Dosbox on the Zipit Z2

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Dosbox on the Zipit Z2

Postby ignatius » 2017-12-05 @ 21:39

I cross compiled Dosbox (version 0.74) on my Debian box, using the arm cross compiler.
When trying to execute Dosbox on my Zipit, I get this error:

Exit to error: Could not initialize video: No video mode large enough for 640x400

And, yes, I did follow Mozzwalds tutorial on installing Dosbox on the Zipit Z2. I changed all occurances of "640,480" to "320,240" in the source.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thank you much.

Also: I did compile and install libSDL with "directFB" and "fbcon" support.
ignatius
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-7-16 @ 16:56

Re: Dosbox on the Zipit Z2

Postby Qbix » 2017-12-05 @ 21:49

the text mode screen is 640x400 (the one you startup in)

maybe select a different text mode to startup in.. not sure what the others have for resolution though)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10692
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Dosbox on the Zipit Z2

Postby ignatius » 2017-12-05 @ 22:03

Ok. Gotcha. What do I change now? I tried changing "640,400" to "320,240", but it still isn't starting.

The Zipit's "native resolution" is 320,240... And, I do have that mode correctly defined in /etc/fb.modes
ignatius
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-7-16 @ 16:56

Re: Dosbox on the Zipit Z2

Postby Qbix » 2017-12-06 @ 08:43

tricky. if you don't want to do downscaling, then you have to go for a 200 lines text mode. (ModeList_VGA_Text_200lines)
You need to do some small changes to do the dosbox routines that setup the initial video mode.

Take a look at SetTextLines which gets called from INT10_SetVideoMode which gets called from INT10_Init
Maybe set the value returned from real_readb(BIOSMEM_SEG,BIOSMEM_MODESET_CTL) to have 0x90 present or hack that code in SetTextLines
(and set a mode that has the dimensions that you want instead of the one that has 640x400 dimensions)
(and set scaler=none in options)

So maybe try:
Code: Select all
real_writeb(BIOSMEM_SEG,BIOSMEM_MODESET_CTL,(real_readb(BIOSMEM_SEG,BIOSMEM_MODESET_CTL)&0x80));
INT10_SetVideoMode(0x1);

instead of 0x3 call that is currently in the init function
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10692
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan


Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest