VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by xcomcmdr

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hello,

I've been maintaining this front-end for DOSBox on Windows since 2009.
Now, I think, is a good time to have an official thread about it on VOGONS.

Official websites :
https://ampshell.tuxfamily.org/
https://github.com/maximilien-noal/AmpShell

Key Features :
------------
* Windows 98 support (.NET 2.0 version)
* Windows XP and later support (.NET 4.0 version)
* Portable mode (à la PortableApps.com)
* Launch anything with or without DOSBox
* You can use another version of DOSBox for each game instead of the default one (I like to use ECE, SVN, DOSBox-X, or the DOSBox Debugger, depending on what I'm doing)
* Fast and lightweight
* AutoConfig (A standard installation of DOSBox is found automatically)
* Command line interface
* Drag & Drop a .PIF file, a Windows link, or an executable on the main window and it will be recognized as a new game
* Compatible with Mono (although this is not really supported, there is surpising number of Linux and Mac users)

Requirements
-------------
At least Windows 98 with .NET 2.0, or XP with .NET 4.0.

Starting with Windows 7 SP1, .NET 4 is provided with Windows, so you don't have to install it.

TODO list (maybe... someday)
----------------------------
* Inno-setup based installer for Windows 98 (tracking down .NET Framework 2.0 and its deps for Windows 98 can be quite frustrating nowadays. Especially since it depends on IE 5.5+ and Windows Installer 2.0)
* Localization support
* Import data from other front-ends support (right now import is only for previous AmpShell data)
* Linux / Mac version based on .NET Core and AvaloniaUI (in progress, ETA: ?)
* Maybe finally support Windows 7+ jump lists... 😁

Feel free to report any bug / feature request here.

Last edited by xcomcmdr on 2021-05-21, 09:29. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 4, by xcomcmdr

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

New bugfixes released today: