VOGONS

AMD64/x86_64 Solution

Topic actions

First post, by cyfin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I was having trouble running DOSBox 0.61 on my GNU Linux x86_64 ( custom built distribution). I did some gdb-ing and found it was SEG Faulting in /src/gui/render_templates.h line 13: "case 32:*(Bit32u*)dst=val;dst+=4;break;"

Problem is Bit32u is not 32 bits. Therefore adding 4 is wrong. (maybe adding by sizeof(Bit32u) would be better/safer?)

In include/dosbox.h you define bit32u as "typedef unsigned long Bit32u;"

On a 64 bit system, unsinged long is 64 bits. to fix this, I used

#include <stdint.h>

typedef uint8_t Bit8u;
typedef int8_t Bit8s;
typedef uint16_t Bit16u;
typedef int16_t Bit16s;
typedef uint32_t Bit32u;
typedef int32_t Bit32s;

I'm no expert, but this got it all working fine for me. I'm not sure about its portability though. Hope this helps

Reply 2 of 23, by cyfin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

It was SEG Faulting with the typical SDL parachute thing. Windows XP would not be affected by this problem because windows does not use 64 bit. This only would occur with Linux compiling as 64 bit. As for the performance, I did not notice any kinds of slow down. But I have not played with it for a long duration yet

Reply 3 of 23, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

you might want to check this archive ( if you want)

http://pcnwstage.phys.rug.nl/dosboxcvs.tgz

it contains the cvs source. There is some size detection in there.
Could you test if that works under x64 mode ?

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 4 of 23, by cyfin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

That CVS compiled and ran fine. There were a lot of compiler warnings, but no errors.

Attachments

• Filename
    output.txt
    File size
    75.66 KiB
    Downloads
    184 downloads
    File comment
    Make output
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    config.h
    File size
    6.05 KiB
    Downloads