VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by marco999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi ,

I like to record cutscene of xwing:
https://www.gog.com/game/star_wars_xwin ... xhEALw_wcB

that seem use dosbox. How Can I do it ?

I have read about this short key (CTRL-ALT-F5):
https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Recording_Video

I have already tried but I don't known if work becouse dosbox is not installed but the game work probably becouse dosbox is embedded.

After record it I need to upscale the result with IA (Topaz) so I need to record the video with a good quality.

Someone can help me please ?

Thanks !

Reply 1 of 9, by CrossBow777

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I just use OSB to record stuff from Dosbox. If I need to see it all, I just keep dosbox in a window and record from that window.

g883j7-2.png
Midi Modules: MT-32 (OLD), MT-200, MT-90, SD-20

Reply 2 of 9, by marco999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thank you, but in this case dosbox seem embedded to start the game I run "XWING95.EXE" and there is no any dosbox.exe.

I think this game use dosbox becouse I see it in this link:
https://www.gog.com/game/star_wars_xwing_spec … eabfeb199dc1f1f

I have no way to run game in a window or I don't known how I can do it (in the game option there is not present this option). With "Alt-Enter" don't do nothing.

Reply 3 of 9, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
marco999 wrote on 2021-03-30, 16:21:
Thank you, but in this case dosbox seem embedded to start the game I run "XWING95.EXE" and there is no any dosbox.exe. […]
Show full quote

Thank you, but in this case dosbox seem embedded to start the game I run "XWING95.EXE" and there is no any dosbox.exe.

I think this game use dosbox becouse I see it in this link:
https://www.gog.com/game/star_wars_xwing_spec … eabfeb199dc1f1f

I have no way to run game in a window or I don't known how I can do it (in the game option there is not present this option). With "Alt-Enter" don't do nothing.

X-Wing 95 is not the dos game. It’s a port of the game in to the XvT engine, which works only within windows. Are you using a GoG/Steam release? If so, you can manually choose the older versions of the game.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 4 of 9, by marco999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BetaC wrote on 2021-03-30, 18:32:
marco999 wrote on 2021-03-30, 16:21:
Thank you, but in this case dosbox seem embedded to start the game I run "XWING95.EXE" and there is no any dosbox.exe. […]
Show full quote

Thank you, but in this case dosbox seem embedded to start the game I run "XWING95.EXE" and there is no any dosbox.exe.

I think this game use dosbox becouse I see it in this link:
https://www.gog.com/game/star_wars_xwing_spec … eabfeb199dc1f1f

I have no way to run game in a window or I don't known how I can do it (in the game option there is not present this option). With "Alt-Enter" don't do nothing.

X-Wing 95 is not the dos game. It’s a port of the game in to the XvT engine, which works only within windows. Are you using a GoG/Steam release? If so, you can manually choose the older versions of the game.

You have right, I have xwing special edition GoG release.

With this version the cutscene are better. Do you known if there is a way to convert these cutscene in mp4 / avi or other ?

I have tried Bandicam, OBS, without success becouse these software seem don't detect the window of the game.

I have also xvt and the cutscene are easy to convet, only with xwing there is the problem.

Any suggest ?

Reply 5 of 9, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

How are you running the game? As in, are you running it at fullscreen, with a specific resolution? If you are doing that, you might be able to get it to record via the screen record function in OBS. I cannot guarantee it will work, but it's worth a shot.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 7 of 9, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
marco999 wrote on 2021-03-30, 20:31:

I have already tried without success, for this reason I have write in this forum.

Have you specifically tried the full-display recording option, though.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 8 of 9, by marco999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yes, but not only I have tried all recording mode available in OBS.

I have verified that OBS work perfecly with other games when I run the games in window mode.

With this game there is no way to run in window mode.

Reply 9 of 9, by marco999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have solved the problem !!

I have replaced the old ddraw with this:

https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11

now the game use ddraw 11, and work with Bandicam and probably with other game capture.

For what I have understand these tools not work with old ddraw api.

I have already send my feedback to Bandicam (this tool seem more easy then OBS) and however work with this modded ddraw.

Thank you for your support !!!