VOGONS

First post, by jimduchek

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi there. I've been playing w/dosbox for a couple years now but haven't touched the code. At any rate, too slow for me, should be faster. By trade I'm an embedded/realtime software engineer. Is there any profiling/benchmarking stuff setup for dosbox already? I'd like to know where the biggest problem areas are in the games I'm trying to run.

Reply 1 of 6, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

nothing officially.
but there is a patch at sf.net tackling some parts of the code.

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 2 of 6, by ih8registrations

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Depending on the platform, for example linux, there's tons of built in profiling. If you're running windows, you'll have to set everything up(which reminds me, I really need to setup a linux box). I've been using gprof in mingw from windows. If you havn't played with gprof just google it, though as an imbedded programmer I'd imagine you're familier. I've also been using the Pentium RDTSC for cycle measuring. For that I added some functions for calling and formating the results. Calling RDTSC is very simple and many examples of it can be found.

Reply 3 of 6, by `Moe`

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Your one-stop linux profiling source:
http://oprofile.sourceforge.net/news/

I've never seen a better profiling solution. Profiles optimized executables, no recompilation neccessary, low overhead, even profiles kernel code (that way I found out my sound driver chews quite some amount of CPU).

Reply 4 of 6, by ih8registrations

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Yep, oprofile for x86 is system wide RDTSC measuring and there's also a patch for it to do call graphs like gprof so under linux you get what I've done in windows but automagically for everything.

Reply 5 of 6, by jimduchek

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank