Glide patch

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: Glide patch

Postby Sheriff Hobbes » 2011-8-31 @ 16:33

No, the border is black.
Marriage is a three ring circus:
-engagement ring
-wedding ring
-suffering

H. L. Mencken
User avatar
Sheriff Hobbes
Newbie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 2009-4-17 @ 06:58

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2011-9-01 @ 05:20

what wrapper/card are you using?
turn off mipmapping F4
turn off antyaliasing F3
yes that happens on real cards too, though some wrappers don't have it
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby Sheriff Hobbes » 2011-9-01 @ 16:42

You're my man. F3 did the trick! :)
I experimented with midmapping because this is available in the options menu, but antialiasing is a hidden feature.
Marriage is a three ring circus:
-engagement ring
-wedding ring
-suffering

H. L. Mencken
User avatar
Sheriff Hobbes
Newbie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 2009-4-17 @ 06:58

Re: Glide patch

Postby gulikoza » 2011-11-20 @ 11:49

nGlide v0.98 added support for Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt :happyhappy:
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Glide patch

Postby wd » 2011-11-20 @ 20:59

At least the in-game stuff isn't affected by the crawling lfb operations.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2011-11-22 @ 13:38

turning off vsync helps
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby wd » 2011-11-22 @ 14:44

Nope.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2011-11-22 @ 14:58

I was about the game loading screen that is very slowly drawn (line by line) with nglide's default configuration. If you disable vsync in nglide's configuration it is fast. (disabling in my geforce's control panel helps too)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby MastaG » 2011-12-06 @ 10:55

Thanks for the awesome work you put into this Gulikoza!

I'm using the pre-patched version of dosbox by robertmo a few posts back with openglide.

I also applied two patches to openglide:
1. carmageddon fix:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=26356
2. high resolution patch by gulikoza:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=26313

Everything was compiled for 32bit i686 with -m32 gcc and linker flags.

It's working great but I'm having two minor issues:

1. The blood tracks on the road are black instead of red.
(see screenshot)
2. When using output=opengl in dosbox-SVN.conf, exiting glide enabled games will cause the dosbox window to be black (I can still type).
This doesn't happen when using output=surface.

Any thoughts on this?

OpenGlid.ini:
Code: Select all
Version=0.09rc9
[Options]
WrapperPriority=2
CreateWindow=0
InitFullScreen=0
Resolution=0.0
EnableMipMaps=1
IgnorePaletteChange=0
Wrap565to5551=1
EnablePrecisionFix=1
EnableMultiTextureEXT=1
EnablePaletteEXT=1
EnableVertexArrayEXT=0
TextureMemorySize=16
FrameBufferMemorySize=8
NoSplash=0



My system:
Fedora 16 x86_64
nVidia GeForce 9200M GS
2.2Ghz Core2Duo
4GB RAM.

glxinfo:
Code: Select all
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: nouveau
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on NV98
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.11.2
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MastaG
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-23 @ 12:22

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2012-5-20 @ 04:05

MastaG wrote:1. The blood tracks on the road are black instead of red.
(see screenshot)

Blood tracks are red using nglide.

MastaG wrote:2. When using output=opengl in dosbox-SVN.conf, exiting glide enabled games will cause the dosbox window to be black (I can still type).
This doesn't happen when using output=surface.

doesn't happen in nglide too

But there is a problem that happens with both: nglide and real voodoo1 and voodoo2 cards with your patch: messed up textures in Pył (doesn't happen in wd/kekko's emu (and it's opengl version)).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby MastaG » 2012-5-23 @ 07:34

MastaG wrote:
1. The blood tracks on the road are black instead of red.
(see screenshot)


Blood tracks are red using nglide

So the black blood tracks are related to OpenGlide?
I've looked into nGlide, but I believe it's a Winodws-only wrapper.
And I'm using Linux.
If there's anyone who got the blood tracks red using OpenGlide then please provide a patch :)

MastaG wrote:
2. When using output=opengl in dosbox-SVN.conf, exiting glide enabled games will cause the dosbox window to be black (I can still type).
This doesn't happen when using output=surface.


doesn't happen in nglide too


I see, but then again, I didn't notice a difference in performance when using OpenGL instead of surface.
I guess it doesn't really matter since the rendering is done using the wrapper instead.


But there is a problem that happens with both: nglide and real voodoo1 and voodoo2 cards with your patch: messed up textures in Pył (doesn't happen in wd/kekko's emu (and it's opengl version)).


I'll try this game as soon as I have some spare time and report back my results using OpenGlide :)
MastaG
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-23 @ 12:22

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2012-5-23 @ 08:02

MastaG wrote:
But there is a problem that happens with both: nglide and real voodoo1 and voodoo2 cards with your patch: messed up textures in Pył (doesn't happen in wd/kekko's emu (and it's opengl version)).


I'll try this game as soon as I have some spare time and report back my results using OpenGlide :)

It happens with OpenGlide too.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby gulikoza » 2012-5-23 @ 11:14

@MastaG: do you use the SDL version of OpenGlide (can be set when compiling)? It should work with OpenGL output...but as you've said it does not matter for Glide output as that is rendered by OpenGL anyway.
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2012-5-28 @ 15:01

noticed that changing value of
{ "grTexClampMode", 12 },
in glide.h makes more textures affected.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby gulikoza » 2012-5-28 @ 15:20

Good one, find "case _grTexClampMode12" in glide.cpp and change

FP.grFunction3i(param[1], param[3], param[3]);

to

FP.grFunction3i(param[1], param[2], param[3]);

:wink:
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2012-5-28 @ 15:41

yeah, works fine now :)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby gulikoza » 2012-6-08 @ 12:55

Added the above patch to the zip in the first post.
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Glide patch

Postby robertmo » 2012-6-21 @ 08:22

Tie Break Tennis 98
doesn't work with your patch
game quits to dos with:
"video mode not supported"

Glide:LFB access: read-write
Glide:GLIDE_PageHandler installed at 0x60000000 (384 pages)
Glide:Activated
Glide:Resolution set to:640x480, LFB at 0x60000000 (linear: 0x60000000)
Glide:grSstWinOpen called when glide is active!

With wd/kekko patch (both opengl and softemu)
everything is ok at the beginning, but after the ball touches the ground you got this:
1 frame for a few seconds and flooding console with:
lfbw fpp mselect alpha 3
blend alpha a_local
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4396
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Glide patch

Postby gulikoza » 2013-3-11 @ 15:52

Inspired by dgVoodoo2 testing I've updated the patch in the first post. This is quite an extensive update so I might have broken somethings but I have tried to test it all.

The changes include:

- configurable splash screen
- support multiple buffer locks (eg: back + depth) (Extreme Assault)
- increase available LFB memory
- fix Tie Break Tennis init
- fix Unreal GPF
- updated to apply to current svn (r3821)

There are some conf changes: the port selection is gone (defaults to 0x600, not really needed for end-users), splash option has been added to allow disabling splash screen. LFB Access option has been extended to allow disabling AUX (depth) buffer locks which are not supported by OpenGlide.

You NEED to use the updated OVL (and/or dll inside booted Windows) for Glide to be detected (also attached in the first post)!

There is a quickly compiled Windows test version available here
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Glide patch

Postby kjliew » 2013-11-14 @ 06:28

It works with Tomb Raider from DOSBox or booted Win95 MS-DOS prompt in DOSBox. This is the only DOS Glide game that I can check. However, none of the WIN32 Glide apps/games work from within Win95. I tried Glide demos/tests from 3Dfx SDK and NFS2SE demo. All of them end up in protection fault within Win95 and terminated.

The patch was applied to clean DOSBox SVN r3846, and I was using dgVoodoo 1.50Beta and dgVoodoo 2.15 as the wrapper. OS is Windows 7 32-bit and DOSBox was built with MSYS/MinGW gcc.
kjliew
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: 2004-1-08 @ 03:03

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests