VOGONS

First post, by Tiger-Heli

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I have been using DosBox for all of a week now, and am completely amazed at what it is capable of and how well it works. However, I have some suggestions (as a new user and someone outside the community) on some ways (documentation-wise, I am not a programmer) to make it better:

And don't take any of this as being unappreciative of all of the efforts of Qbix, DosFreak, MiniMax, Firestorm225, Anubis, and countless others that I am unfortunately not familiar enough with to give proper credit to!

BTW, I have been using MAME (www.mame.net) for years, so the concept of a well-written program that needs tweaks to its setup files and is much more capable than it's documentation is not new to me.

General Installation Issues:

I used the guide at
http://www.abandonia.com/main.php?nav=index&FAQ=1 and installation went very straightforward. I have also read Firestorm's guide here which is similar and also very useful. The problem is that depending on where they downloaded DosBox, users may not know these exist. I think the best option would be to save these to an html file (with embedded graphics) that could be included in the main downloads (or at least the windows downloads, cross-platform capability is not my strong suite).

CVS Builds

I think more mention of the CVS builds should be included on the main site. Qbix informed me that this is discouraged b/c the main developers don't want to be bothered answering posts about bugs in the development (CVS) builds that don't affect the stable build.

I can appreciate this, but my first two posts on this forum were:

"Why can't I use my USB joystick with DosBox?" and
"How come the graphics in F-19 are corrupted?"