VOGONS

I might have accidentally implemented Normal4x.

Topic actions

• This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

First post, by Elamaton

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

This is going to sound a bit outlandish, but bear with me.

Earlier today at work I posted this thread: Scaling, aspect ratios and Normal4x revisited.

While driving home, I thought about my statement of "it can't be that hard", concerning implementing Normal4x. I have no C/C++ experience whatsoever (just PHP, Python, and some Java years ago), certainly nothing graphics-related, but just for the hell of it, I checked out the source from CVS and started looking at it.

Well, a hour and a half of grepping and copypasting later, I thought I'd download SDL to my Mac and try compiling DOSBox with my changes.

To my surprise, it compiled just fine.

To my even greater surprise, it ran just fine.

To my complete jaw-dropping amazement, the 4x scaling actually. Fucking. Worked.

This wasn't supposed to happen. The compilation was supposed to die at some point, or at least the software should have crashed violently. But no.

I verified the functionality with Tyrian with its 320x200 resolution, having this in the config file:

windowresolution=original
output=opengl
aspect=true
scaler=normal4x

And what do you know, I got a 1280x960 resolution. For fun, I set windowresolution=1280x960 and tried the various normal scalers, and yes, the 4x image was easily the sharpest. This is exactly what I was saying in the original thread. And I have screenshots of this experiment:

http://elamaton.no-ip.com:8080/dosbox/Normal3x.png
http://elamaton.no-ip.com:8080/dosbox/Normal4x.png

The difference should be quite obvious at least on a proper LCD screen. Flip back and forth those two, the difference is particularly visible in the text, especially the brighter-colored "Data".