dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby DarkElf » 2009-2-11 @ 18:32

Thanks authors for the excellent program! To you the request: adapt the image under E90 (the internal screen the permission 800Ñ…352). Whether It will be possible to make changes in dosbox.conf?
DarkElf
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-2-11 @ 05:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-11 @ 19:20

noted... will see what i can do

also, i finally got x-com to run/(work?), so i'm moving to the trimming phase...
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby gregd72002 » 2009-2-13 @ 09:20

Great... wish you good luck ;)
gregd72002
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2009-2-09 @ 12:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Qbix » 2009-2-13 @ 09:57

kolijoco wrote:noted... will see what i can do

also, i finally got x-com to run/(work?), so i'm moving to the trimming phase...


what was wrong ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10355
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-13 @ 12:06

eh-hmm... appearently something got mixed up with the include hierarchy in the build tree (carbide.c++ does things a little differently in resolving include directories, it seems). i seperated all cores and their includes into their own dirs, and it started working (cause i only realized this once i shaped to code up so i could trace executions of the windows build, the emulator build, and the phone build side-by-side, see other thread... actually managed to build a deterministic version in the process.)
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-13 @ 12:14

i've built a slim version...

those with memory issues should give this a try...

see the readme.txt for the specifics.

dependencies not included, download them for the first release (post on one of the previous pages).


edit: go to sourforge project site to download ("unsupported" package)

https://sourceforge.net/projects/s60dosbox
Last edited by kolijoco on 2009-3-03 @ 16:03, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby gregd72002 » 2009-2-13 @ 13:04

Wow!! Works on my E65 with only 15MB RAM free (currently as I've got other apps running)!!!
Was just wondering about T9 - is it possible to support it somehow?
Attachments
Foto 31.jpg
and it runs :)
Foto 31.jpg (34.22 KiB) Viewed 10938 times
Foto 30.jpg
Only 15 MB ram!!
Foto 30.jpg (25.29 KiB) Viewed 10938 times
gregd72002
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2009-2-09 @ 12:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-13 @ 13:42

when i say t9, i just mean the 12 keys with numbers on them - not actually the method for inputting text... :-(
so there's no support for that yet, but i'm thinking about it. for now you can only type numbers (or whatever you map to them in the mapper.txt)
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Pickle » 2009-2-13 @ 13:49

If your interested I added a virtual keyboard to the gp2x build using sdl_ttf, maybe you can use it or it will give you some ideas.
Pickle
Newbie
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 2008-4-14 @ 13:15

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-13 @ 13:51

sound like something the s60 5th edition people will need. if you could share it (there are 320x40 unused pixels i could use :-)
thanks
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Pickle » 2009-2-13 @ 16:41

http://archive.gp2x.de/cgi-bin/cfiles.c ... ,0,46,2586

Theres a mappable key event that turns the VK graphic on and off. The VK is drawn over the dosbox screen.
The a highlight selection is moved by the DPAD and the key executed by one the buttons. I had to do some special handling with the SDL surfaces to eliminate flicker when the VK was on. Most everything is in sdlmain.cpp.
Pickle
Newbie
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 2008-4-14 @ 13:15

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby gregd72002 » 2009-2-13 @ 18:25

gregd72002 wrote:Wow!! Works on my E65 with only 15MB RAM free (currently as I've got other apps running)!!!
Was just wondering about T9 - is it possible to support it somehow?


Alright, but I'm not able to run any program. I've tried:
Magic Candle II - the setup runs well however after running the game itself dosbox quits without any error
X-com - dosbox quits after showing "Sound initialized" or so...
Magic Candle I - my mobile makes 2 strange sounds (probably generated by the game) and dosbox quits. Nothing is displayed though....

