Intel HD Graphics 4600

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby AdamP » 2017-12-13 @ 04:00

Hi,

The new Intel HD Graphics 4600 drivers appear to screw DOSBox (0.74) up: in fullscreen, the screen flickers and disappears. Resetting DOSBox options had no effect, nor did reinstalling DOSBox. I rollbacked the driver and all is well again. Is there a workaround for this, in case Windows 10 decides to update the driver again? Or did I miss something?

Thanks

EDIT: I should probably add that I'm currently using driver version 20.19.15.4531 (dated 29/09/2016), which is working fine.
AdamP
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2009-8-21 @ 18:12
Location: England

Re: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby AdamP » 2017-12-13 @ 23:16

AdamP wrote:Is there a workaround for this, in case Windows 10 decides to update the driver again?


Yep, Windows has just gone and automatically reupdated the driver without prompting or anything, and yes, the problem has returned.

Is there a way to disable this?
AdamP
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2009-8-21 @ 18:12
Location: England

Re: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby schmatzler » 2017-12-13 @ 23:57

Yes, there is a tool provided by Microsoft for disabling the updates for a specific driver:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -in-window
schmatzler
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2017-1-08 @ 00:44

Re: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby AdamP » 2017-12-14 @ 00:08

schmatzler wrote:Yes, there is a tool provided by Microsoft for disabling the updates for a specific driver:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -in-window


Thanks. I tried that, but this device doesn't appear. What's also strange is that DOSBox appears to be set to use the NVIDIA processor rather than this integrated device :confused: (at least, it says that NVIDIA is the default device for the program). If it is using NVIDIA, appears to be working fine at the moment (although I have rollbacked the Intel driver again).
AdamP
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2009-8-21 @ 18:12
Location: England

Re: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby DosFreak » 2017-12-14 @ 00:41

What's the driver ver that doesn't work? Are you using the drivers provided by Windows Update or have you tried downloading the latest driver from Intel?
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"Who's got time to read all the way down to the bottom of an email?"
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9538
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Postby AdamP » 2017-12-14 @ 00:53

DosFreak wrote:What's the driver ver that doesn't work? Are you using the drivers provided by Windows Update or have you tried downloading the latest driver from Intel?


I can't remember the number but I think it's dated October this year. Windows is just - automatically and without warning or asking - updating the driver (I know when it's doing this because the screen briefly turns blank and I think I also get "device unplugged" and "device plugged in" sounds). I have tried the procedure here, but I don't know if it'll work as it doesn't ask about drivers. What I don't get is that if it really is using NVIDIA, why would a driver update for the other graphics device cause this to happen? :confused: It appears to be using NVIDIA because I changed a setting (I think it was FXAA) there and there was a very noticeable difference in DOSBox.
AdamP
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2009-8-21 @ 18:12
Location: England


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: istellabot [Bot] and 3 guests