codec for DOSBox. I followed the instructions but when I try to install, I get an error message that says "Setup cannot copy the file zmbv.inf" and a request to change the destination and "insert 'Zip Motion Block Video codec' into it. I messed around with it for longer than was necessary and could not get the codec installed.

Part of the problem seems to be my OS ... I am using Windows 8 (a brand new laptop was a present last Christmas) and I can ONLY find information for Windows 7 and older versions. Another problem is that the links and tips I found were for older DOSBox versions and the items didn't seem to work and I hate to download/install another one on the off-chance that it'll help. I obviously don't know too much about computers (if I did I'd just figure it out myself). Many of the helpful messages were too technical for me. I tried to find just the .inf file and move it myself but all I can find is something called Setup Information and a .dll that I cannot do anything with.

Please pardon my ignorance. I'm sure it's really simple, I'm just stuck. If ANYONE can help me, I would greatly appreciate it. If you need further information or can help, let me know! Thanks!

Here's my info:
SYSTEM: Windows 8 (I use Classic Shell)
VERSION: DOSBox-0.74
DETAILS: Uses default settings

Reply 1 of 11, by LotBlind