DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby hortas » 2017-11-21 @ 12:23

First of all, thank you Yesterplay! I really like your version of Dosbox and had much fun with it over the past days. The pixelperfect patch is great, as well as the ability to fully use Xinput controllers.

One question in this regard: Is there a way to adjust the deadzone for a joystick (in my case, a Xbox360 wireless controller)? I saw in a seven-year old thread, that someone made a patch which let's you set a "deadzone=%" variable in the dosbox.conf. Is this setting implemented by default in vanilla dosbox or in ECE? Trying out Archimedean Dynasty yesterday in the evening, I felt the analogue stick to be a bit over-sensitive around the center...
hortas
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-11-21 @ 11:57

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-11-21 @ 14:06

So far nothing of sorts is implemented, neither in vanilla nor ECE DOSBox. I'll look into it, maybe I can add this feature if it doesn't break anything (the "patch" is based on 7 year old code, it might not work with newer releases of DOSBox).
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby hortas » 2017-11-21 @ 14:38

Yesterplay80 wrote:So far nothing of sorts is implemented, neither in vanilla nor ECE DOSBox. I'll look into it, maybe I can add this feature if it doesn't break anything (the "patch" is based on 7 year old code, it might not work with newer releases of DOSBox).


At least for me, having a simple deadzone parameter (along with analog sensitivity curves ;) ) would be a great addition. Maybe you'll stumble upon a simple method to implement this...thanks in advance!
hortas
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-11-21 @ 11:57

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-11-21 @ 18:08

Assuming you were talking about this thread earlier, I implemented the changes Hidden Asbestos made into a current ECE build. Please download the binary here and try it, if it works as you intended, I'll keep the feature in future releases of DOSBox ECE.

DOSBox.7z
(1.63 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby hortas » 2017-11-21 @ 18:52

Yesterplay80 wrote:Assuming you were talking about this thread earlier, I implemented the changes Hidden Asbestos made into a current ECE build. Please download the binary here and try it, if it works as you intended, I'll keep the feature in future releases of DOSBox ECE.


Awesome to the Max! It works smoothly and exactly as intended in the original thread:

'deadzone=[1-99]' for an analog deadzone, and 'deadzone=100' for a plain digital behaviour of the stick.

I'll do some further practical tests within the next days and report bugs, if any occur.

And yeah, please keep this patch in ECE! It is - obviously - very useful for analog controllers.

Thanks a lot!
[Gruß aus Leipzig]
hortas
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-11-21 @ 11:57

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-11-21 @ 19:33

Alright, I updated my download page with the new build r4064.2 which contains this patch. Since the changes it makes are minimal and don't interfere with other patches, I'll keep it in DOSBox ECE from now on.

You're welcome and thanks to Hidden Asbestos!

[Gruß aus einem kleinen Nest das eh keiner kennt ;)]
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby chenke » 2017-12-01 @ 01:50

Sorry, I want to ask a silly question about DosboxECE config:
How to set fluidsynth in dosbox.conf correctly?
I tried this, but failed to load sf2 in a WIN10 notebook:
[midi]
mididevice=fluidsynth
midiconfig=dsound:8MBGMSFX.SF2
chenke
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-12-01 @ 01:35

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-12-01 @ 12:04

chenke wrote:Sorry, I want to ask a silly question about DosboxECE config:
How to set fluidsynth in dosbox.conf correctly?
I tried this, but failed to load sf2 in a WIN10 notebook:
[midi]
mididevice=fluidsynth
midiconfig=dsound:8MBGMSFX.SF2

The soundfont is specified with fluid.soundfont, not with the midiconfig option, for example like this:
Code: Select all
fluid.soundfont=D:\DOSBOX\SF2\SC55.SF2

There is no need to specify Direct Sound in the Windows version of DOSBox, because it is used by default, so in this case just leave the midiconfig option empty.

If you are upgrading from vanilla dosbox and don't see the additional options in the conf-file(s), make sure to rebuild it/them with "config -wc" at the dosbox prompt.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby chenke » 2017-12-01 @ 13:49

Yesterplay80 wrote:
chenke wrote:Sorry, I want to ask a silly question about DosboxECE config:
How to set fluidsynth in dosbox.conf correctly?
I tried this, but failed to load sf2 in a WIN10 notebook:
[midi]
mididevice=fluidsynth
midiconfig=dsound:8MBGMSFX.SF2

The soundfont is specified with fluid.soundfont, not with the midiconfig option, for example like this:
Code: Select all
fluid.soundfont=D:\DOSBOX\SF2\SC55.SF2

There is no need to specify Direct Sound in the Windows version of DOSBox, because it is used by default, so in this case just leave the midiconfig option empty.

If you are upgrading from vanilla dosbox and don't see the additional options in the conf-file(s), make sure to rebuild it/them with "config -wc" at the dosbox prompt.


THX! SOLVED!
chenke
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-12-01 @ 01:35

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2017-12-07 @ 10:06

hi YP80

i've noticed that a new build is up and checked the PATCHES.TXT file for changes

there is no mention of the deadzone patch anymore: have you removed it from your builds?


thank you for this project, btw
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Qbix » 2017-12-07 @ 10:34

There has been code added to the main line that happens to incorporate a deadzone as well. Different from the patch you are referring to (as it adds more joystick features)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10388
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby DosDaddy » 2017-12-07 @ 12:00

Is there a way to change the default aspect ratio ECE will correct a non-square pixel 3:2 image to? The value currently in place seems a bit overkill, effectually leaving you with a 320x267 image when AR-correcting for 320x200, whereas mode 13h on a CRT would have almost always resulted in a 4:3 output back in the day (320x240). Granted, monitors, though they'd circumstantially operate mostly in 4:3 resolutions (square pixel or not, it makes no matter), were often physically built for 5:4, so people who wanted to utilize the totality of their displays ended up manually stretching the customary 4:3 image through the controls offered by the monitor itself, and if that people happened to be graphics designers for a video game, well, you'd get something like Doom, with square pixel textures, non-square pixel textures AR-corrected for 4:3, non-square pixel textures AR-corrected for 4:5 and only God knows what else.

Ideally this setting should be configurable to the satisfaction of the user, but a simple, hard-coded, alternative 4:3 mode would be enough for this dog.

Thanks a lot for this wonderful build :)
DosDaddy
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2017-5-16 @ 09:37

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby DosDaddy » 2017-12-07 @ 15:01

Alright, something else I've noticed is this bad, bad tearing that doesn't seem to diminish even with fulldouble activated (this is most notable in smooth scrollers and games with fast-changing scenery like fps' and the like). In fact, it's a very disorderly type of tearing that quite frankly looks as if the picture was just being put together directly in the display buffer without any care whatsoever. Vsync, of course, doesn't help in this case (in fact, forcing it on from the display driver only triggers a massively disrupting stuttering clearly unrelated to the rather meager hiccuping expected from the mismatch arising between the emulated refresh rate and the host's refresh rate), and whether or not this is also an issue for other outputs, that I don't know, but I would totally hate to be forced to give up surfacepp.
DosDaddy
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2017-5-16 @ 09:37

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-12-08 @ 08:39

Delfino Furioso wrote:there is no mention of the deadzone patch anymore: have you removed it from your builds?
thank you for this project, btw

What Qbix said above. :) And you're welcome!

DosDaddy, your questions might be better placed in Ant222's corresponding thread, as he is the one who made surfacepp possible, he certainly knows better than me. And of course, you're welcome, too! :happy:
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby DosDaddy » 2017-12-08 @ 08:46

Sorry about that. I'll now take it to the correct place
DosDaddy
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2017-5-16 @ 09:37

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest