DOSBox debugger

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby LABS » 2018-7-25 @ 21:43

Is there a way to dump code overview to a file?
User avatar
LABS
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 2018-6-07 @ 16:49
Location: Riga, LV

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2018-8-31 @ 12:38

updated first post with binary of 0.74-2.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby junglemontana » 2019-3-30 @ 17:34

These are old posts, but I agree that such features would be highly useful. Especially the ability to set a memory read breakpoint.

manku wrote:Would be really nice if debugger has ability to set breakpoint on *read* access on some memory fragment. Something like

BPMR [segment]:[offset] [length]

E.g. BMPR 0010:0100 0A -> break program execution if reading from 0010:0100-0010:01009 occured.


egons wrote:all things what i want from debugger:
1. conitional BP's like bp if edx=value. this feature supported in Syser kernel debugger.
...


I saw some patches that implement break-on-read, but they were very old.

Someone mentioned using OllyDbg to attach into DOSbox but it sounds rather complicated. Also, OllyDbg is Windows software. I guess it gets even more complicated on Linux.
Last edited by junglemontana on 2019-6-16 @ 10:47, edited 1 time in total.
junglemontana
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2019-2-16 @ 17:37

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby voxel » 2019-5-13 @ 09:48

Thanks for making the debugger available, it seems very useful! I would like to know if there is some way to automate sending commands to the debugger, perhaps via a script? For instance, if I need certain breakpoints set each time it would be nice to be able to have these defined in a file that is run when the debugger is launched, or to set BPINT 3 * for every launch.
voxel
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-5-13 @ 09:43

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby junglemontana » 2019-6-16 @ 10:41

Another feature that would be useful, I think: Ability to declare variable sizes and arrays with the IV command.

For example:

IV [seg]:[off] [name] --- this is what we have now
IV [seg]:[off] [name] [size] --- declare a variable with a specified size
IVARR [seg]:[off] [name] [n_elems] [elem_size] --- declare an array of n_elems elements having a size of elem_size
junglemontana
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2019-2-16 @ 17:37

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2019-6-26 @ 19:03

Updated first post with 0.74-3.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby junglemontana » 2019-9-08 @ 20:19

This may be a dumb question, but how does the IV command actually work? Or what are its limitations? I started a program (protected mode NE exe) under the debugger by doing "debug program.exe", then used the IV command to name some addresses as variables. I also saved the variable list with the SV command.

When the program reached the part where these memory location were accessed, the variables in the variable list showed just 0000 or some other invalid values, not the actual values of these memory locations. Also, the saved file doesn't contain the addresses in the format which I typed them in.



Also, I noticed that the Alt+X key combo doesn't work with my SVN version 4254 on Windows, see:
viewtopic.php?f=31&t=55706&start=40#p783398

Using the D command works of course, but it's slower and less convenient.
junglemontana
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2019-2-16 @ 17:37

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby INT1 » 2019-9-21 @ 18:04

Qbix wrote:if you have experience with debugging you can try the DOSBox debugger
DOSBox debugger EXE 0.74-3
DOSBox debugger EXE 0.74-2
DOSBox debugger EXE 0.74

All these builds are crashing at launch (Error c0000005). My system is Win7sp1x86. Every other build of DosBox works fine (I've tried official 0.74.3, SVN r4259, SVN Daum, ECE r4259 and DosBox-X). Can you please fix the problem?
INT1
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-9-21 @ 17:43

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest