Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-8-21 @ 18:24

Since there are a few DOS games that can not run under my system (even with SetMul) (Chaos Engine, Tyrian, Turrican 2), I was wondering if you guys can recommend a specific build that runs under Win98SE and my PIII-800MHz CPU.

Thanks!

My System specs:

PIII-800E
Abit BH-6
256MB SD-RAM PC100
AWE64 Gold
Sound Canvas 55 MKII


Windows 98SE (but I am using PhilComputerLabs', *pure* DOS option to play the launch the game from a DOS prompt)

SoftMPU
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-8-21 @ 18:47

All of them.
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
http://keenmaster486.github.io
IBM Thinkpad 600E, 560X, 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-8-21 @ 22:48

Really? I am going to give it try then!

Thanks!
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby DosFreak » 2019-8-21 @ 22:56

The current official versions of DOSBox work on Windows 95+ and are compiled with Mingw w/GCC.
The unofficial versions are usually compiled with versions of Visual Studio that don't support less than Windows XP.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10351
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-8-22 @ 00:24

I have been using the Korean developer's SVM DAUM which has support for Quick SAVE and Quick Load on my XP machine, and I love it. I am going to give it a try. I wish the official ones had support for Quick Save/Load as well!
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby kjliew » 2019-8-22 @ 00:46

C0deHunter wrote: I wish the official ones had support for Quick Save/Load as well!

Sorry to spoil your fun. Nope, that feature is not merged into official upstream DOSBox. If you really like it, then you will have to pick from the community builds or build your own by applying the patch.
kjliew
Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: 2004-1-08 @ 03:03

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-8-22 @ 08:48

Are we talking about this patch?

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=53116

Thanks!
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: Which DosBox version works on my PIII system?

Postby Tertz » 2019-9-01 @ 16:39

hint1: DOSBox on modern hardware is better to be used. Though P3 800 MHz should be enough for many games.
you may want lesser delays in action games. may need to reduce sound quality

hint2: if you don't want to install XP on P3, some LiveCD may to have it to run ykhwong's DOSBox
Tertz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 822
Joined: 2015-1-22 @ 21:44


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests