VOGONS

First post, by puttesnutte

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Is there anyone here who would like to whip up a little Windows program which does the same thing as the "mixer /listmidi" command in DOSBox? I have not found any other program which provides this particular information, and it feels a bit silly that you have to use an emulator to get it. I'm not a programmer but it seems to me it should be an easy thing to do. It would be useful with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.

Reply 1 of 8, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator

Yes, it should be easy. It might even be one of the SDL test programs. Other programs provide the same dunction, for example Exult (and I think ScummVM in some fasion).
But why not use Dosbox for that? It's so easy and small already and you can have a shortcut with just that function 😉

Windows 3.1x guide for DOSBox
60 seconds guide to DOSBox
DOSBox SVN snapshot for macOS (10.4-11.x ppc/intel 32/64bit) notarized for gatekeeper

Reply 2 of 8, by puttesnutte

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I do use DOSBox for that! But it would be even easier if I had a tool which only did that! 😀
I would do it myself if I knew how. I have some very basic programming knowledge, but looking at the source code just makes my head hurt.

Reply 3 of 8, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator

I can understand the headache 😉

Windows 3.1x guide for DOSBox
60 seconds guide to DOSBox
DOSBox SVN snapshot for macOS (10.4-11.x ppc/intel 32/64bit) notarized for gatekeeper

Reply 4 of 8, by collector

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

You could just start DOSBox with the following in a conf file:

[autoexec]
mount c .
c:
mixer /listmidi>MIDILIST.TXT
exit

It will create a MIDILIST.TXT file with the MIDI devices listed in whatever folder you have the conf file. DOSBox will open briefly and close.