How do you use .fx shaders in freebasic?

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

How do you use .fx shaders in freebasic?

Postby Lassar » 2018-7-01 @ 17:25

I have been google-ing on how to use shaders in directx and have not been able to find much.

Since some versions of dosbox uses fx shaders.

So I thought that I would ask about it here.

Maybe you could point me to other websites or tutorials to get started.

What I want to do is use some scalers shaders in freebasic.

I am especially interested in Super 2×SaI shader.
Conquer the FCC GROL, & Amatuer Radio test
User avatar
Lassar
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2005-9-21 @ 23:39
Location: Southern Illinois

Re: How do you use .fx shaders in freebasic?

Postby root42 » 2018-7-01 @ 21:20

Oh dear, I haven't truly developing stuff under Windows for a loooong time, but .fx are Direct3D shaders, iirc.

However, I have absolutely no idea if FreeBasic easily supports D3D development. You better ask their community, they can probably help.

You should definitely read up on D3D programming to get a grasp of the concepts.

Also see Microsoft's documentation: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... de-effects
My ramblings on YouTube
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80286@12 MHz, 2 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Member
 
Posts: 304
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23


Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests