VOGONS

Common searches

Memory Use

Topic actions

First post, by Gene Wirchenko

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

This is a general question about memory use in DOSBox. I use DOSBox mainly to run a WordStar-style editor and a few utilities. I know that this is not the designed-for use.

I just tried to edit a file. The editor reported an out of memory error and would not load it. I thought that odd and tried another file which was even larger. That file loaded with no problem. I tried the first file again, and it failed again. Repeats did not help. I tried shutting down DOSBox and restarting it, and I was then able to load the first file.

What is going on?

I grant that it could be a bug in the editor.

When this situation happens (which is only occasionally), is there anything I can check in DOSBox?

I have been using DOSBox for many years, but I do not even know what I could check. Maybe, if DOSBox were not so reliable, I would already know how to do this. IME, DOSBox is a rather solid program.

Sincerely,

Gene Wirchenko

Reply 3 of 9, by BinaryDemon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Is there any chance the file you were trying to load was manipulated externally either by you or the host operating system (windows, linux, whatever your using)?

I think DOSBox assumes the files are not changing unless it's changing them, that's the whole reason for the shortcut:

CTRL-F4 Update cached information about mounted drives. Useful if you changed something on a mounted drive outside of DOSBox. Also cycles through disk images mounted using IMGMOUNT.

For instance if the file was 1024 bytes when DosBox was loaded and it was manipulated externally so that it was now 2048 bytes, I could see an application crashing because it's trying to load more data then it expected.

Check out DOSBox Distro:

https://sites.google.com/site/dosboxdistro/ [*]

a lightweight Linux distro (tinycore) which boots off a usb flash drive and goes straight to DOSBox.