GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-7-25 @ 20:38

I used the GUS emulation without any problem since the 0.74 and there wasn't any problem in 0.74-2 but there are a lot of error in the DOSBox 0.74-3 version!
Doesn't load voice samples for example in the basic GUS mididemo; and freezes samples in the SW Dark Forces (the drum froze and play the same all the time).
There weren't these problems in the older DOSBoxes!!!
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby Qbix » 2019-7-26 @ 05:13

Are you using the same settings ? (as the configuration file is tied to version of dosbox).
If so, which settings are you using ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-7-27 @ 01:43

Thanks the answer!
Yes, I use the same settings, I didn't change anything!

Which settings do I use in dosbox-0.74-3.conf or where?

gus=true
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\UTILS\GUS

I configured the GUS in DOSBox by what I found here at vogons
viewtopic.php?t=16974
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby Qbix » 2019-7-27 @ 06:20

The gus emulation itself is identical to the one in 0.74-2. Maybe the environment fixes interfere somehow. Do you have a lot of lines in your autoexec ?
the default configile is indeed dosbox-0.74-3.conf

*moved to dosbox General*
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-7-27 @ 21:02

i didn't modified the GUS config at all in dosbox.
This is my config edit in the .conf now:

---

„[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

SET PATH=C:\UTILS;C:\UTILS\GUS;C:\UTILS\DN;C:\UTILS\ZIP250;C:\UTILS\CDPLAYER;C:\UTILS\SEA;C:\UTILS\PSVIEW;

rem MOUNT a A:\ -t floppy
mount c F:\old\PCDOS
mount d K:\dosboxd
mount e N:\ -t cdrom
imgmount f K:\dosboxe\BAT2_CD\cd\bat2.bin -t cdrom
imgmount g E:\Games\PC_on_E\EWJ2_CD.cue -t iso
mixer CDAUDIO d-15 ; gus d-5
c:
dn
---

The F, G CD-ROMs are permanently, now.
The dosbox-0.74-3 does not load when I start the program a lot of time. I have to close it down and start again.
The SW Dark Forces GUS music gets problem in the into. I tried to change the digital channel to Sound Blaster but it didn't get anything better with the GUS music audio (because it is a different channel but I tried everything).
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-8-01 @ 21:50

I have tried on a Win7 system a 0.74 with the same DOSBox setup and the GUS problem exists there too!
SO, THE PROBLEM IS IN MY DOSBox - GUS setup!
I do not know what is the problem but it started when I updated the GUS software in DOSBox.
I think there isn't any problem with the DOSBox 0.74-3 GUS!!! I'M SORRY!
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-8-02 @ 23:34

I solved the problem when I download a complete ULTRASOUND directory (I do not know where can I check the version of this software) from the page
http://www.pc-freak.net/blog/enable-gra ... xperience/
because I had problems because I did everything what I read on the page
viewtopic.php?f=31&t=16974
but I can not use the 'Install UltraSound Software' after the 'Restore File(s)' option because it says 'Unable to Determine Card Type '.
I installed the previous GUS software version on 0.74 long ago and updated it (+ the Pro Patches) on 0.74-2 and I found the mentioned errors on 0.74-3.
Please, help me! What did I do wrong? Is what cause the 'Install UltraSound Software' error?
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby slx » 2019-8-05 @ 16:16

One more and final thing.
I downloaded an updated ULTRASND folder from here.
I found something what does not the same what I saw in a YT video. https://youtu.be/eyqBTeoeg6A?t=1331
There is a different instrument (midi note 13) in my GUS emulator what I hear in the video around at 22:12.
I hear like a (cow) bell in the video but there is something else in my DOSBox GUS emu. :(
https://youtu.be/-2h-WrQfytc
:D
User avatar
slx
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-10-19 @ 16:05

Re: GUS problem in DOSBox 0.74-3

Postby K.A.R.R. » 2019-8-14 @ 20:44

if it sounds different, it's because some people on yt use standard patches and some use pro patches lite
K.A.R.R.
Newbie
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2014-7-28 @ 19:08
Location: Germany


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests