DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby troydm » 2018-12-03 @ 22:39

Yesterplay80 wrote:Just a question: You defined values up to 200, which, if I get this right, amplifies the gain by the given value. So the default value, 100, results in a gain of 1.
If that's so, isn't a maximum value of 65535 (655 times the normal gain) a bit much? And wouldn't 0 mute the gain entirely?

Yes correct, 0 would mute the gain entirely, that way you can for example mute reverb or mute output and leave only reverb.
The default value for mt32emu output gain and reverb gain are both 1.0 so leaving 100 as default just keeps settings default.
And yes 65536 is a bit too much you can lower the value anyway you want. I for my setup usually use 300 for output and 150 for reverb
troydm
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-11-26 @ 22:16
Location: Kiev

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-16 @ 11:51

All games still have an half-seconds of sound delay, the same of official 0.74-2 version... i have already tried to editing .conf file without any success...
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-12-17 @ 10:55

FulValBot wrote:All games still have an half-seconds of sound delay, the same of official 0.74-2 version... i have already tried to editing .conf file without any success...

Since your're the only one (so far) having this particular problem and because it seems to be happening no matter which DOSBox you're using (ECE isn't based on the 0.74-2 code, but on the SVN code), I'd say you either have a hardware /driver problem on your side or you messed up your conf files for DOSBox. What did you set for blocksize and prebuffer under the mixer settings?
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 368
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-17 @ 14:19

Tested blocksize 1024, 512 and 256 without success; tested prebuffer 20, 25, 80 without success

(ECE version has only slightly improved it, not fixed)
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby troydm » 2018-12-19 @ 22:43

FulValBot wrote:Tested blocksize 1024, 512 and 256 without success; tested prebuffer 20, 25, 80 without success

(ECE version has only slightly improved it, not fixed)

which sound system under which operating system and hardware are you using?
troydm
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-11-26 @ 22:16
Location: Kiev

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-19 @ 23:52

Realtek with generic driver (HD Definition Audio)

Windows 10 64 bit build 1809

i7 4790k, 16GB, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby troydm » 2018-12-21 @ 13:28

FulValBot wrote:Realtek with generic driver (HD Definition Audio)

Windows 10 64 bit build 1809

i7 4790k, 16GB, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB

Not sure about Windows 10 but I think this is worth trying atleast
https://neosmart.net/wiki/fix-realtek-audio-delay-lag/
troydm
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-11-26 @ 22:16
Location: Kiev

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-21 @ 16:40

Sorry but it was done already...

this problem happen only with dosbox, not in all other programs and games
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Dagar » 2018-12-22 @ 13:30

FulValBot wrote:Sorry but it was done already...

this problem happen only with dosbox, not in all other programs and games


Could be an 1809/driver issue?
You can try updating your Realtek driver with a driver certified for 1809 from the Microsoft Update Catalog.
Instructions here:
https://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardware/5993-latest-realtek-hd-audio-driver-version.html
Dagar
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2008-1-20 @ 17:01

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-22 @ 16:12

Nope, there was always this bug from the first version of DOSBox many years's ago and with all windows...
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Dagar » 2018-12-22 @ 16:43

FulValBot wrote:Nope, there was always this bug from the first version of DOSBox many years's ago and with all windows...


I have no problems (or never had) with DOSBox and Realtek audio.

My system:
I7-7700k
16 gb ram
Asus Prime Z270-P (with onboard Realtek)
Nvidia GTX-1080
Windows 10 64 bit (Version 1809 - OS Build 17763.195)

Currently using Realtek audio driver 6.0.1.8544
Dagar
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2008-1-20 @ 17:01

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-22 @ 16:45

It's not a Realtek bug... There was this problem with all DOSBox versions and also with a Creative sound card... so this problem can happen with all sound cards...

All windows have this problem with DOSBox (also all windows 9x versions)
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Dagar » 2018-12-22 @ 16:52

I just checked my DOSBox conf files.
Mine are set to Block size: 1024 - Prebuffer: 10
No audio lag at all for me.
Dagar
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2008-1-20 @ 17:01

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-22 @ 16:53

It's not a stutter, it's a delay of half second or 1 seconds after video
Last edited by FulValBot on 2018-12-22 @ 19:20, edited 1 time in total.
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby krcroft » 2018-12-22 @ 18:28

FulValBot wrote:It's not a stutter, it's a delay of half second or 1 seconds before video


You mean after video if it's audio lag, right? If the audio is playing before the video, then you have video lag/buffering.

Although if other games and media players have zero audio or video lag, then it's likely not something downstream in your driver and hardware chain (like video or audio post processing on hdmi TVs that can add significant lag). Does your monitor have a game mode? (which eliminates all post processing).

Also, is the lag the same between analog and digital output? Ie: try using an hdmi monitor with internal speakers where audio and video both flow digitally via hdmi and is processed by the monitor. Compare that with analog audio output (minijack headphones or speakers) while only video is sent via hdmi/vga/dvi to your monitor.

I'm not a current Windows user, but I recall being able to set which audio driver a given peice of software would use (directx, wave-driver, and other options). Maybe dosbox (SDL1) is using an audio path different from your other software or games. Maybe you could track down other SDL1-based games and see if they're similarly affected.

Unfortunately when no one else can reproduce it, it's going to take more trial and error changing one variable at a time (like you're already started with the block size and prebuffer values).
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby FulValBot » 2018-12-22 @ 19:06

Sry, i meant Audio play after game, not before...
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby WhiteZero » 2019-1-09 @ 15:52

For some reason I can't get Fluidsynth to work in ECE. When I launch DosBox it says:

Code: Select all
MIDI:fluidsynth: loaded soundfont: Roland SC-55.sf2
MIDI: Opened device:fluidsynth

So it seems to be loading OK.

This is my config for it
Code: Select all
mpu401                  = intelligent
mididevice              = fluidsynth
midiconfig              =
fluid.driver            = default
fluid.soundfont         = Roland SC-55.sf2
fluid.samplerate        = 48000
fluid.gain              = .6
fluid.polyphony         = 256
fluid.cores             = default
fluid.periods           = 8
fluid.periodsize        = 512
fluid.reverb            = yes
fluid.chorus            = yes
fluid.reverb,roomsize   = .61
fluid.reverb.damping    = .23
fluid.reverb.width      = .76
fluid.reverb.level      = .57
fluid.chorus.number     = 3
fluid.chorus.level      = 1.2
fluid.chorus.speed      = .3
fluid.chorus.depth      = 8.0
fluid.chorus.type       = 0


If I run mixer /listmidi there is nothing listed too. Using PlayMid or running a game has no midi sound at all. This is trying with a freshly generated config file too. MT32 works fine, as does the Windows Default midi player. I've also tried midiconfig = 0
User avatar
WhiteZero
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-27 @ 01:29

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-1-17 @ 23:08

WhiteZero wrote:For some reason I can't get Fluidsynth to work in ECE. When I launch DosBox it says:

Code: Select all
MIDI:fluidsynth: loaded soundfont: Roland SC-55.sf2
MIDI: Opened device:fluidsynth

So it seems to be loading OK.

This is my config for it
[code]mpu401 = intelligent
mididevice = fluidsynth
midiconfig =
fluid.driver = default
fluid.soundfont = Roland SC-55.sf2

...

If I run mixer /listmidi there is nothing listed too. Using PlayMid or running a game has no midi sound at all. This is trying with a freshly generated config file too. MT32 works fine, as does the Windows Default midi player. I've also tried midiconfig = 0

/listmidi only lists the devices when mididevice is either default or win32, it doesn't work with fluidsynth. There would be nothing to list anyway, if fluidsynth is selected, there are no other midi emulators running besides it.

Where is your SF2 file located? In the same directory as the .conf file? Does it work if yo enter the absolute path to the file? Is there a libfluidsynth.dll in the DOSBox directory?
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 368
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests