DOSBox debugger

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby jefferl » 2008-5-02 @ 15:40

You must create a short cut from desktop,
Then run this short-cut , else you will shutdown dosbox-debugger immediately.

You may run the dosbox.exe from MSYS terminal environment,
this will fail to run it.
Strange things: normal version dosbox can run under MSYS terminal.
jefferl
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2006-1-10 @ 05:35
Location: Taipei

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2008-5-02 @ 16:06

My experience is that MSys must be able to find the curses files during the configuration with the debug parameter, you should see configure messages like:

checking curses.h usability... yes
checking curses.h presence... yes
checking for curses.h... yes

the necessary files are:
\include\curses.h
\include\panel.h
\lib\libpdcurses.a
\lib\libpanel.a

You can use the lib and include folders under \MinGW or \msys\1.0\local

I always do this with a first-time configure of the source to ensure all the make files are correctly generated for an enabled debugger.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby ih8registrations » 2008-5-02 @ 17:29

The scenario where it silently fails, dosbox has compiled configured with the debugger. It fails when trying to launch dosbox.exe. You don't need a desktop link, but jefferl figured it out, it crashes from trying to run from msys.
ih8registrations
Oldbie
 
Posts: 931
Joined: 2003-7-25 @ 17:20

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby jefferl » 2008-5-16 @ 14:06

When I using dosdebugger to single steps,
The User video screen lagged to update,
Even I have steps many instruction , The screen still not updated.
In DOS environment , It's the best feature compare to windows.
Have any direction to fixed this issue ?
jefferl
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2006-1-10 @ 05:35
Location: Taipei

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby wd » 2008-5-16 @ 14:08

use a real debugger
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Compiling Dosbox-0.72-heavydebug under OpenSuse 11.1

Postby !(rugged|handsome) » 2009-1-03 @ 20:26

With the help of this howto, I've successfully compiled Dosbox 0.72 under OpenSuse 11.1.

But when I run
./configure --enable-debug=heavy
it shows the following warning (even though the packages libncurses5, libncurses6 and ncurses-devel are installed):
Code: Select all
checking curses.h usability... yes                               
checking curses.h presence... yes                               
checking for curses.h... yes                                     
checking for initscr in -lcurses... no                           
checking for initscr in -lpdcurses... no                         
configure: WARNING: Can't find curses, debug mode disabled

Apparently, the configure script looks for "curses" when it should be looking for "ncurses".
How can I change this?
!(rugged|handsome)
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-1-03 @ 19:55
Location: Krautland

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2009-1-03 @ 21:13

try using the cvs version of dosbox (dosbox.linuxsecured.net/dosboxcvs.tgz)
it should check for ncurses as well.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby bttr » 2009-6-12 @ 19:46

Where is DOSBox0.73-Debug-win32-installer.exe? :happy:
bttr
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006-4-19 @ 15:56

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby wd » 2009-6-12 @ 20:07

You can even compile it yourself :)
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby bttr » 2009-6-12 @ 20:12

Not everybody knows how to compile such a large project successfully. :sad:
bttr
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006-4-19 @ 15:56

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby wd » 2009-6-12 @ 20:17

I'm sure Qbix will set up such a build if he's bored (might take some time),
is there a special thing why you need a 0.73 debugger enabled build?
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby MiniMax » 2009-6-12 @ 21:37

bttr wrote:Not everybody knows how to compile such a large project successfully. :sad:

As with so much else in life. I don't know how to repair a car or build a house, so I pay other people to do it.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Kippesoep » 2009-6-12 @ 21:45

MiniMax wrote:I pay other people to do it.

I'll gladly take your money :)
User avatar
Kippesoep
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2005-5-04 @ 22:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2009-6-12 @ 21:52

hehe. I'll compile one day. :) creating that installer is most of the work though :)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby robertmo » 2009-6-12 @ 23:13

I think a .zip would be enough for everyone ;)
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4160
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2009-6-14 @ 14:35

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby MiniMax » 2009-6-14 @ 16:29

Thanks Qbix.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby bttr » 2009-6-14 @ 18:50

Thank you!
bttr
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006-4-19 @ 15:56

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby k9wazere » 2009-6-16 @ 10:08

I'm having problems with the Debugger :/

There are two problems, which seem very much related.

Firstly, a lot of breakpoints are being "missed". As in, the code executes but DosBox does not catch this happening, and the BP fails to trigger. BPINT always seems to work, it's BP CS:EIP type breakpoints that fail.

Second, the output of LOG/LOGS/LOGL is missing a lot of commands. Ie it will show the command executed at, say 015A, then the next command will be at 0194, missing everything in between. There was no jump, this is a linear sequence of ops, just with many of them missing.

It almost seems like a threading issue... like DOSBox is monitoring one DOSBox thread, but failing to pick up instructions being executed in a different thread. Anyway, that's just a guess, and probably completely wrong...

Either way, I'd like to be able to catch all BPs and see all commands in the LOGCPU.TXT file, if possible.

Cheers!
k9wazere
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-6-16 @ 09:55

Re: DOSBox debugger

Postby Qbix » 2009-6-16 @ 10:09

use core=normal when debugging
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest