DOSBox Feature Request Thread

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby NY00123 » 2015-8-01 @ 10:31

red_avatar wrote:- better PC speaker emulation - I've been playing some PC speaker games lately and the sound really is nowhere near as cool as it sounded on a real PC speaker. Real PC speaker would use the computer case as a kind of hall - the sound would bounce off the insides causing a warmer, more vibrant sound. The emulated PC speaker sounds rather flat and dull compared to it. Even ignoring the effect of the reverberation inside the case, I got a feeling the emulation isn't quite right either?


I'm not sure we're talking about the same thing, but I also encountered a difference between DOSBox and the "real thing" in terms of PC Speaker emulation. Basically, while on a vintage PC you may be able to hear multiple distinct beeps of the same frequency in a row, they're basically fused to a single beep in DOSBox. Even if the frequencies aren't all the same, similar differences can be heard.

This can be spotted in various early Softdisk+Apogee titles, although it's especially clear at times in certain games, like Dangerous Dave, Catacomb, The Catacomb (Catacomb II) and Commander Keen 1-3.

I once had an attempt with a (possibly) surprisingly simple patch to DOSBox, aiming to fix the issue for Keen 1-3, although it does some unintended changes in other games: viewtopic.php?t=29603

About a couple of months later, ripa worked on an unrelated patch improving digitized sound playback, although he also incorporated a similar (and better) fix for the games above (should apply to revision 2 of the patch and later): viewtopic.php?p=244794#p244794
NY00123
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2010-2-13 @ 19:42

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Thraka » 2015-9-30 @ 19:58

I would like to add a feature request.

I want to be able to control DOSBox via the prompt inside of DOSBox. Being able to operate all of the shortcut keys that you use on the window would be helpful to do from the prompt.

Something like typing (dbc being short for dosbox config):
dbc cycles=1000

Additional ask
This may be a stretch but I would love to be able to load specific conf files from the prompt and have DOSBox reinitialize itself some how.
User avatar
Thraka
Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 12:16

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Qbix » 2015-9-30 @ 20:15

Maybe read the documentation ? You'd be surprised what you can find in there Thraka. Like the ability to change the cycles from the commandline
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10355
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Thraka » 2015-10-01 @ 01:07

Really?? Ugh.. Man I've looked at the docs for years and totally missed that section. Thanks Qbix. Sorry. :):):)
User avatar
Thraka
Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 12:16

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby JJJoseph » 2016-1-06 @ 06:02

This should be not too complicated. DOSbox loads with a second "DOSbox Status Window" underlying the main DOSbox screen. Sometimes the Status Window interferes with text input into the main DOSbox window. I'd like to have the option to hide or display the Status Window.
JJJoseph
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-1-05 @ 22:41

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Qbix » 2016-1-06 @ 07:36

maybe check what -noconsole does. ;)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10355
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Lucario » 2016-1-28 @ 22:22

Save states and wide screen hack
Image
User avatar
Lucario
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-1-28 @ 22:18

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby De-M-oN » 2016-1-28 @ 22:25

Lucario wrote:Save states and wide screen hack


http://ykhwong.x-y.net/
User avatar
De-M-oN
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-10-03 @ 14:48

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby autoexecdotbat » 2016-1-30 @ 00:14

1. support for multiple sound blaster cards at once (would be useful to Jaws for dos users)
2. support for various SB clones/compatibles (thunderboard, ESS audio drive, etc)
3. support for emulating hardware speech synthesizers (echo PC, votalker, artic etc)
"911, call wiliam shatner!"
-stinky from great word adventure 1994
autoexecdotbat
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: 2015-12-18 @ 22:10

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby autoexecdotbat » 2016-1-30 @ 00:20

also the ability to pass keys straight to dos box, bypassing the host OS (this would be particularly useful to those running windows on their DOS boxes)
"911, call wiliam shatner!"
-stinky from great word adventure 1994
autoexecdotbat
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: 2015-12-18 @ 22:10

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Lo Wang » 2016-2-19 @ 18:33

Arbitrary sample rate mixer output:

It's currently impossible to make vanilla DosBox output at any sample rate that isn't listed as a possible value, which thing forces the user to cope with the artifacts introduced by either downsampling or upsampling (also the default 44Khz fallback behavior) whenever the sample itself must be played back at a non-supported rate.

By allowing this, the stream could be handed over the audio driver/mixer (in my particular case, a transparent, low-latency one) so that the hardware itself may perform the resampling, which in turn produces a very high quality output (at least perceivably much higher than anything that can be achieved without sinc interpolation) on this computer, with the added bonus of less CPU cycles going to waste.

Best regards and sorry for any inconveniences.
User avatar
Lo Wang
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 2014-12-03 @ 05:28

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby awgamer » 2016-2-19 @ 22:14

pas(pro audio spectrum) support as there's some games where that's the best output. Don't need pas16 though, no case that I'm aware of where there aren't equivalent options like sb16.
awgamer
Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: 2014-7-26 @ 07:42

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Almagnus1 » 2016-4-18 @ 08:30

De-M-oN wrote:
Lucario wrote:Save states and wide screen hack


http://ykhwong.x-y.net/


Any chance that branch can be integrated into the base DOSBox?
Almagnus1
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-4-18 @ 08:29

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Dominus » 2016-4-18 @ 09:01

no chance at all. ykhwong is adding many different patches, many of which the developers said they will not add them.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7267
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Almagnus1 » 2016-4-19 @ 02:54

Is there a way to have the game display at 4:3 resolution, keep the resolution locked, yet black out the rest of the screen?

I'm thinking of a solution similar to how the various web streaming services handle older 4:3 aspect ration content on 1080p+ monitors, yet don't distort the content by stretching it.

A better solution would be to have the full screen be at native full screen to the monitor, while having DOSBox think it's running at it's native resolution of 640x480, stretch the window to fill up the screen, but again center and keep the original aspect ratio using black boxes to pad the image to the proper aspect ratio.

It's distracting going through some of my older games and not seeing them stretched when they shouldn't be.
Almagnus1
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-4-18 @ 08:29

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2016-4-19 @ 07:00

Almagnus1 wrote:Is there a way to have the game display at 4:3 resolution, keep the resolution locked, yet black out the rest of the screen?

If I understood you right, adjusting these settings in your .conf-file should result in what you want:
Code: Select all
[sdl]
fullscreen=true
fullresolution=desktop

[render]
aspect=true


If you want to get rid op any blurring and filtering of the image, adjust this setting accordingly:
Code: Select all
[sdl]
output=openglnb


This should result in a crystal clear, nicely pixelated, correctly ratioed fullscreen image with black borders right and left, if you are using a widescreen display.
Last edited by Yesterplay80 on 2016-4-19 @ 07:38, edited 1 time in total.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-4-19 @ 07:18

Seeing all the screenshots and videos of DOS games in the wrong aspect ratio online, maybe:

- resize screenshots to 640 x 480
- resize captures to 640 x 480
- Have aspect=true as default?
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby jfrisby » 2016-4-25 @ 18:19

Someone was working on a 'pixel-perfect scaler' for SCUMMVM (x5x6 Nearest Neighbor): https://github.com/hooby3dfx/scummvm/tree/perfect-scaler-wip

Since there's monitors that can run 1600x1200 these days it'd be a great way to implement better 4:3 aspect correction.
Is this already possible in DOSBox and I've missed it? :P
jfrisby
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-4-25 @ 18:08

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby VileRancour » 2016-4-27 @ 16:19

jfrisby wrote:Someone was working on a 'pixel-perfect scaler' for SCUMMVM (x5x6 Nearest Neighbor): https://github.com/hooby3dfx/scummvm/tree/perfect-scaler-wip

Since there's monitors that can run 1600x1200 these days it'd be a great way to implement better 4:3 aspect correction.
Is this already possible in DOSBox and I've missed it? :P

You may try this patch: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=43899
User avatar
VileRancour
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1540
Joined: 2003-5-14 @ 22:11
Location: 1-01-80 0:00a

Re: DOSBox Feature Request Thread

Postby Ant_222 » 2016-7-14 @ 22:20

Yesterplay80 wrote:If you want to get rid op any blurring and filtering of the image, adjust this setting accordingly:
Code: Select all
[sdl]
output=openglnb

This should result in a crystal clear, nicely pixelated, correctly ratioed fullscreen image with black borders right and left, if you are using a widescreen display.

This is not entirely true, because openglnb employs a non-regular scaling by applying alternating integer magnification based on the representation of the scale as a mixed fraction. Setting aspect=false does not change it, i.e. pixels in this mode have a varying size. DOSBox is sadly unable to apply the simplest possible integer upscaling while in full-screen mode.
Ant_222
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 2010-7-24 @ 21:29

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest