DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby ReignerDeustcher » 2019-9-21 @ 17:18

zirkoni wrote:
ReignerDeustcher wrote:i'm just trying dosbox ece but this thing puts the conf file in appdata, how can i do to have it in the same folder than dosbox?

Rename the conf to dosbox.conf and dosbox will automatically use it when it's in the same folder with the exe.

ReignerDeustcher wrote:because i like to have all my games in different folders with different dosbox configurations

You only need 1 dosbox.exe for that, just use the command line parameters to use different conf-files.
e.g. "C:\Program Files (x86)\DOSBox-0.74-3\DOSBox.exe" -userconf -conf "D:\DOS_C\QUAKE\dosbox-quake.conf"


that's so cool, many thanks man
ReignerDeustcher
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-9-20 @ 23:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby ReignerDeustcher » 2019-9-21 @ 19:18

i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...
ReignerDeustcher
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-9-20 @ 23:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Pr3tty F1y » 2019-9-22 @ 15:55

ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...


This is what the DBGL (http://members.quicknet.nl/blankendaalr/dbgl/) frontend passes as the comand line for launching a game for my setup:
Code: Select all
C:\Emulators\DBGL\DOSBox\DOSBox.exe -conf "C:\Emulators\DBGL\DOSBox\dosbox.conf" -conf "C:\Emulators\DBGL\profiles\10.conf"


The first conf file loaded is my base dosbox.conf which are my default settings for dosbox as a whole. The 10.conf is the game-specific profile for entry number #10 in the DBGL database (which corresponds to Maniac Mansion for me as DBGL just sequentially counts up as you add additional games so each game has it's own unique integer profile #). That second conf file, 10.conf, overrides any settings from the base dosbox.conf, but it's not a full blown conf file. So this is what the contents of my 10.conf looks like:

Code: Select all
[dosbox]
machine=tandy
captures=..\captures\10
memsize=2

[cpu]
core=full
cputype=386_slow
cycles=3000

[pci]
voodoo=false

[sblaster]
sbtype=none

[speaker]
tandy=on

[dos]
xms=false
ems=false
umb=false

[autoexec]
C:
cd \MM
MANIAC.EXE p
exit


So while my dosbox.conf has all fields defined, these fields listed in 10.conf are only the fields that I changed in the DBGL game template editor. So basically, you can think of that second conf file as a "patch" for the original dosbox.conf file that overrides those specific fields for game-specific settings.

I hope that makes sense.

You can totally do this without DBGL, but DBGL does make it easier.
Pr3tty F1y
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-8-19 @ 21:22

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby ReignerDeustcher » 2019-9-22 @ 18:33

Pr3tty F1y wrote:
ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...


This is what the DBGL (http://members.quicknet.nl/blankendaalr/dbgl/) frontend passes as the comand line for launching a game for my setup:
Code: Select all
C:\Emulators\DBGL\DOSBox\DOSBox.exe -conf "C:\Emulators\DBGL\DOSBox\dosbox.conf" -conf "C:\Emulators\DBGL\profiles\10.conf"


The first conf file loaded is my base dosbox.conf which are my default settings for dosbox as a whole. The 10.conf is the game-specific profile for entry number #10 in the DBGL database (which corresponds to Maniac Mansion for me as DBGL just sequentially counts up as you add additional games so each game has it's own unique integer profile #). That second conf file, 10.conf, overrides any settings from the base dosbox.conf, but it's not a full blown conf file. So this is what the contents of my 10.conf looks like:

Code: Select all
[dosbox]
machine=tandy
captures=..\captures\10
memsize=2

[cpu]
core=full
cputype=386_slow
cycles=3000

[pci]
voodoo=false

[sblaster]
sbtype=none

[speaker]
tandy=on

[dos]
xms=false
ems=false
umb=false

[autoexec]
C:
cd \MM
MANIAC.EXE p
exit


So while my dosbox.conf has all fields defined, these fields listed in 10.conf are only the fields that I changed in the DBGL game template editor. So basically, you can think of that second conf file as a "patch" for the original dosbox.conf file that overrides those specific fields for game-specific settings.

I hope that makes sense.

You can totally do this without DBGL, but DBGL does make it easier.


but i don't want to use that dbgl, i don't like it, also it doesn't work, keeps asking for java when i already have installed it
ReignerDeustcher
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-9-20 @ 23:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby zirkoni » 2019-9-23 @ 13:55

ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...

That's what the -userconf parameter should do except that the -conf parameter should load the second conf-file.
Without knowing exactly what you've done, what's in your conf-file(s) its difficult to know what might be wrong with your setup.
User avatar
zirkoni
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2014-7-17 @ 08:54

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby ReignerDeustcher » 2019-9-23 @ 16:44

zirkoni wrote:
ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...

That's what the -userconf parameter should do except that the -conf parameter should load the second conf-file.
Without knowing exactly what you've done, what's in your conf-file(s) its difficult to know what might be wrong with your setup.


i've put this in the conf of appdata:

"C:\Users\Matias\AppData\Local\DOSBox" -userconf -conf "C:\Users\Matias\Downloads\DOSBox ECE r4259\dosbox-war2.conf"

and says ''illegal command'' when dosbox start


i want to have all it like the old dosbox, each game in his own folder with his own conf, this is really annoying
ReignerDeustcher
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-9-20 @ 23:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby zirkoni » 2019-9-23 @ 19:20

Wut? "Put in the conf of appdata", what does that mean? You added that text in the conf-file itself?
You're supposed to pass the arguments to DOSBox.exe. Make a new shortcut for DOSBox.exe or create a batch script.
User avatar
zirkoni
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2014-7-17 @ 08:54

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Kisai » 2019-9-23 @ 23:58

ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...


It does that because you're running the dosbox.exe itself.

Do it this way:
Image

Note the "start in"
Kisai
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 2010-5-05 @ 08:04

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby ReignerDeustcher » 2019-9-27 @ 00:10

Kisai wrote:
ReignerDeustcher wrote:i've done it but it doesn't work, dosbox keeps creating a conf in appdata and doesn't use the one in the folder...


It does that because you're running the dosbox.exe itself.

Do it this way:
Image

Note the "start in"


many thanks, that was i was looking for
ReignerDeustcher
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-9-20 @ 23:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Firtasik » 2019-9-30 @ 20:14

Any chance for 64-bit builds? :cool:

https://sourceforge.net/p/dosbox/code-0/4260/
11 1 111 11 1 1 1 1 1 11 1 1 111 1 111 1 1 1 1 111
User avatar
Firtasik
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: 2013-7-21 @ 19:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Qbix » 2019-9-30 @ 20:24

do you really need dosbox to be potentially faster ? (if you are already on a 64 bit windows OS, then your pc is probably already quite fast)
It's mostly the linux and mac builds that were suffering.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10918
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-10-01 @ 09:46

Firtasik wrote:Any chance for 64-bit builds? :cool:

For the time being, there won't ANY new builds at all, because the voodoo emulation patch relied on a function (?) called CPU_Core_Dyn_X86_RestoreDHFPUState() that was omitted completely by the new 64 Bit support. I'll wait if someone can come up with an update or replacement for the patch, if not I'll have to think about the future of ECE...
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby jmarsh » 2019-10-01 @ 10:14

You could just add them back and use the stub versions for 64-bit.
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-10-01 @ 10:57

jmarsh wrote:You could just add them back and use the stub versions for 64-bit.

I don't really know what you're talking about, sorry. :) I'm afraid I have no idea of programming at all. :depressed:
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby truemaster » 2019-10-01 @ 13:24

right now the x86 builds are enough. an sbawe32 emulation is more needed i think
truemaster
Newbie
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 08:00

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Ferrari27 » 2019-10-01 @ 14:34

Hi everyone, this is a bit strange, but the location that the console says my conf file is located doesn't seem to exist. Am I supposed to just copy a 0.74 file to get this working or is there something I'm missing here? Even if I search my drive for dosbox-ece.conf nothing shows up. Am I supposed to just copy and paste a 0,74 file? Cheers guys
Ferrari27
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-9-28 @ 12:37

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Ferrari27 » 2019-10-01 @ 14:47

Ferrari27 wrote:Hi everyone, this is a bit strange, but the location that the console says my conf file is located doesn't seem to exist. Am I supposed to just copy a 0.74 file to get this working or is there something I'm missing here? Even if I search my drive for dosbox-ece.conf nothing shows up. Am I supposed to just copy and paste a 0,74 file? Cheers guys


Disregard, after re reading the readme file I found the solution:


-writeconf filelocation
Write the current configuration settings to a file in a specified location.
"filelocation" is located on the local drive, not a mounted drive in DOSBox.
The configuration file controls various settings of DOSBox:
the amount of emulated memory, the emulated sound cards and many more
things. It allows access to AUTOEXEC.BAT as well.
See Section 13: "The configuration (options) file" for more information.

Examples:
1. To create a configuration file in your c:\dosgames directory:
config -writeconf c:\dosgames\dosbox.conf

Thanks
Ferrari27
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-9-28 @ 12:37

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-10-04 @ 09:16

Okay, I had to adjust some other patches after applying the "new" 3Dfx patch from kjliew, but I managed to get the windows version working again. I still have to get openglide into my Linux VM so I can try to compile the code there, too. In the meantime, it'd be nice if someone could give me some feedback if and how the new windows version (r4267) works, especially with the two 3Dfx emulation options!
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Firtasik » 2019-10-04 @ 10:32

I'm currently testing this Windows build: x64 [r4265] + kjliew's 3dfx patch + krcroft's audio patch + x64 Glide from dgVoodoo 2.62.1.

Some tweaking in dgVoodoo.conf and 3dfx versions of Tomb Raider and Extreme Assault (demo) seem to work fine. :happy:
11 1 111 11 1 1 1 1 1 11 1 1 111 1 111 1 1 1 1 111
User avatar
Firtasik
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: 2013-7-21 @ 19:07

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby robertmo » 2019-10-04 @ 12:24

I think if you use kjliew patch you should also link to in on your page
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest