64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 02:46

I know this has been discussed quite a bit in the past, but there is no recent information. I see daum can potentially compile 64bit, but what is the status of vanilla dosbox with 64 bit? What are the roadblocks stopping this from happening? Is there some inherent incompatibility? Here in 2015 everything is coming out 64 bit these days. Even if there is no real benefit outside of increased ram usage, there will come a time when 32 bit is no longer viable on some OS or another (I'm betting Apple will be the first). Should we not prepare? Come to think of it, I don't understand how this hasn't been a huge issue with 64bit linux for years already. Doesn't it require a whole slew of 32 bit dependencies that people might otherwise not want on their system?
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 05:42

Same information applies from years before. On linux the SVN of Dosbox runs, perhaps even at full speed. On OS X are still problems and at a tremendous speed loss.
On Windows, no one cared to report back, I think
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby DosFreak » 2015-7-14 @ 09:04

I want to see the the stats on everything coming out in 2015 is 64bit.
Any desktop OS dropping 32bit application support in the forseeable future will be shooting themselves in the foot and you're probably right that it will be Apple but in that case like usual the Apple users will gobble it up due to the Apple mentality.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9816
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 13:15

It wouldn't be the first time. They will gobble it up because they won't know there is a difference, save 2 older applications suddenly won't work after the update. (which is par for the course) Do i understand that dosbox SVN compiles with 64bit just fine? As to how many applications are 64 bit only, for OSX at least, anything that has been compiled since 2009 on Snow Leopard, unless there was a reason to keep it 32 bit. (Most apple machines in use are probably newer then that) And for the record, do you realize how hard it is to keep 10.6 compatibility on 10.10? Apple has made it very difficult, unless the application was compiled on 10.6 itself. So no, there aren't a lot of 10.6 applications floating around. I have less experience with Windows, but any AAA utilizing DX11 are also most likely 64bit. But I wouldn't know any exact figures.
Last edited by Darklord42 on 2015-7-14 @ 13:35, edited 1 time in total.
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 13:32

Don't bash Apple for something they haven't done (yet ;)). And yes when nothing depends on it anymore, good riddance.
Dosbox compiles in 64bit but is not as performant as in 32bit, very unperformant on OS X and having other problems as well.
Other software, like Wine are better left on 32bit as well.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 13:37

Don't confuse a 64 bit compile of wine with the ability to run 64 bit software. The latter is still in the works and will be for a while. I'm still bitter for when they dropped PPC built apps when Rosetta was working fine. :)

Regarding Dosbox, Thanks for info!
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 14:22

I know about compiling and running things...
(I'm still compiling software as ppc even though I can no longer run it directly on current OS X...)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 14:25

Out of curiosity, where is the OSX bottle neck? It wouldn't be rendering would it?

Naturally, but there is no issue with running a 64 bit compiled wine,[s] in fact it's default on a 64bit system.[/s]

[EDIT] I apologize, That's not actually true, I was misreading the output of the wine configure script. It seems only wine64 is indeed 64bit which has it's own problems.
Last edited by Darklord42 on 2015-7-14 @ 15:02, edited 1 time in total.
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 15:00

The bottleneck is that the dynamic recompiler is done for 32bit abd the 64bit one is not working nicely, roughly AFAIU.

And yep, as you've probably learnt now, a 64bit WINE is having problems running 32bit Windows programs (it can't). Currently it needs both arches. And it's having problems with 16bit programs - that's why they are using or exploring, Dosbox for 16bit dos programs in Wine.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 15:04

That makes sense. It's good to learn. Thanks again! :)
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby collector » 2015-7-14 @ 15:22

Wasn't the x64 dynamic recompiler was an issue on Windows, too?
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 15:32

It definitely must have been a problem, the 64bit recompiler is or was an issue on all platforms, since it is NOT the 32bit one :)
But I haven't paid attention when 64bit Windows came up.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Darklord42 » 2015-7-14 @ 15:35

But why would osx be worse?
Darklord42
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-9-18 @ 00:26

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-7-14 @ 15:40

If we were to know that for sure, there would lilely be a fix.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby eraH » 2015-7-15 @ 03:43

Here is a 64bit DOSBox for Windows if anyone is interested. I loaded up King's Quest, and it seems to work.
Compiled on Ubuntu 15.04 using MinGW-W64.
Attachments
DOSBox x86_64 r3924.7z
(1.25 MiB) Downloaded 77 times
eraH
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2009-10-19 @ 19:58

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Tertz » 2015-8-03 @ 12:21

Darklord42 wrote:Should we not prepare?


For Windows drop of 32 bit support will not happen during 5 next years, at least. More possible - 10 years.
Tertz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 793
Joined: 2015-1-22 @ 21:44

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby ovvldc » 2015-8-06 @ 10:55

At least Fedora is talking about relegating 32 bit to secondary status: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... n-Blocking

Microsoft will be slower to drop 32 bit. OS X will probably run 32 bit for a while, but new apps in the store are supposed to be 64 bit (not that BOSBox would fit the app store).
ovvldc
Newbie
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2008-8-17 @ 12:48
Location: NL

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Dominus » 2015-8-06 @ 11:01

What is BOSBox? ;)

DOSBox is incompatible with the AppStore license and the developers could always make Apple to pull it if someone were to put it there.
OTOH I'm kind of gkad that they didn't go this way in regard to iDos on iOS AppStore...
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby Zorbid » 2015-8-07 @ 08:34

What is gkad? :D
User avatar
Zorbid
Member
 
Posts: 436
Joined: 2002-8-30 @ 18:38

Re: 64bit Vanilla Dosbox?

Postby collector » 2015-8-07 @ 15:39

Glad after "iCorrect"? :-D
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Next

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest