VOGONS

First post, by MobyGamer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I'm finally finishing up the benchmarking utility I've been threatening to write for a few years, and found some code that borks DOSBox that I want to disable when run under DOSBox. Is there an official/recognized way to detect if a program is running under DOSBox?

(I've come up with my own method, but it's very dumb and not future-proof, so I was curious if there was an official way, like a software interrupt, etc.)

Reply 1 of 17, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

I'm not aware of any "official" means of identification, and interrupt function idiosyncrasies could be subject to change. An identifier that seems reliable for all machine types is the BIOS copyright and version strings at F000:E000. Searching the 128 bytes starting from that address for the string "DOSBox" is probably more future-proof than testing specific memory offsets.

BTW, please describe the code that borks DOSBox, particularly if it could represent a compatibility issue for games.

Reply 2 of 17, by MobyGamer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
ripsaw8080 wrote:

An identifier that seems reliable for all machine types is the BIOS copyright and version strings at F000:E000. Searching the 128 bytes starting from that address for the string "DOSBox" is probably more future-proof than testing specific memory offsets.

That is exactly what I had come up with. I'll go with that for now.

BTW, please describe the code that borks DOSBox, particularly if it could represent a compatibility issue for games.