... is it that to initiate 13h mode dosbox requires additional memory to allocate? How much?
gregd72002
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2009-2-09 @ 12:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-16 @ 11:46

i'm signing off for a while (guessing about a month)

mainly because my real life requires some added attention...

but i'm also planning to improve my symbianish in the meantime, so i can "nativize" the port a little more.
while, as professional i know the effort will probably not be worth it in the long run, when everyone will have the 600MHz arm nokias with graphic accelerators, but for now it will be a good excersize (and fun) in optimized porting, and after all, i'm doing this for my own entertainment as much for the benefit of all mankind :-)

i'll post here again (or start a new thread with an equally suggestive topic) when i have something to release.

cheers!
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby gotan » 2009-2-16 @ 13:44

I've got an s60 Fp1 devkit, is there a readme somewhere for building dosbox? or is it all in the cvs repo?
gotan
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-14 @ 14:33

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Freddo » 2009-2-16 @ 17:09

Good luck with your real life kolijoco :) Look forward to see the future S60 DOSBox from you, as a 600 MHz ARM11 will still benefit greatly from whatever optimizations you do!

Since it's still a relatively slow CPU compared to the PC desktops that run DOSBox.
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby DarkElf » 2009-2-18 @ 07:15

It was possible to establish on Е90 Norton Commander v5.0 as the file manager (sees system folders) and, the most impressing - has established in smartphone Windows 3.11!!! Friends in a shock... )))

Unique affliction - a picture not on all screen. Below there is an unengaged space. Because of it the map on internal screen E90 (800Ñ…352) is compressed ((readership suffers...
DarkElf
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-2-11 @ 05:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby jal » 2009-2-18 @ 14:22

DarkElf wrote:It was possible to establish on Е90 Norton Commander v5.0 as the file manager (sees system folders) and, the most impressing - has established in smartphone Windows 3.11!!! Friends in a shock... )))

Unique affliction - a picture not on all screen. Below there is an unengaged space. Because of it the map on internal screen E90 (800Ñ…352) is compressed ((readership suffers...


I just have to ask: are you using Google Translate to turn your output into English? I can barely understand it...


JAL
User avatar
jal
Member
 
Posts: 494
Joined: 2004-1-02 @ 15:30
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby gregd72002 » 2009-2-18 @ 21:22

jal wrote:
DarkElf wrote:It was possible to establish on Е90 Norton Commander v5.0 as the file manager (sees system folders) and, the most impressing - has established in smartphone Windows 3.11!!! Friends in a shock... )))

Unique affliction - a picture not on all screen. Below there is an unengaged space. Because of it the map on internal screen E90 (800Ñ…352) is compressed ((readership suffers...


I just have to ask: are you using Google Translate to turn your output into English? I can barely understand it...


JAL


lol, looks so :D
gregd72002
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2009-2-09 @ 12:46

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Anotherguest » 2009-2-18 @ 21:31

I tried installing this on a Samsung SGH-i550 (S60v3 phone) and the end result is not very good. Installing the main application is not a problem, but all related libs are only installable on true Nokia phones. I have compiled Dosbox for Symbian my self (but could n't get it to run properly due to memory issues), and I know all these dependency libs should not be needed, and those needed could be included as static libs.

This simplifies some issues at least when it comes to zlib support etc and will make the installation work on LG, Samsung phones also.

Keep up the good work, looking forward seeing the source soon, so I can build a UIQ3 versions. (And any source is better than NO source regardless its state.). So please provide a DL link for the latest source. :-)
Anotherguest
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-18 @ 21:26

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby abc_to_xyz » 2009-2-19 @ 11:22

Hi, Just joined this forum to thank u (4 trying), But there's a BIG Prob! As u said, the normal version will not work on My N95-1 (Yes, It Gives "Memory full" Error!), But even the Slim version is also not working, (Whenever I try to open DosBox, it do nothing!). The same thing is happening to various N95 users around (maybe on few other models to), anyclue why is it happening? I have installed all dependencies and have used default mapper.txt and dosbox.conf (C:\Data)!

(Keep in Mind that N95-1 has Dual 332 MHz Texas Instruments OMAP 2420 (ARM11-based) Processor)
User avatar
abc_to_xyz
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-2-19 @ 11:18

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests