VOGONS

Maximum cycles=max level

Topic actions

First post, by Pan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi

Has anybody thought about implementing a new feature to limit the cycles=max option to a specific value. For example, having a limit of 10,000 means the system will never consume more than 10,000 cycles, but will scale lower for slower systems. At present, the scaling for older systems is fine, but faster systems will max out generating 35,000 or 40,000 cycles, which may be completely unnecessary.

This might seem pointless, but it will make things more efficient when providing general Dosbox configurations for running particular games. For example, a game might run under 3,000 cycles, but not seem completely native until 10,000. Providing a limit will ensure that no more than 10,000 will be used, thus saving processing power for faster machines.

What do you all think?

Reply 2 of 35, by TeaRex

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Pan,

I'm not a developer (at least not a DOSbox developer) but I think it's a good idea for e.g. companies bundling DOSbox with a re-release of their old games. They wouldn't want people to have to mess with dosbox.conf.

It's in the same spirit as the cycles=auto and core=auto things: don't force the users to do work that the computer can do just as well, unless they themselves want to do more fine-tuning.

Another nice thing to have would be output=auto (and scaler=auto), but I guess that's a bit harder to pull off.

tearex

Reply 3 of 35, by `Moe`

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

scaler=auto and output=auto are useless. scaler is a matter of personal preference, nothing else, and output is highly system-dependent in a way that might produce crashes or seem to work (but doesn't actually work) if the wrong values are selected.

Reply 4 of 35, by TeaRex

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank