dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Anotherguest » 2009-3-02 @ 14:24

nolito: For the 6120 you will require the DOSBOX_S60 lite version, since the other version (including the dynarec versioN) is taking more memory than is free in the 6120 classic.
Anotherguest
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-18 @ 21:26

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby leventbb » 2009-3-02 @ 18:17

A possible bug: When I exit dosbox with Red button, Phone's screensaver (the one shows the big clock after waiting for some time) does not work anymore. I'll have to restart the phone to make it become active again after some idle time
Last edited by leventbb on 2009-3-02 @ 19:13, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
leventbb
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-25 @ 15:24

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby sinfallas » 2009-3-02 @ 18:21

azk wrote:I have one question to the author of this port: How can I change mouse sensivity? Changing this field in config file seems not working. It is impossible to play x-com with such fast mouse.

BTW, my device is 6120c if you need this


first of all i want to thanks to kolijoco for this great port. Second i have a n95-8gb with the last version of the port and all games that i tested work fine with the exception of the mouse speed, it's too fast.

i changed on dosbox.conf (the file is on c:\data), sensitivity from 50 to 10 or 5 but it didn't work, can anybody help me to slowdown the mouse??

one more time kolijoco thanks for this great port

sorry for my english
User avatar
sinfallas
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-26 @ 20:49

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby smihael » 2009-3-02 @ 18:47

Hi!
fisrt thanx for porting. next is there any way (ok mapper.txt but AFAIK it only works for 1 cahr by button) to add support for all chars from a to z or better to have same keymap as other apps.
smihael
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-3-02 @ 18:45

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-3-02 @ 20:56

sf.net project up!

there's a source-snapshot, and other downloads.

cvs coming soon.

right, the link:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/s60dosbox/

thanks for your patience
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby mikosoft » 2009-3-02 @ 21:18

I registered just to say thanks for this port. I've found it while searching for some S60 utilities and found DOSBox ported to S60 - wow! I installed it and have put Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis to autorun section for now. it's almost perfectly playable (the sound stutters and the game is quite sluggish but since it's an adventure game it doesn't require any fast action). My only concern is that mouse reacts too fast. I've set sensitivity to 1 with no result (not sure if it's related though). With fast tapping I am able to move mouse even by one pixel but it's quite a pain especially when trying to click objects 5x5 pixels in dimensions. I guess I'll just have to wait for the next release. But it's absolutely amaizing even now and I can boast about having my favourite adventure game right in my cellphone 8-)

(Edit: some grammar mistakes :disapproving: and screenshot)
Attachments
IMG_6149_r.jpg
Fate of Atlantis on the go!
(108.13 KiB) Downloaded 620 times
User avatar
mikosoft
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-3-02 @ 21:09

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby fyatwyrio » 2009-3-02 @ 23:37

I would also like to say thanks for the work being done on this port. It is very cool to see the demo for Alone In The Dark running on my phone.

mikosoft, you would probably be better off running Indiana Jones with SCUMMVM. You may want to give that a try. http://www.scummvm.org
fyatwyrio
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-3-02 @ 23:33

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Mahdi1944 » 2009-3-03 @ 02:43

Dear kolijoco,

i think 640*480 screensize not allowed and this is cause of unable run windows in new version

please add full keyboard future
Thanks
Mahdi1944
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-24 @ 21:51

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby paw » 2009-3-03 @ 10:55

Full keyboard? it's easy delete mapper.txt works e90
Last edited by paw on 2009-3-03 @ 11:18, edited 1 time in total.
paw
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-3-03 @ 10:45

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Anotherguest » 2009-3-03 @ 11:00

And I think that VGA (640x480) is supported (judging from the screenshots I have seen), the thing is that the SDL implementation removes half of the pixels to achieve a 320x240 resolution (and make it look abit crappy).

kolijoco will be lookin on a solution of a virtual screen where you can scroll around the VGA screen (zoomed in) in a 1-1 resolution. But this is work to be done so just have to be patient.

Btw OpenTTD for S60 is using the same SDL S60 backend, and I think already have that vga resolution (virtual scroll) support, so that could be a good source for further DosBOX S60 improvements.

Keep up the good work!
Anotherguest
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-18 @ 21:26

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Obi-Wahn » 2009-3-03 @ 11:21

@Anotherguest: Do you challange the UIQ-port? The source of the s60-port is now on sf.net. ;)
User avatar
Obi-Wahn
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-08 @ 10:35

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-3-03 @ 13:06

@Admins

Please remove the posted downloads form this thread. People should go to sf to download current and upcoming versions (note: the slim, non-dynrec version is also hosted there in the "unsupported" package.)

I would also suggest that this thread be closed (with a sticky redirection on top). A new one can be opened for user discussion. Reasonable and real bug-reports, compatibility issues, and requests should be posted on the sf forums. Also start another thread, somewhere far-far away pertaining to windows issues (for now).

once again the link:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/s60dosbox

Thanks!
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby em1il » 2009-3-03 @ 14:48

dynamic core option does not work on 6120c ;/ :(
em1il
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-28 @ 08:36

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby MiniMax » 2009-3-03 @ 15:13

kolijoco - everyone can edit their own posts (3rd button in the list of 4 tiny buttons to the left of the subject) so you can easily remove the old files and add a link to the SF page instead.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-3-03 @ 16:08

thanks, did it...

@all:
if you're mirroring any version's on your blogs/homepages, please update them to link to the sourceforge project page!


thanks...!
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Kalvinxp » 2009-3-03 @ 16:29

Can you offer other version for sdl library?
my phone can't support SDL-1.2.13-s60-2.3.4_armv5。
or you modify the sdl library
Kalvinxp
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-3-01 @ 16:02

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-3-03 @ 16:45

i cant build sdl binaries (the free gcce compiler can't do it, and i don't have the commercial arm toolkit)

it would be possible to include sdl sources into the project, but i don't want to do it, until i actually have to change something within the sdl modules.
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Qbix » 2009-3-03 @ 16:58

kolijoco got his own place for this port.
Please visit there:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/s60dosbox

Thank you.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests