VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Walter Dnes

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Going through some old stuff/backups, I discovered that years ago I'd backed up Chessmaster 3000 and some obscure DOS games to CD. I even found my Chessmaster 3000 floppies! I haven't had any luck getting Dosbox going on my linux machine, 1999 Dell Dimension, 450 mhz PIII, 128 megs of ram, ATI Rage Pro 3D (Mach64 *NOT* Rage 128). Running blackbox WM on X11, on Gentoo linux 2.6.11-r11. And yes, my make.conf does use the PIII to its fullest, but it's not insane.
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3 -fomit-frame-pointer -mmmx -msse -mfpmath=sse"

I'm not a programmer, or a professional linux admin, but in the past 48 hours, I've put strace through its paces trying to figure out what's going on. I've found...
- Dosbox died, and complained about SDL not being able to init a display device
- strace log showed that it died when trying to open a non-existant /dev/svga
- the svgalib_helper module *MUST* be rebuilt every time I upgrade my kernel
- the svgalib_helper module does not load automatically
- "modprobe svgalib_helper" creates /dev/svga and /dev/svga1
- but the owner:group is root:root and permisions are 660, so I did "chgrp games /dev/svg*" (my regular user iD is a member of "games" group")
- something needs access to /dev/console, which normally has 600 permission. I changed that to 660, which should be sufficient, as /dev/console is accessable by group "tty" which my regular user ID is also a member of

I've now "advanced" to the point where svgalib spins its wheels for a few seconds, and segfaults. It doesn't matter whether I run dosbox as regular user or root. I can't figure out what strace is saying, so I'm uploading the tail end of the log. The strace log is over 3 megabytes, but it's probably just the last bit that's useful.

Attachments

• Filename
    log.txt
    File size
    2.58 KiB
    Downloads
    102 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception